Opendoor "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Opendoor Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Opendoor CEO Eric Wu (no image)
Eric Wu
153 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Difficulty finding work-life balance, too many meetings & it's becoming a more corporate environment(in 29 reviews)

  • "Had some growing pains earlier this year when we grew really fast but things have settled down(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Moving Fast, Learning Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growth, truly defining a category and innovating in an antiquated industry. Plenty of opportunities to learn new things and grow your career at a highly accelerated pace. Smart co-workers, good benefits and perks and a unique chance to be a part of something potentially huge

    Cons

    There are some growing pains as with most tech businesses at this stage of growth, but the senior leadership has generally handled these well and made tough decisions when they needed to to safeguard the future of the business. Work-life balance can be a challenge, but in most roles there is flexibility around working from home or taking time out to deal with non-work -related things. Lots of relatively new managers, but also lots of training resources available to them to learn the ropes.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-10-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awful work environment, stay away if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Opendoor full-time

    Pros

    Salary on par with market if you're junior.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Lack of diversity. Talks with many senior former employees have revealed that they quit partially because Ian (CTO) and Eric (CEO) literally do not care about diversity in the company. 1 in 15-20 of engineers are women? Feedback is non existent at this company. They claim openness but it's all a lie. They track how non EPD employees spend any company time (at a level similar to Amazons warehouse employees) Almost little to no career growth unless you suck up to the managers. (maybe even literally? Many EMs have been in sexual relationships with their employees? Some even in the office.)

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2020-02-14

    Opendoor Response

    February 19, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. With regard to your concerns, we take these very seriously, and would appreciate if you would share them with a member of the HR team if you feel comfortable doing so. Otherwise, you can call our anonymous ethics hotline at 844-814-5928 with more details and we will take appropriate action.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Company & Customer Obsessed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I truly enjoy everyone I work with, I appreciate how much the company cares about each & every customer, & flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Difficulty finding work-life balance, too many meetings & it's becoming a more corporate environment.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2020-01-31
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Say goodbye to any other extra curricular activity other than work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Decline to State 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location is close to home. That's about it.

    Cons

    Work life balance? Completely non existent. Also, that 'unlimited vacay' ploy? Don't fall for it. Only if there is coverage, after being guilt tripped (and working 14 hour days 6 days a week), you might be granted that much needed time off. But be prepared to work on vacation, as I have been asked to do. That salary that employees receive? Be prepared to work around the clock to complete 'tasks' by end of day vs end of business. You even receive the latest and greatest version of a MacBook Pro as a way to invisible ball and chain. Hours are so grueling, they are amping up their hiring for contractors through Robert Half Consulting, and have these same expectations for performance and only pay them $14/hr. Not to mention their sourcing work such as checking emails and attaching documents to Guatemala, however you are expected to go behind what they call the 'GTeam' to ensure what they have done is correct (more than 90% of the time, the same doc is uploaded to their archaic system 5-10x, which then re-generates an already completed task, therefore re-triggering the whole process again) This is one of the worse companies that I've ever worked for. The SLA 'metrics' are non-real estate related, and the volume that comes in is impossible to keep up with based on their expectations. These expectations however don't apply to everyone! If you are lucky enough to be in the popular 'cliques' and entertain others well, your so called performance will be overlooked. The managers work towards their bottom-line only. They put up a good front to make it appear that they care about you, but will threw you under the bus at the first opportunity. Be prepared to be micro-managed by this iBuyer that is doing things more along the lines of Amazon conveyor belty, and not anywhere near the level of service by traditional real estate, done with a few transaction coordinators. Slack is their preferred method of communication, and most times their managing Brokers are so overworked (or maybe they're not) they're always in meetings, and most times answer Brokerage questions that aren't completely relevant to the situation at hand. I haven't even began to mention their purchasing OS National and the headache that is their newly thought up Mortgage company. I'll leave that for another reviewer If you hear someone recommend Opendoor to work for OR even buying or selling, run! They will sell you a dream at AN EXTREMELY high cost!

    Opendoor2020-01-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Closing Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people are great. There are still a few perks left. It’s never boring. If you’re a workaholic who enjoys working all the time and doesn’t care about work-life balance, you’ll love it here. “Unlimited” PTO, which actually means 4 weeks here. Still a good benefit, but beware the misleading lingo.

    Cons

    Opendoor is really good at pumping themselves up and making you feel like you’re at the most special company on earth. It felt great at the time, but looking back it’s almost cult-like, and it’s clear that they do that in order to make employees feel intense loyalty despite the chaos. An overused quote we heard a lot was “no one is doing what we’re doing.” It’s easy to get sucked in, but make no mistake, Opendoor will take advantage of it and feels no loyalty towards its employees. There’s been lots of turnover and angst over the past 6 months, and for good reason. There are many managers who have no business being managers. Condescending, self-important, micromanaging, and are of very little help to their teams. Managers who will watch their teams drown rather than jump in and help, while criticizing every little thing. Not all managers are that way, but unfortunately it’s luck of the draw. Perks have been disappearing left and right, bringing the once bright and shiny culture down with them. Upper management doesn’t give a single care about everyday employees. They’ve adopted a “customer first” model, which sounds great in theory but ultimately means employees suffer for it. I’ve since moved to a “people first”, culture-forward company, and there’s a biiiig difference. There’s little-to-no growth opportunity. I was there for over 18 months and watched the opportunities shrink rather than grow, especially in the Dallas office. There was a lot of talk about growth plans, but nothing was ever actually done. Managers aren’t focused on your growth, only on metrics. If you think you’re going to move up, think again.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-12-31
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Not the place that I would get excited anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    That are some really intelligent people who truly care about the company mission, the customers and others they work with. The top leadership team is sincere and has the vision, but there is a disconnect between the ground and top.

    Cons

    Middle management has no idea what the day to day looks like on the ground, however is the one making the changes that impact operator capacity the most. They keep piling up more tasks on us but give no relief or support on small tooling improvements that we've been crying for. Work life balance doesn't exist. We pretty much work seven days a week, long hours and often have no time to take bathroom or lunch breaks. It is also becoming very political here. People who have close personal relationships with middle management get the most opportunities or favors. Others are given the words "I will support your growth", but there is no action or follow up .

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-07-17

    Opendoor Response

    September 3, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the note. Your feedback is valuable and will be shared with our leadership team. I highly encourage that you also share your insights with the HR team. This year we have built out additional training and support for new managers to build leadership skill set - as a growing company we understand that not all new managers have managed before. We are proactively implementing resourcing tools to get ahead of this area - thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Look elsewhere unless you're desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    While the people that I made friends with were great the overall culture is horrible

    Cons

    Cliques/ No overtime pay/ no advancement opportunities/ no pay raises / No educated leadership / No real estate knowledge / HIGH Overturn Rate/ No work-life balance / NO DIVERSITY & multiple state & federal regulations broken on a constant basis.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-08-21
  8. Helpful (5)

    "They don't treat everyone fairly/equally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance No Dress Code Relaxed Atmosphere

    Cons

    No 401k match Inconsistency Lack of Transparency Benefits being reduced Pay for parking

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-07-23

    Opendoor Response

    September 3, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Hello, If you are open to sharing more insight, the HR team would be open to setting up time to chat more. This is a area that we’re continuing to focus on, in addition to how we define for the short term but also long-term. We really appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Still a start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Associate in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    awesome benefits, people and office culture

    Cons

    constantly changing directives....makes sense as a start-up trying to redefine an industry work/life balance can be rough

    Opendoor2019-06-10
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Culture shock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opendoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits (akin to Silicon Valley) -Autonomy to do my job and explore other avenues of interest -Interesting, yet challenging projects founded on real business case problems -Flexibility in terms of hours, vacation, and workload. Loved the work-life balance. -Accessibility to upper management. Seniors and management are typically available and treat you as equals. -Feedback is a gift. I was fortunate enough to have management that championed a culture of feedback--giving and receiving.

    Cons

    -This company is disruptive and we are often fixing an airplane while flying it. That said, things are changing incessantly. Policies, guidelines, role, responsibilities, etc. cannot be expected to remain the same. It's common, if not normal, for things to change directions. You have to nimble and adaptive or you will suffer. Not for the faint of heart. -Career paths are nebulous and ambiguous. There's no linearity. If you want something, you truly have to forge your own path by building rapport with the right network, and honing the necessary skills required -Culture is celebrated and endorsed on paper, but not enforced nor fostered in the workplace.

    Continue reading
    Opendoor2019-06-05
Found 37 reviews