Opendoor "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Opendoor Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Dec 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Opendoor CEO Eric Wu (no image)
Eric Wu
153 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difficulty finding work-life balance, too many meetings & it's becoming a more corporate environment(in 29 reviews)

  • "Had some growing pains earlier this year when we grew really fast but things have settled down(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place, Kind People, On trend Market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Renovation Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time

    Pros

    Opendoor is providing a new way to work real- estate and is giving the power to the consumer. The people are very friendly, and will do what ever they can to make sure you perform at your best by taking time out of their day to help you. The company is fully aware of its shortcomings and will flex itself to find a smoother more efficient way. So change is a common occurrence. The Phoenix office has tons of snacks, great food vendors everyday, supportive staff, comfortable work spaces, and great people.

    Cons

    If you don't like change be prepared to be a little uncomfortable.

    Opendoor2019-12-15

    Opendoor Response

    January 23, 2020People Team

    Thank you for the feedback! We can all agree that change is a constant for all of us at Opendoor. We appreciate you sharing your experience working at Opendoor so far.

    Continue reading
  2. "Leaders in changing how you buy and sell real estate."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aquatics Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Team Environment. Company has bi-weekly events to inform all the employees on what is going on in the company and where it is heading.

    Cons

    Start up company that does not have a clear map of how to get to where they think they want to go. They are building the plane as it flies.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-11-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team members, hard problems to solve, game-changing products for the real estate industry. At Opendoor you will work alongside incredibly smart people who want to solve the hard, impactful problems. Most people here work work quite a bit, as there's a lot to solve. There are really great people here who want to do what's best for the company and operate without ego. It's by far the most challenging role I've ever had, but it's also the most rewarding. Good benefits, including flex time off.

    Cons

    Can be thrashy at times. Communication can be improved as sometimes key people are left out of the loop on things. We recently hired an internal comms team and that seems to be helping. Things move very fast so it not the right place for people who aren't comfortable with that. I've seen a number of people who come from bigger companies and aren't used to the pace struggle with how quickly things move here.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-09-16

    Opendoor Response

    October 30, 2019People Team

    Thank you for sharing your experience and agree that fluid feedback is critical as we continue to build and grow the organization. You bring up great points - both in the pros and cons of working at Opendoor, and we will continue to work toward improving communication across the entire company as we grew and scale. Thank you again for taking the time to leave this thoughtful review!

    Continue reading
  4. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Closing Manager in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with great people

    Cons

    Nothing at the moment, really enjoy it here

    Opendoor2019-07-15
  5. "Contract Work with low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Field Ops Tech in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opendoor for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros Opendoor has Lots of great people around with friendly, positive and excited to be on the job attitude. If you are a full time employee at least you enjoy some benefits.

    Cons

    Cons They provide contract work for field techs with dismal pay. You have to provide your own vehicle, gas, insurance and cell phone. (Expenses are never reimbursed per contract) It is like you are donating your equipment, time and money to advance the company. The field tech job actually does pay u aprox. fee of $15-$30 bucks for most visits. This is regardless of how many miles u drive or how long it takes you to do the job. It could mean u will make less than minimum wage if it takes too long. Most days u show up/work on different homes and install electronic locks, alarm systems, signs & complete inspections with pictures and reporting questionnaire and more signs. People are often working outside normal hours and are completely unpaid per contract. These free/unpaid working hours include reporting inventory of your supplies, sending pictures, constant texting/answering job reports, scheduling and reporting work that is done line and through an app. Also your vehicle becomes storage area with bunch of marketing supplies and equipment for Opendoor company. The payroll has long delays. Expect to get paid for the work u did at start up happen up to 4 weeks later. You are dependent on their long pay cycle. In the mean time you are providing the company with a free loan in the form of covering your own expenses. Is there a cash flow problem somewhere in this company?

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-08-08
  6. "Great Company and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acquisition Home Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, health insurance paid for, great people to work with and very open with company information

    Cons

    Lots of change, but was told this before starting the job

    Opendoor2018-08-22
  7. "Great start-up with a bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working full time less than a year at Opendoor. I came on board because I saw an opportunity to help build something great. It wasn't the smoothest start and I had some serious doubts early on. All that said, we have made huge strides to improve the way that we do things. We've hired some great new leaders that have been actively changing the company for the better. I gave Opendoor a four-star rating because I think we can still find ways to grow and get better. - Exciting to be a part of a company that is going to be huge! - Great people - dedicated, hard-working, smart and enjoy a good laugh - Ethical management. There have been some difficult business decisions that left some people feeling a bit short-changed. They were treated fairly and given a second chance if they wanted to come back. - Room for career growth - Nice perks like lunch and a nice office space

    Cons

    - Long hours when I first started but this has subsided a bit - We are still going to change and iterate so it is sometimes hard to know if today's paradigm will look the same tomorrow - Some thrash - we have a tendency to makes decisions without fully understanding the ripple effects downstream - The CRM that we use is a work in progress

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2018-04-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "High growth company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with in a high growth environment. Company has good communication from top down and tries hard to keep aligned to our goals. Lots of projects to work on.

    Cons

    Fast paced can mean long hours and stress for some people.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2017-07-18
  9. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the flexibility Opendoor offers it employees. Great people to work with along with all the awesome benefits, unlimited vacation, catered lunch everyday, Paid Health Insurance and so many more!

    Cons

    Would like to see consolidated processes.

    Opendoor2017-05-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews