OppLoans Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
OppLoans CEO Jared Kaplan
Jared Kaplan
128 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons whatsoever for Opploans(in 7 reviews)

  • "with more and more people being hired if you work from home it can be difficult to find a station to plug into when you visit the office(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "WOW"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Customer Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedules, lots of great snack and food options, games all over the office (Ping Pong, Pop a shot, Foosball, Arcade games), more food, amazing resources for the staff, unbelievable benefits, incredibly thoughtful upper management (C-Suite) and a tremendous support structure which makes it feel really difficult to fail. The CEO believes that if you take care of your employees, they will take care of your customers and the company stands behind it.

    Cons

    As with any start up/developing company there are many opportunities to grow, develop and improve as a company. A big part of the culture is to embrace those challenges and work through them. The result of this process is change and for some change can be very challenging. For me, I see the opportunity to help structure that change as a huge positive. Your voice matters!

    Continue reading
    OppLoans2020-04-09

    OppLoans Response

    April 9, 2020Chief People Officer

    Love the positive attitude and growth mindset. Thank you for your leadership in helping us embrace our challenges and use them as opportunities for growth. We’re grateful that you’re part of the OppLoans Team! Karishma Patel Buford, Chief People Officer

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations Administrative Advocate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch stipend, snacks, game nights, nice office, great co workers

    Cons

    No real cons for me

    OppLoans2020-05-19

    OppLoans Response

    May 19, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you! Game nights are the best. Karishma Patel Buford, Chief People Officer

  3. "Incredible Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - OppLoan's culture is unparalleled. Such a lovely environment to work in and every person I've met in the company is exceptionally kind. - Incredible benefits - thoughtful about their employees and their needs - BEAUTIFUL view in the Chicago office. On one of the top floors of TwoPru and I can never get over looking out the window and seeing the entirety of chicago and millenium park.

    Cons

    - the building can get a little cold sometimes

    OppLoans2020-05-13

    OppLoans Response

    May 13, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the feedback! So happy you are feeling the “Hold the Door” love! Trying to make sure it’s not too hot or too cold for everyone is a challenge. Always feel free to send a note to Megan Zambrano once we’re back in the office, and we’ll figure it out! Karishma Patel Buford, Chief People Officer

  4. "Excellent benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advocate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good health insurance - Wonderful culture - Excellent support to employees - Actually fun place to work

    Cons

    They are starting to really track down to the minute that you are abiding your schedule. The process to input exceptional and get them approved is needlessly extensive.

    OppLoans2020-05-04

    OppLoans Response

    May 4, 2020Chief People Officer

    Absolutely agree with you on our culture and having fun along the way. Our employees make the difference! Please do share specific ideas on what we can do to streamline the Monet employee experience while still meeting our business goals. Feel free to join our Office Hours or send a note to myself, Sal, Maggie or Ernesto. Thank you for all that you do! Karishma Patel Buford, Chief People Officer

  5. "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are put first and genuinely made to feel important to the business! The leaders really care about each individual!

    Cons

    Doesnt appear to be any that would be considered bad.

    Continue reading
    OppLoans2020-04-27

    OppLoans Response

    April 27, 2020Chief People Officer

    It's so wonderful to know that you feel and experience the employee first approach that our Leadership Team strives to lead with in our decisions! You make some great points on making sure meetings are productive and a valuable use of time. This is feedback we will take in to offer meeting guidelines. Thank you for your suggestions and all of your support. Karishma Patel Buford, Chief People Officer

  6. "Opploans"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Advocate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been working at Opploans for nearly 3 1/2 years. Since the moment I walked in for a interview I've been treated nothing less then great. I started the with the company when everyone shared the 16th floor and watch it grow occupying now 3 floors. With amazing growth the company has occupied these last few years it never lost sight in making sure to put their employees first. With obvious growth comes changes within the company and with that I'd like to highlight with every change we weren't only informed ahead of time but also invited to weigh in on any opinions we had and the best part is I was felt that our opinion mattered and we were listened to. There has been plenty of times our feedback has been taken into account. Holding the same position since I started because of my own personal choice I like to share that growth with the company is very much available and has seen it with plenty of my coworkers. Aside from the job you have within the company , they offer us the ability to express ourselves and our interest. The company has different groups you can join, offer outside work events like game night, sports, and outings that you can interact with other co workers throughout the whole company. I truly can't express how blessed I am to work for a company that doesn't just look at us as another employee but as a human. Leading to why I'm here writing about my employer, as the world is dealing with a pandemic I wanted to share how Opploans took care of us. Never did our company hesitate to put our health first, early on our company transitioned to work from home. They were flexible with our schedules if people who had kids needed to implement a change since kids were home now can do so. I felt informed about where our company stand with any changes needed to be done, Opploans followed any CDC and state/city regulations. Even though our company's business may have taken a hit (just like many) Opploans found a way to keep their employees employed and taken care of. Again I can't express how much it is a blessing to work for such an amazing company!

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any cons working with Opploans

    Continue reading
    OppLoans2020-04-22

    OppLoans Response

    April 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Wow! So awesome to see how happy you are with OppLoans and a true champion even after all of these years. Our number one goal through this pandemic has been to do everything we possibly can to ensure the health and safety of our employees, so it's really amazing to know that this has been your experience. Please keep the feedback/ideas coming and thank YOU for ALL that you do! Karishma Patel Buford, Chief People Officer

  7. "Great experience"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Loan Advocate 

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time

    Pros

    Awesome- no complaints. Has been a great experience.

    Cons

    None comes to mind. Absolutely none

    OppLoans2020-03-18
  8. "One of a Kind in Chicago"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    OppLoans is an unbelievable and unique growth story in Chicago. It’s a high-performing company with a focus on great results balanced with a positive culture of transparency and collaboration. You work hard to deliver and you also have fun with great benefits and employee led communities focused on diversity and inclusion. We care about our customers and having a social impact. As an employee, no matter what your role or level, you can make a big impact quickly and there’s a strong focus on career development, so the personal growth is amazing!

    Cons

    Our growth is so inspiring and it means we have to adapt. For those employees who were here when the company was small and who tend to focus on how things used to be, it’s been really tough. It would be helpful if those employees could help with the solution instead of just complaining about the problems, if they truly care and want to be part of the company’s future.

    Continue reading
    OppLoans2020-03-06

    OppLoans Response

    March 7, 2020Chief People Officer

    We appreciate your thoughtful comments. We subscribe to the philosophy that a company can be both high performing and a great place to work. That's only possible when you hire the best talent and retain them. As the business grows, we need to find the right balance of entrepreneurial spirit and structure. While that is always a difficult process, I am confident we will get it right in the long run. CEO, Jared

  9. "Excellent place to learn and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I truly believe that no matter what level of Developer/Manager/'Tech Lead' you are you will have the opportunity to grow here. We have so many brilliant senior people here and if you want to know something there is probably someone here you can ask for help. Our leadership is great and they have a keen eye on how to ensure future growth. GREAT CTO GREAT CEO INCLUSIVE, we celebrate and welcome diversity. We are not a mono-culture. I have not listed all of the pros, this place is great.

    Cons

    Some managers are inexperienced though they are well meaning and open to feedback. Few or no work from home opportunities and this is hindering our ability to attract a more diverse workforce.

    Continue reading
    OppLoans2020-03-05

    OppLoans Response

    March 6, 2020Chief People Officer

    Appreciate your honest feedback and thrilled that you see the ability to grow as we build the company. Our proprietary tech stack has seen exponential gains in the last few years as we've hired an A+ team. We want to be known as a "best technology company" to work and will continue to look for ways, including increased flexibility on where/how we work, to attract superior talent. CEO, Jared

  10. "Wonderful Company, so happy to be here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OppLoans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of perks: Great benefits Gym Membership Healthy Snacks Up to date technology Beautiful office Great employees Engaged CEO and CPO

    Cons

    Don't have any cons to share.

    OppLoans2020-02-20

    OppLoans Response

    February 20, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for being a great champion for OppLoans! Karishma Patel Buford, Chief People Officer

Found 146 reviews