Opus Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus Bank Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Paul Taylor
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA

      I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Cool and fast elevators Car wash inside the parking lot

      Cons

      The worst place I have ever worked at, glad that I escaped... The management played extreme favoritism. During the time I was at Opus, I was reporting to someone who had no idea what my job function was and who did not even bother to learn my area of expertise. Offensive and disrespectful language was often thrown out to criticize employees, total disregard of people's emotional well being. No one in my team was...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      None

      Opus Bank2019-01-19
    • "Terrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

        Pros

        There are no pros to work here

        Cons

        Terrible bank to work for

        Opus Bank2019-01-08
      • "Senior Client Experience Professional"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

        Pros

        Great bonuses! Integrates community into the company.

        Cons

        Doesn't value employees as they should.

        Advice to Management

        Give annual raises

        Opus Bank2018-12-16
      • Helpful (2)

        "Stay Away...Seriously."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Opus Bank full-time

        Pros

        Possibility to make a lot of money if you are well liked and prove your worth. That's it...literally.

        Cons

        Everything. This is a company where you come to sell your soul. Company culture is severely lacking. If you can't produce, and this doesn't mean just doing your job but means producing work 2-3x the "expected workload" then steer clear. Incredible amounts of favoritism. Leadership has no idea how to retain talent and develop (turnover here is insane). There is a reason why their Glassdoor rating is extremely low. Simply...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Listen to your employees.

        Opus Bank2018-12-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "One of the worst companies in banking."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Relationship Banker 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Not a thing. The pay is decent, but you can find better paying banking jobs without searching that hard.

        Cons

        Managers lacking any form of accountability should something go awry. Workplace practices are horrible (skeleton staff due to quitting/firing left me and my coworker to work 45 hrs weekly for several months because we could not take breaks or lunches.) Zero training whatsoever.

        Advice to Management

        Treat employees with the respect they deserve. Do not say "if you ever need help or have a concern, talk to me" if you won't actually help or listen to any concerns.

        Opus Bank2018-10-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "Enjoyed the people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The people in the branches as well as the management are pretty good to work with

          Cons

          Some of the other departments are a bit difficult to deal with as they on more than one occasion never got back to us about specific questions we asked or information we requested.

          Opus Bank2018-08-16
        • Helpful (1)

          "Banker"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Personal Banker in Denver, CO
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

            Pros

            The pay. Unlimited vacation.

            Cons

            None. Haven’t been there long enough

            Advice to Management

            None

            Opus Bank2018-08-04
          • "Portfolio Manager"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Unlimited vacation time Salary was decent

            Cons

            Unlimited vacation time (could only use if all your work is done and you have made your goals) Long hours High turnover Work environment

            Advice to Management

            Set realistic goals, more work life balance, try to retain good talent.

            Opus Bank2018-06-24
          • Helpful (3)

            "Worst bank"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Retail in Los Angeles, CA
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            the Check clears every 2 weeks

            Cons

            always have your resume updated

            Advice to Management

            invest in some educated Managers

            Opus Bank2018-06-25
          • Helpful (1)

            "Terrible place to work"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook

            I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

            Pros

            The only pro is pay.

            Cons

            Hostile work environment, management doesn't care about retention of their employees. Very unforgiving and stressful environment. Not worth it!

            Advice to Management

            Invest in training your employees and treat them with respect.

            Opus Bank2018-06-07
          Found 107 reviews