Opus Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus Bank Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Opus Bank CEO Paul Taylor (no image)
Paul Taylor
2 Ratings
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great environment with lots of opportunity. Compensation. Surrounded by incredibly smart people .

    Cons

    Not too many that come to mind immediately. Overall enjoyed my experience there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing. I found myself consistently amazed by plans for the future, and was reassured when they came to fruition.

    Opus Bank2017-06-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sr. FSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Service Representative in Woodinville, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hourly pay is good for supervising 1 Teller.

    Cons

    Asst. Manager runs a small branch who is power hungry, manipulative, unprofessional, very rude and treated employees unfairly. The manager supported such behavior.

    Advice to Management

    Hire and train an educated manager and asst. manager to operate a branch not just to babysit employees.

    Opus Bank2017-05-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Atmosphere, great people, enjoy my work

    Cons

    Like any job, no job is perfect

    Advice to Management

    This is more so to people looking to work at Opus or have. I think it's great. I've had plenty of jobs and nightmare employers. I think it's important to love what you do. We all work for the best interest of the bank. The bank succeeds, so do you. My goal is to see the bank succeed because I take pride in my work and it makes me proud to see positive results. If you're doing a good job, you're recognized. If you... don't, you're recognized. It's just how you want to be recognized and it's either for something negative or positive. I don't have any negative things to say. I love working there and I enjoy working with the Opus team.

    Show More
    Opus Bank2017-05-16
  4. "Well, the building is pretty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance is fine - there's not really a reason to push yourself as....

    Cons

    There's not much room for advancement unless you stick your nose in the right places

    Opus Bank2017-05-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    The pay is really good.

    Cons

    They may not keep you for long.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and give people that you have trained a chance.

    Opus Bank2017-04-10
  6. Helpful (14)

    "The most hostile work environment I have ever experienced."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some people are really nice. Building has gym and recreation room. Some departments are friendly. I loved the job. Loved the food trucks.

    Cons

    You are always working under duress. No team work at all. No trust. If they don't like you, they fire you. Lots of favoritism, age discrimination. Stress level is insane. NO life/work balance at all. They work you to death.

    Advice to Management

    You can't buy our silence. Money is not everything. We are all humans, mistakes will happen. Think twice before firing your good, dedicated employees who want to work there.

    Opus Bank2017-04-06
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Stay clear of this hot mess!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not sure there is a good reason to work there, unless you just can't find a job elsewhere!!

    Cons

    I cannot even begin to describe the working conditions. They are the worst, branches are short staffed, good people being let go left and right and just nasty, very nasty upper management. Not sure why they have Area Retail Leaders either, because I wonder what it is that they do, other than to buddy up to their leader. Senior Management is the worst, no support and don't lead with integrity but lead by fear! ... Everyone walks on egg shells, not knowing who will be fired next.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any, as someone already said you have all the answers. But, be careful how you treat people, you all need to take a class.

    Opus Bank2017-03-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Accountant in Irvine, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    worst place to work for. The SVP and VP controller know nothing about the accounting.

    Cons

    The SVP controller is very dump and discrimination.

    Advice to Management

    The bank is going down. OPUS BANK = TITANIC

    Opus Bank2017-03-04
  9. "opus cm managing director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place for good sales people

    Cons

    High sales goals, highe pressure

    Opus Bank2017-02-26
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Worst. Place. Ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with some truly smart and committed people.

    Cons

    Everything starts and stops at the top. Senior management doesn't care about any of the employees...just whether or not sales goals are being fulfilled so that they can get their bonuses and make them look good. Turnover is high. HR exists just to fire people. Favoritism is rampant.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing that they would listen to, because they already have all the answers.

    Opus Bank2017-02-21
Found 107 reviews