Opus Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus Bank Reviews

Updated 7 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Opus Bank CEO Paul Taylor
Paul Taylor
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Always scared running here and volitile mgmt. on all levels."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Opus Bank

    Pros

    There's nothing I can say here except that they pay well. But pay isn't stopping me from keeping my eyes open for something more stable as soon as it opens up. I have a mortgage and family to think about plus and a kid about to go to college. And I always fear I'm on the chopping block.

    Cons

    Their business lending programs are terrible and the teller line computers always go down and the account opening process takes over an hour for a basic account.....more if doesn't go down too and lose the hour of work you just did.... Lack of staffing. Unreasonable goals in relation to skinny staffing. We just can't get out and our business clients are busy and need us to come to them. Not come to us in the center only because we do not have enough coverage.

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-10-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Opus bank working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank

    Pros

    Open communication, you get a chance to work with driven individuals at a high performance atmosphere

    Cons

    Human resources department processes stuffs very slow

    Opus Bank2016-09-30
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Banking Center Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Banking Center Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a place where if you work hard, embrace the culture and get over your own concept of what traditional banking should be you will love it. The people that do not like working here are those that refuse to adapt or accept that the banking industry is changing. Pay is excellent and promotional opportunities present often for those who earn them! Traditional tellers should stay away. If you can't or don't want to sell please go to a 'competitor'. We have all worked too hard to bring people on who cannot or will not work to embrace the culture. Work and be rewarded. I've been promoted twice. The head of retail called me on a Sunday to thank me for my contribution and award me a sizable raise. The retail bank is evolving into something great. It's just not what you're used to.

    Cons

    The computer system isn't great. We need better training. Communication could improve. Everyone needs to understand why we do what we do.

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-09-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSM in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank

    Pros

    Salary was competitive. I liked my coworker.

    Cons

    We had to skip lunches and breaks about 50% of the time because we were so understaffed. Only 2 to 3 people work in each branch which just doesn't work. This also creates security issues, risk for robbery is increased, among other risks. Notified that incentive plan had changed the day we were supposed to get paid. The CEO simply had a fit and said no one who didn't book a certain type of loan would get paid. New hires are simply not told the truth about float staff and incentive. 401k matching is only 1%, which is way below the industry standard.

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-09-15
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Run very fast from this horrible place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CEP 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were none. I don't have any. I just have to reach the 20 word minimum.

    Cons

    Another reviewer said it best, RUN! As fast as you can away from this joke of a "bank". You will work for a bunch of egotistical, uneducated, disrespectful and heartless people. I'm mainly referring to Senior Management who berate, belittle and cheat the staff on a daily basis. While I was there, bonuses were cut THE DAY BEFORE payouts with a conference call giving us some lame excuse as to why we weren't getting paid. This happened more than once. So much gossip with a 'high school clique' type of environment with management. If you're not on the A Team, watch out. The entire bank is run with the cheapest system they could find, with computers constantly crashing while the staff tries to explain to clients why they can't have a receipt. Online banking is an absolute joke too. Clients complain all the time, but we can't do anything. Back office is hidden like the secret service, and bite your head off if your ask for help. Policy and procedure changes HOURLY and you should refer to your emails for the most recent update. Controls are so lax I'm sure there's lawsuits waiting to happen, if they haven't already.

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-09-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Opus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sharepoint Developer in Everett, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Opus Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, great place to work

    Cons

    Really had no Cons as everyone was nice to work for and worked with you in emergency to give you time off

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-08-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not anything but a bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Opus Bank for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Windows. Chairs, desk. Computer, coffee

    Cons

    Not an investment bank , know the difference between interment banking and a bank

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-07-31
  8. "Rockstar ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    entrepenerial, fast moving, exciting an driven

    Cons

    fast moving, fast growing, test of endurance...

    Opus Bank2016-07-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opus Bank has one of the most entrepreneurial mindsets of any company I've ever worked with. Everyone here has the opportunity to shine if they're willing to put in the effort and take it.

    Cons

    Opus has a very fast-paced environment, and a lot is expected of every team member. This is not the type of company where you can expect to come in and just punch a clock every day and get paid.

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-06-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    Pay is ok and the staff is welcoming and hard worker. I worked near my home so that was convenient for me and the systems were better than I was used to. The offices weren't open on Saturdays.

    Cons

    The training was horrible NONE. The back office personnel were not helpful. Over worked no work life balance. All the clients were accustomed to the things they were doing before which made it difficult.

    Continue reading
    Opus Bank2016-06-29
Found 110 reviews