Optiver "traders" Reviews | Glassdoor

Optiver Employee Reviews about "traders"

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "Bit of discrepancy in salary between developers and traders(in 10 reviews)

  • "Long hours are expected, management doesn't allow for mistakes, there is a lot of pressure(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "traders"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optiver full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very competitive internally and externally. Solid teams.

    Cons

    Relies strongly on organic growth, doesn't hire many experienced traders.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2019-04-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "They do a lot of things right, but have room to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Optiver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Optiver many years ago, so take everything with a grain of salt. From a trader perspective, they do a lot right. The people are very talented, the software is cutting edge and fast, and the compensation/benefits are very good. I think they also did a good job creating and keeping a culture where everyone tries to improve, and everyone feels like they're on the same team.

    Cons

    I feel like the top traders don't necessarily make for the top managers, and they need to continue to train traders throughout their career. Non-traders sometimes were treated like second class citizens, which obviously shouldn't be the case. The culture is very aggressive - there's a ton of pressure to keep improving or you could be out of the company sooner rather than later, which is a lot of stress to have. And the comp structure, while good, was very top heavy.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2019-07-26
  3. "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer() in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optiver for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and perks Fun culture Nice people Cutting edge work "Smart environment"

    Cons

    The name isn't as well known as some other prop traders - not a big deal at all.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2018-10-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optiver full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Junior level (<5 years) compensation is extremely competitive. The best (or at least top 3) on most products that we trade. Smart people with not that much ego. Pretty transparent bonus structure encourages people to help each other, promoting a friendly culture compared to other silo-ed firms (etc. Jump)

    Cons

    Not that much upside for the best guys - some talented traders are moving to other competitors to get paid more. In contrast, there are also some people who can't get paid not even half of what they get paid at Optiver if they leave, hence lowering the morale. Not much incentive for shareholders to take risk (e.g. exploring new products - cryptos, equity options, swaps and swaptions, etc) The best traders don't always make the best managers (see what happened at Intel vs IBM), but there is no choice because managers get paid more. Reviews are getting little obscure as traders get more specialized, and its hard to compare apples and oranges.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2018-01-07
  5. Helpful (7)

    "A Principled Trading Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optiver full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Mission: We have a clear directive: Improve the market. I love the focus that mission brings in combination with its moral undertones. We only pursue strategies which actually add value to the world’s financial markets. And I see this play out every week as well. In meetings questions like “why should we be paid to this”, “is this a fair strategy”, and “is this money we should leave on the table” are constantly asked. It is so refreshing to work for a trading company which takes it duty to ensure stable, fair, transparent markets seriously. - Teamwork: The camaraderie, sense of togetherness, and practical outworking of the company structure are incredible. Within our office in Chicago, it feels like everyone is part of a tight-knit team that works together as true partners with no second-class citizens. Between offices there is a wonderful sense of friendly competition (every office wants the best results) balanced by the knowledge that we all share in each other’s success which motivates everyone to constantly sharing technology, strategies, and learnings. - Humility: Why are the most successful people at Optiver successful? Speaking for IT, the key is humility, being self-critical, proactively looking for critiques and advice to help yourself improve, and looking for your own faults before others. Our most senior people are the first ones to take the blame for something going wrong and push those around them to help learn from those mistakes and grow. - Intelligence: You can’t be a great company in this industry without incredibly smart people. And in addition to being some of the most humble, hardworking people I know, my colleagues are also incredibly smart. If we were ever to decide “let’s cut the person with the lowest IQ”, I’d need to start looking for a job… Thankfully I know we’ll never do that. :-)

    Cons

    - Professionalism Training: Because most new hires are fresh out of school, there is a need for and lack of training in “professionalism”: How to make a business case. How to produce meaningful statistics and not gibberish. How do you create, plan, and run a meeting. How do you stay organized and not drop the ball? How should you behave in a meeting? Etc. That many new hires don’t know these things is not a problem. The issue is the lack of internal development and mentoring in these areas. - Focus: Optiver has a lot of intelligent people, high quality traders, and opportunities to grow. But it feels like we’re at a giant buffet where every food option looks incredible. We’re half-way through the line, and we have a full plate and a choice: do we grab a second plate and keep moving or step back and re-evaluate what is best for our long-term health and short-term digestion? It often feels like we go for the second plate when we should ask: is that chocolate pie really going to be that good? We’ve tried it three times before and never been satisfied. Why do we think it will be good this time?

    Continue reading
    Optiver2015-10-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, and only getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Optiver full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    + people are professional and always driving to be better + level of transparency is great. As a junior trader, you would already have access to all strategies in the firm. All you got to do is ask. + very entrepreneurial. You get what you make of the opportunity. For the most part it is meritocracy, you can become head of trading in 5 years. + good integration across different assets class and product groups. As infrastructure is shared, ideas are thrown around and discussed all day. It keeps the job interesting and mentally challenging. + a good balance between longer term Project work and daily trading. There is freedom After market close to work on any project/startegy that you believe in it.

    Cons

    - it is sometimes tough to get your ideas implemented as IT resources are limited especially when something is experimental in nature. Traders with proven track record and high percentage strategy improvements get green light much easier. - heavily reliant on some core infrastructure and technology. This has led to having to design solution based on existing setup. It is some times frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2014-11-03
  7. "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Optiver full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, continuously challenge yourself

    Cons

    Salaries for non traders is abysmally low

    Optiver2019-11-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optiver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Highly skilled colleagues - Great food catering in the Amsterdam office - Encouraged greatly to set up new stuff, be entrepreneurial - Rewards and promotions relative to performance, done quite fairly - Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    - Bit of discrepancy in salary between developers and traders

    Optiver2019-05-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Really enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optiver

    Pros

    One of the best companies I have worked for - we get given lots of independence and accountability at a young age. As long as you can show you have the ability they give you this and then reward you. Sooo different from other organisations in financial services. We get great benefits and extra leave once you hit 2 years. Some of the smartest people I have every worked with and lots of interesting hours.

    Cons

    Work can be stressful, and expectations are really high - not always bad but just be prepared to work hard. Hours don't matter here (except for trading hours you need to be here as a trader or if you directly support traders) - results is what matters (a pro) Most of the leaders have only worked here - while not inherently bad, it sometimes means they don't know how other places do things or have had experience to lead people well. That said HR is approachable and they try to help leaders.

    Continue reading
    Optiver2018-02-09
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Money Prison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optiver full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of perks; food, gym memberships etc. Ultimately, this doesn't amount to anything that would want to make you stay though. Get paid a lot more as a trader then your other graduate friends. Will teach you everything you need to know about financial markets. Other companies will want to hire you after you've worked here.

    Cons

    Egotistical and toxic management environment. Management out of touch with the core of the company. Non-supportive, Negative and Hyper-critical environment for non management traders/developers. Lots of unnecessary implied pressure. Lack of Direction/Vision Lack of Innovation. Forced negative feedback. Too many jaded egos for the company to move forward .

    Continue reading
    Optiver2017-12-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews