Ooyala Reviews | Glassdoor

Ooyala Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Ooyala CEO Jonathan Huberman
Jonathan Huberman
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food in the office, ping pong, chill out zones and snacks and drinks on Friday afternoon(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great people who somehow keep being tricked into working here(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Zero transparency from the upper management, no clue about how the company is doing(in 8 reviews)

  • "Telstra who owns ooyala is clueless about what to do with it(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Ooyala

      Pros

      Endless smiles and great coworkers

      Cons

      Very tiring job at the company

      Ooyala2017-08-15
    • Helpful (2)

      "Ooyala's seen better days"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ooyala full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I gave a two-star rating for the 2 years of good experience - People, projects, etc. Personally, the people there act as your family (most people). I joined when it was kitties and rainbows and we were moving to the top. Things went south so quickly.

      Cons

      The negative three-star rating is due to leadership, lack of transparency, and company culture/morale.

      Advice to Management

      I'm writing this review a bit late but have decided to now because the friends I've made at Ooyala are all paranoid at the fact they soon may be "dropped" from the company. So many people have reached out regarding new opportunities in case they need to prepare for the inevitable. Management, take this review and do with it what you want.

      Ooyala2019-01-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Moving operations off shore"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - SRE in Santa Clara, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ooyala full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      In the beginning very smart people, the latest in Engineering organizations

      Cons

      As the company was sold and the market changes they are moving most of the work off shore and very little to do here.

      Ooyala2019-01-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ooyala full-time

      Pros

      Great maket, great customers, many great employees.

      Cons

      Poor execution and misguided leadership have led to the downward spiral. Customers employees and partners are not any happier with the new direction. The product focus is limiting, the layoffs cause paranoia, the customers don't get what they ask for. Maybe all due to the write down and subsequent executive buy out.

      Advice to Management

      You are in a great market, you have a solid product, but you need to focus on the team. Motivated employees = great products = happy customers = happy investors.

      Ooyala2018-12-23
    • "Don't do it!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ooyala full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The people and the market place. It's a dynamic market with great customers and great opportunity to be on the front line of the digital content revolution.

      Cons

      So many things are wrong here. New direction built off the back of laying off 1/3 of the company back in September. Customers aren't being properly taken care. I don't see how they can continue much longer in this manner.

      Ooyala2019-01-09
    • "Great Team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Ooyala full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      hard working team, great training, good culture, amazing free food, beautiful office and amenities

      Cons

      large layoffs left office empty

      Ooyala2018-11-12
    • Helpful (6)

      "Careless"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ooyala full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Free lunch/snacks location nothing else mattered

      Cons

      Uneducated HR/Overpayed to do nothing Spineless managers who could care less about the employee retention Massive layoffs and were lied to about Cobra/Bonuses

      Ooyala2018-11-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Pulling for you guys, but the post-Jay Fulcher years were rough."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ooyala full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Some really great, talented people, a fair amount of autonomy, decent pay, good facilities. Potential to do good, meaningful work. Was once a proud, fun culture.

      Cons

      Lack of vision, lack of transparency. No measurable future plan. Lack of care from Telstra (parent company) or the C-suite, with some exceptions. Hard to understand how a business can operate successfully with a CEO not located in any of the offices. No 401(k) matching or any sort of legitimate equity options.

      Advice to Management

      How much longer until you can sell this thing off? I believe the promised 2-year turnaround has expired. I hope you're doing a better job informing employees of why they should wake up and be excited to go to work for Ooyala.

      Ooyala2018-10-07
    • Helpful (8)

      "Massive layoffs on Sep 26"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ooyala full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Not a single pros at this time

      Cons

      Everyone in my office were let go...

      Ooyala2018-09-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "CSM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ooyala full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Interesting technology, it a very dynamic and fun landscape. Have the ability to work with smart fun people and companies.

      Cons

      Organization and direction could be better, but understandable when the market you work in is constantly adapting

      Ooyala2018-08-10
    Found 218 reviews