Opus Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Paul Taylor
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "This place is not for the weak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity! The harder you work, the more you can succeed. This place offers great pay and they aren’t afraid to take care of the ones they want to keep. You are surrounded by smart, hardworking people (for the most part). Some people aren’t wired to work hard and those are the ones I see complaining about this place. The place runs lean, so you will have to adapt and figure out how to do a lot without guidance. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    Work/life balance is sometimes non -existent. Benefits could be better. 401k match is a joke.

    Opus Bank2018-01-17
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Retail Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Analyst in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are several amazing talented individuals with brilliant minds and capabilities that have been a pleasure to work with. Their experience and drive to research is admirable.

    Cons

    Senior management lacks leadership skills therefore fails to develop employees. Career advancement should be based on skill and commitment as opposed to friendships and likability. Retail Banking leaders consistently cover up poor practices and fail to disclose details with internal partners. Accountability tactics are non existent or unethically executed.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace talent instead of being threatened by it. Senior management should step down so actual leader can create a healthy work environment as opposed to a hostile one.

    Opus Bank2018-01-04
  3. "Relationship Banking Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Relationship Banking Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Hours and flexibility and salary

    Cons

    High Sales Goals and changing of goals monthly

    Advice to Management

    None

    Opus Bank2017-11-17
  4. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Chill for a bank, being located west coast

    Cons

    None to say - enjoyed experience

    Opus Bank2017-09-30
  5. "MD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great young people that work very hard

    Cons

    The CEO has no IB experience and it shows. Its not about your face time its about closing business.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with employees don't yell. Ask questions and be open to alternative ways of business.

    Opus Bank2017-10-20
  6. "Corporate Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good.

    Cons

    The management's leadership skills are lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to lead over dictate.

    Opus Bank2017-10-04
  7. Helpful (5)

    "VP, Banking Center Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast-paced work environment, plenty of room for advancement (if you earn it), excellent pay and bonus structure, very competent and hands-on management team. Expectations are clearly laid out and plenty of coaching/training is available if you take the initiative. Nothing here is handed to you, you need to speak up and ask if you run into obstacles.

    Cons

    Not necessarily cons, just a very different approach to retail banking. This company is not for everyone. If you appreciate hard work, good pay, balanced home/work life, and an ever-changing environment then this is the place for you. If you prefer a more traditional "order taker" approach to retail banking then you wont be a good fit.

    Advice to Management

    None. This company is managed the way the board and Sr. management sees fit. Excellent opportunity but again not for everyone.

    Opus Bank2017-06-13
  8. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great environment with lots of opportunity. Compensation. Surrounded by incredibly smart people .

    Cons

    Not too many that come to mind immediately. Overall enjoyed my experience there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing. I found myself consistently amazed by plans for the future, and was reassured when they came to fruition.

    Opus Bank2017-06-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Atmosphere, great people, enjoy my work

    Cons

    Like any job, no job is perfect

    Advice to Management

    This is more so to people looking to work at Opus or have. I think it's great. I've had plenty of jobs and nightmare employers. I think it's important to love what you do. We all work for the best interest of the bank. The bank succeeds, so do you. My goal is to see the bank succeed because I take pride in my work and it makes me proud to see positive results. If you're doing a good job, you're recognized. If you don't,...

    Show More
    Opus Bank2017-05-16
  10. "Checking out reviews for Opus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work - always an opportunity for personal development

    Cons

    No cons at this time, am happy with all aspects of the company

    Opus Bank2017-07-06
Found 106 reviews