Open Door Mission Reviews | Glassdoor

Open Door Mission Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Candace Gregory
8 Ratings
  1. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Door Mission (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Its a Christian Rehab that helps Men on drugs restore there relationship with there savior Lord Jesus Christ.

    Cons

    There are no con's to this company.

    Advice to Management

    Great Place to become a Leader of Management.

    Open Door Mission2016-07-07
  2. "former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Open Door Mission

    Pros

    people have a place to eat and sleep

    Cons

    ABSOLUTE worst management, bordering on corrupt. I have NEVER seen such HORRIBLE management in my life (And this is supposed to be a CHRISTIAN organzation?). It has been a few years since I've worked there, and I still think about how terribly I was treated. And obviously, (from reading other reviews here) I'm not alone. I PRAY that God will expose the leadership of the organization for what they are.

    Advice to Management

    repent

    Open Door Mission2017-07-03
  3. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Door Mission

    Pros

    If anybody gets a chance to spend time with Pat McKernan, Darryl Price or Russell Janssen, whatever the occasion, do! They walk the walk! They are professional, yet compassionate and wise. You always leave their company a little bit better than you were before. I have must say that each department has amazing people, actually. The people are the treasures, both staff and guests!

    Cons

    Sometimes communication does not make it full circle.

    Advice to Management

    Pause.

    Open Door Mission2017-01-13
  4. "Homeless prevention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fundraising Coordinator in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Door Mission full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping the needy. Good cause. Very financially responsible the pay was alright

    Cons

    You must believe in Jesus Christ in order to work here you must read the Bible you must participate in church you must participate in mandatory prayer you must pray for the homeless you must worship their savior

    Advice to Management

    Jesus Christ was more relaxed about religion. Take it easy and let people choose who's a will be

    Open Door Mission2016-07-25
  5. "For the Greater Good, Not so Good for Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Open Door Mission

    Pros

    Walking through the door, I thought I was walking into a spiritual uplifting environment that would freed my heart and soul, while allowing me to do my life's dream whilst being paid for it.They fed me and some prayed with me and mt family.

    Cons

    Its all a mirage. Fake I say! Just like any other controversial work place. Lots of gossip, back stabbing, sexual harassment and low level people that think they know everything, running it. And when they get exposed to their antics, they put their holier-than-tho mask on and then lie about it. This is a faith-based program that has underhanded ways and when caught they face it with denial and lies.

    Advice to Management

    Find a new CEO that is equal to everybody and find quality employees. Also, stop hiring the clients!

    Open Door Mission2016-06-20
  6. "Community Relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Open Door Mission full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good organization. Serving the needy. Fiscally responsible. 88% of all funds go to programs and services for homeless and needy

    Cons

    Must believe in Christ. Must attend church. Low salary. 88% of all funds go to programs and services for homeless and needy

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up. Allow more flexibility for employees in their personal lives. It's great that they help staff with budgeting and get free items of we need the help

    Open Door Mission2016-03-01
  7. "Men's Center Support Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Men's Center Support Worker in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Open Door Mission for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Christian environment Knowledgeable staff and managment

    Cons

    Under-staffed Can be stressful during peak hours of the day

    Open Door Mission2015-10-09
  8. "They help everyone they can and are legitimate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Worker in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Open Door Mission full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Getting to help and minister to others. Having management that back you - at least the front line managers. Good benefits. Other staff care about you, it's less corporate but still professional.

    Cons

    Communication between departments is rough, not the greatest hours but the hours that are needed to help the homeless. Downside to hours is program staff and admin staff are barely there at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on communication, it is heading the right direction.

    Open Door Mission2015-08-30
  9. "Hours are hard, work is rewarding."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Open Door Mission full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, rewarding career.

    Cons

    Hours are awful. Difference between administration and program department people hours are ridiculous!

    Advice to Management

    Change hours of staff to reflect their own needs and maybe staff turnover will not be so high. Listen to staff with their ideas about hours.

    Open Door Mission2015-05-08
  10. "Jesus christ, ruler of all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Open Door Mission full-time

    Pros

    good pay, flexible titles and positions, serving a great cause. Homelessness and poverty. so many people in need in our community

    Cons

    I feel overworked often. Long hours. No set agenda, fundraisers and events on nights and weekends. obligated to be christian, attend church and pray

    Open Door Mission2015-01-04
Found 14 reviews