Opus Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Opus Bank CEO Paul Taylor (no image)
Paul Taylor
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Worst. Place. Ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with some truly smart and committed people.

    Cons

    Everything starts and stops at the top. Senior management doesn't care about any of the employees...just whether or not sales goals are being fulfilled so that they can get their bonuses and make them look good. Turnover is high. HR exists just to fire people. Favoritism is rampant.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing that they would listen to, because they already have all the answers.

    Opus Bank2017-02-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I worked at Opus Bank full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    compensation, some very good individuals to learn from

    Cons

    volatile management - high turnover - average employee stays less than a year

    Opus Bank2017-02-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "My worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    compensation, compensation, compensation, and compensation

    Cons

    horrible work environment, treat employees badly, incompetent management

    Advice to Management

    you are not running an investment bank

    Opus Bank2017-02-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "total joke of a bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEO SEEMS to know what he's doing, but does not treat people like people.

    Cons

    100 sales calls a day?? really? no support whatsoever.

    Opus Bank2017-01-07
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Credit Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst I in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay. There were great people in other departments I wish I couldve learned from. There were some experienced bankers who knew their stuff.

    Cons

    Micromanager and inefficient process in my department led to high turnover. I didnt like the culture. I'm glad I'm gone. Expensive insurance. No paid volunteer hours even though they stress community involvement. A lot more, but don't want to waste any more time talking about this company.

    Advice to Management

    Don't try to grow too fast without showing your team members some appreciation from time to time. Especially in the credit analysis department. They have to deal with a lot.

    Opus Bank2017-01-06
  6. "Opus Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Service Representative in Long Beach, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    Small work teams to get things done.

    Cons

    Career growth is very slow.

    Opus Bank2016-12-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Hard work pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Relationship Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some reviews on here just sound like some unhappy employees but no matter where you go, there will always be pros and cons. It is what you put into it, it is your attitude and how you make things happen for yourself. I love working here. I love my coworkers and the management is super supportive. The internal Support team (IT, helpdesk, systems, operations, and especially our risk analysts) are on top of things... and always there for you. The incentive plan is decent, the pay is good, the benefits are good, and the new direction Opus is taking with their new verticals gives us a great focus. My area manager calls or comes by every single day to help support us in any way he can and I never feel like I'm on my own. Some people need to be more thankful instead of always looking at the negative.

    Show More

    Cons

    Could extend the small business division again and offer the smaller loans since we are helping businesses "build their masterpiece", we should help them from the ground up not just once they start expanding. The teller and banker system is a bit slow and could use an upgrade but it's not terrible.

    Advice to Management

    I have noticed that the upper management is really becoming a huge support system. They want to see us all succeed as much as we want to succeed, so thank you. Match more on 401k than 1%.

    Opus Bank2016-10-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Opus Bank

    Pros

    There really is not a good reason. You could they give with no ability or authority to do the job.

    Cons

    Overwork people-low staff model. Do not provide tools to do the job.

    Opus Bank2016-10-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Always scared running here and volitile mgmt. on all levels."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Opus Bank

    Pros

    There's nothing I can say here except that they pay well. But pay isn't stopping me from keeping my eyes open for something more stable as soon as it opens up. I have a mortgage and family to think about plus and a kid about to go to college. And I always fear I'm on the chopping block.

    Cons

    Their business lending programs are terrible and the teller line computers always go down and the account opening process takes over an hour for a basic account.....more if doesn't go down too and lose the hour of work you just did.... Lack of staffing. Unreasonable goals in relation to skinny staffing. We just can't get out and our business clients are busy and need us to come to them. Not come to us in the center... only because we do not have enough coverage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More honest communication. Always feels like so many secrets are brewing in HQ.

    Opus Bank2016-10-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Opus bank working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank

    Pros

    Open communication, you get a chance to work with driven individuals at a high performance atmosphere

    Cons

    Human resources department processes stuffs very slow

    Opus Bank2016-09-30
Found 108 reviews