Opower Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Opower Founder & CEO Daniel Yates
Daniel Yates
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "I know I have the support of some very smart people and I can see my career growth potential here(in 21 reviews)

  • "Competitive salaries, with many of the west coast perks you see in the HBO show, Silicon Valley (free massages, Friday lunch, etc)(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "So work life balance was a major plus, nobody cared and you could coast along into oblivion or just(in 15 reviews)

  • "Everyone's main complaint is the lack of a 401k match(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A great company with a great mission

      Aug 30, 2018 - Implementation Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone was friendly to work with. Surprisingly well run as a company.

      Cons

      Not sure how their culture has changed after being acquired by Oracle. Betting it was for the worse.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Toxic: If you don't like it they will happily find someone to replace you!

      Apr 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Please read my thoughts below

      Cons

      Working at Opower/Oracle was one of the most disheartening experiences of my professional life. Much like a toxic relationship, it was so surreal that it took distance to recognize how manipulative and evil it was. This is no longer a startup that cares about the environment or your career development. Product teams called "tribes" as in tribal warfare, were organized to fight against each other for resources or to get initiatives on the sacred roadmap. It was impossible to get anything built because the engineering teams were incorrectly staffed. The development department is a poster child for "full stack dilettante" any specialization was circa 1990. User testing, research, and data science are nonexistent, they fired that entire department before the acquisition, all that's left is a shell of its former self. The design and engineering teams, operate like a molasses waterfall. Management will lie to you about promotions here and there, oh next year we'll have the budget. They'll also interview prospective hires, tell them the job has closed, then weeks later tell them it's open again. The only way to become promoted is by sheer chance or by counter offering. Expect to be stuck on the one project forever. Want to take initiative and lead another project? They'll hire someone else to do that and keep you in your silo. On the plus side: the nice thing about the level of effort expected is you did not need to show up for work. So work life balance was a major plus, nobody cared and you could coast along into oblivion or just… work from home… Think you can use google drive, or dropbox, or anything modern? Think again! Oracle's tyrannical stronghold on being a monolith extends into its totalitarian culture: home brewed horrifying mail client from 1990 check, oradocs (aka bad google drive which misplaces documents) check, impossible to use expense reporting tool check.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Used to be a good place to work

      Mar 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent starting pay. Experience working on interesting projects. Mostly smart and fun people to work with. Good benefits (flex time, work from home, unlimited PTO for managers).

      Cons

      Tons of people still leaving and morale is low. Oracle is slow to replace or not replacing all the people who left so every one is overworked. Very slow and inefficient processes. Managers are clueless about what's happening in the trenches. Lack of consistent performance reviews and feedback. No raises or incentives. No growth for more experienced people. Oracle killed the Opower culture and now it's like working in 90s corporate America. Too many meetings and power points filled with buzzwords. Products and internal tools are buggy and lack continued innovation. Politics and favoritism at higher levels and lack of diversity in senior management.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good people, good mission

      Sep 3, 2019 - Client Success 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great people who care passionately about energy efficiency. -Good medical benefits and leave policy once you hit manager or above

      Cons

      -your happiness will depend heavily on which team you get staffed on. There are some highly under-resourced teams that result in frustration and burn-out among employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Smart People, Interesting Work

      Mar 19, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I worked at Opower I felt like I was surrounded by smart people. Most engineers were very competent and very engaged in their jobs.

      Cons

      The pace of change at Opower was glacial. It took a long time to release new products, and the company was large enough (even before being acquired by Oracle) that I didn't feel empowered to change the organization. I was frustrated by the review and promotion process. My boss agreed that I met all the documented points to be promoted to the next level of engineer, but I had to wait a further two more review rounds to receive the promotion. This was my reason for leaving.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place I've ever worked

      Feb 3, 2016 - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Every day at Opower was inspiring - the people are smart, new ideas are always being brought to the table, and everyone is motivated to do their best work because the company is doing good things for the world. People take each other seriously at work but also have so much in common that you end up with many friends outside of the office, and those relationships range across all levels - I count my old manager as one of my closest friends and will always turn to some of the company's senior leadership for life and career advice.

      Cons

      Though things settled down a bit post-IPO, I'd still say work/life balance is tough at Opower. People work hard because they love what they do, but they're still working really, really hard. Also, the transition from one primary product line to multiple product lines has been rocky, particularly as oil prices have been tanking and screwing with the entire industry. As the energy world settles out so too will Opower, as long as they solidify their newer products.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful

      Opower Response

      People Team Representative

      Thanks for your review and for being part of the Opower family for over 3 years!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Wonderful Place To Work; Hard to Get In

      Sep 24, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a lot of the caveat "for the DC area" when descrbing Opower, and that feels fair. Salary ranges seem competitive for DC while benefits and other perks are outstanding. People bring their pets to the office which makes every day fun, and the snacks are varied, delicios, and the right blend of healthy and terrible for you. Teams are allowed to budget for off-site excursions that range from outdoor ropes courses to nice dinners, and most departments exercise some fomr of inter-departmental comradery.

      Cons

      With a huge office in SF it's impossible not to compare our salaries and benfits against theirs regionally, and DC-side that's where some of the competive edge is lost. A lot of talent moves out to SF for this reason, leaving a bit of a drain on some aspects of the DC office. And since our benefits aren't always as great as in SF, there has been some loss of talent. Also, the interview process could use some work. By many accounts it's grueling, and while it's important to get the best possible feel for a candidate's talents and skills, there is so much on-the-job learning that maybe some of it can be left for later.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      For those of you who care about the future of energy...

      Jan 31, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ...Opower is one of the few companies that's on the forefront of ushering utilities into the 21st century. How many other cleantech companies have you seen undergo a successful IPO and continue along a positive growth trajectory? <crickets chirping> Opower put behavioral energy efficiency on the map and will do the same for a whole array of new AMI-enabled products and services. Your energy provider should effectively communicate with you about how and when you use energy so you can make informed decisions to reduce your use and save money. Opower is making this happen. I'm happy to be a part of this. For full review of perks, see other reviews (they are good though). Finally, you'll notice a lot of negative reviews as of late. They all boil down to the fact that company life is changing as Opower has moved from fledgling start-up to enterprise software company. I welcome this feedback and sympathize with some of it but still doesn't reflect how I feel about Opower overall as a company. The fact that we're openly having this debate about what the company is and should be is a sign of positive company culture.

      Cons

      Working environment is very fluid. For those of us who like long-term clarity and certainty in day-to-day tasks, Opower-life will come as a shock. To a certain extent, this is a good thing as it prevents the job from becoming stale - and some folks do really thrive in this environment - but it can be overwhelming. Be ready for this, decide if this is something you want.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      An amazing place for a software engineer to work; probably the best in the DC area

      Dec 19, 2013 - Senior Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Work with the best and brightest: it's truly an honor to work with such talented, motivated, bright colleagues. I don't know of any other similarly-sized tech companies in DC that are on par. * Great pay: I get paid slightly better than market rate for my position, and my stock options are worth 2x my annual salary when/if we IPO. * Great benefits: HSA, 401k, more annual leave than I know what to do with, etc. * Free food: free breakfasts every day, free catered lunches on Fridays, and a completely stacked snack closet that would make any college kid drool. Oh, and they even have farm fresh milk and produce, so there are healthy snacking options too!

      Cons

      * I can't vouch for the working environment of other groups outside of Engineering. * The day to day job is trying to make energy usage and efficiency interesting to your avg person, which is tough because for the most part it's pretty boring. * If you work remotely it can be challenging, because Opower struggles with audio/video conferencing, but I think that's probably true of all companies.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great workplace with super smart people and fun perks!

      Jan 6, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Opower in 2015 and have had a really great experience. I love my team and really respect and appreciate all of my colleagues. It sounds silly but everyone is very professional, doesn't gossip, and actually makes an effort to engage not just at work but on personal stuff when appropriate. I like that everyone works very hard, but is not afraid to laugh and have some fun while getting the job done. It's a tight ship with high standards, ambitious goals and deadlines, but if you're smart, driven and dedicated, you will be successful and inspired by the results and the opportunity to do really great work with great people. Best Perks: Dog friendly, unlimited paid time off, on-site massage!!! Lounges, lunch rooms, a library, subsidized parking, gym subsidy, healthy snacks, good coffee, bubbly water, ripe avocados and fruit for the snagging (gnom, gnom, gnom), stand up desks, and lots of creative swag!

      Cons

      I'm really happy to be working here. For a young and growing company, Opower shows all the signs of being on an exciting and positive path forward. The building in SF just repealed their dog friendliness so that's a bummer, but that is outside of the company's control. I also wish there were more conference space as it's sometimes hard to find a room for meetings as most everything is open space.

      8 people found this review helpful

      Opower Response

      People Team Representative

      Thank you for your review – we really appreciate it. We’re happy to hear that you’re thriving at Opower. We work hard at providing a positive and inspiring environment for all O’s across the globe and appreciate your contribution to the company mission.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 179 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Opower Job Seekers

    Senior Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Software Test Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Opower? Share Your Experiences

    Opower logo
    or