Opendoor "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Opendoor Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Opendoor CEO Eric Wu (no image)
Eric Wu
153 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difficulty finding work-life balance, too many meetings & it's becoming a more corporate environment(in 29 reviews)

  • "Had some growing pains earlier this year when we grew really fast but things have settled down(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Moving Fast, Learning Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growth, truly defining a category and innovating in an antiquated industry. Plenty of opportunities to learn new things and grow your career at a highly accelerated pace. Smart co-workers, good benefits and perks and a unique chance to be a part of something potentially huge

    Cons

    There are some growing pains as with most tech businesses at this stage of growth, but the senior leadership has generally handled these well and made tough decisions when they needed to to safeguard the future of the business. Work-life balance can be a challenge, but in most roles there is flexibility around working from home or taking time out to deal with non-work -related things. Lots of relatively new managers, but also lots of training resources available to them to learn the ropes.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-10-02
  2. "Great company with a great mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Home Advisor in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Opendoor full-time

    Pros

    Culture, culture, culture. Opendoor takes great pride in having a very positive and accepting culture. They do an excellent job with, not just hiring great talent, but talent that has the right attitude and work ethic. The people of Opendoor are great and the company is continually growing year over year. Another positive is the transparency and accessibility of senior leadership. I think they do a fine job of leading the way and give them major kudos for their continued pursuit of improving.

    Cons

    Like any startup that is growing quickly, there are always growing pains. Opendoor has them but they have the right people in place to get through these barriers.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-07-12

    Opendoor Response

    September 3, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the note. I would agree - culture is a large part on what makes coming to work invigorating. This is only the start of something big we all are working together to build!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time

    Pros

    Innovative company focused on the customer

    Cons

    Still in the growing pains

    Opendoor2019-02-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "ATL Office is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Culturally rich! - Great personalities -Great catered lunch (every once and a while breakfast) -Brand new large office in the center of the city next to State Farm Area and the Benz Stadium - Everyone wants to help. No egos here.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. Maybe some growing pains as we adjust to rapid growth.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-02-14
  5. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acquisitions and Accuracy in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best company I have worked for so far. Compensation is excellent. Recognition is great, and benefits are good. The people are great to work with, and managers constantly strive to give insight and the tools to succeed

    Cons

    None that I can think of. In Vegas (as of 2017) we are technically a startup market, so there are always growing pains, but other than some tight working quarters in our co-op office, it's great!

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2017-12-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love the team and UX centric culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - One of the highest performing teams ever worked in - Clear company vision and love the mission - Solving real world complex problems and adding value to people's lives as opposed to designing pretty interfaces - Everyone's really smart and hard working - Growing at a slower pace than before but we're hiring in a much more thoughtful way - Can't imagine myself working anywhere else

    Cons

    Had some growing pains earlier this year when we grew really fast but things have settled down.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2017-07-13
  7. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time

    Pros

    Fun, smart, fun-loving people who challenge each other to do better!

    Cons

    Company going through some typical growing pains as it tries to scale up!

    Opendoor2017-05-24
  8. "Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, the culture, and the mission. I truly believe we have an awesome product that can change the entire industry.

    Cons

    It's a typical startup, so all the growing pains including long hours come with the job.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2017-04-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Energetic culture, great sense of cooperation, and benefits that make you want to stay.

    Cons

    No real Cons, growing pains are good problems to have.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2017-04-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Opendoor

    Pros

    Very smart and motivated team, very few jerks, genuine care for the product and the customer. Many opportunities to take ownership of your work. I've worked a lot of places in my life, and I can honestly say I have more job satisfaction here than ever before.

    Cons

    It's a startup so not everything is perfect. There is thrash sometimes, and occasional growing pains. But overall, about as smooth as you get with a rapidly growing company pioneering a new business model.

    Opendoor2016-07-25
Found 11 reviews