Opus Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Opus Bank CEO Paul Taylor (no image)
Paul Taylor
2 Ratings
  1. "Financial Industry Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and Benefits with learning a lot about the banking industry

    Cons

    Long hours with high turn over rate

    Opus Bank2019-01-27
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool and fast elevators Car wash inside the parking lot

    Cons

    The worst place I have ever worked at, glad that I escaped... The management played extreme favoritism. During the time I was at Opus, I was reporting to someone who had no idea what my job function was and who did not even bother to learn my area of expertise. Offensive and disrespectful language was often thrown out to criticize employees, total disregard of people's emotional well being. No one in my team... was allowed to express our opinions because the management thought he was the smartest person. This became a very unhealthy work environment. Half of my team including myself left within a year. The management enjoyed turning the employees to fight amongst ourselves by encouraging people to tell on each other. There was no teamwork or any professionalism what so ever at Opus because everyone was so busy plotting against one another. This was the most hostile work environment I have ever experienced. If you respect yourself and you have real banking skills, trust me, STAY AWAY from Opus and go somewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None

    Opus Bank2019-01-19
  3. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to work here

    Cons

    Terrible bank to work for

    Opus Bank2019-01-08
  4. "Senior Client Experience Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great bonuses! Integrates community into the company.

    Cons

    Doesn't value employees as they should.

    Advice to Management

    Give annual raises

    Opus Bank2018-12-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Away...Seriously."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Possibility to make a lot of money if you are well liked and prove your worth. That's it...literally.

    Cons

    Everything. This is a company where you come to sell your soul. Company culture is severely lacking. If you can't produce, and this doesn't mean just doing your job but means producing work 2-3x the "expected workload" then steer clear. Incredible amounts of favoritism. Leadership has no idea how to retain talent and develop (turnover here is insane). There is a reason why their Glassdoor rating is extremely low.... Simply put - not worth it!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees.

    Opus Bank2018-12-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "One of the worst companies in banking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a thing. The pay is decent, but you can find better paying banking jobs without searching that hard.

    Cons

    Managers lacking any form of accountability should something go awry. Workplace practices are horrible (skeleton staff due to quitting/firing left me and my coworker to work 45 hrs weekly for several months because we could not take breaks or lunches.) Zero training whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with the respect they deserve. Do not say "if you ever need help or have a concern, talk to me" if you won't actually help or listen to any concerns.

    Opus Bank2018-10-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people in the branches as well as the management are pretty good to work with

    Cons

    Some of the other departments are a bit difficult to deal with as they on more than one occasion never got back to us about specific questions we asked or information we requested.

    Opus Bank2018-08-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Denver, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay. Unlimited vacation.

    Cons

    None. Haven’t been there long enough

    Advice to Management

    None

    Opus Bank2018-08-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Worst bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the Check clears every 2 weeks

    Cons

    always have your resume updated

    Advice to Management

    invest in some educated Managers

    Opus Bank2018-06-25
  10. "Portfolio Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation time Salary was decent

    Cons

    Unlimited vacation time (could only use if all your work is done and you have made your goals) Long hours High turnover Work environment

    Advice to Management

    Set realistic goals, more work life balance, try to retain good talent.

    Opus Bank2018-06-24
Found 108 reviews