Opus Bank Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus Bank Vice President Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Paul Taylor
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opus Bank has one of the most entrepreneurial mindsets of any company I've ever worked with. Everyone here has the opportunity to shine if they're willing to put in the effort and take it.

    Cons

    Opus has a very fast-paced environment, and a lot is expected of every team member. This is not the type of company where you can expect to come in and just punch a clock every day and get paid.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build on the growth opportunities seized, but never forget to keep the hearts of every team member central to decisions. Solicit input and feedback from all areas of the organization to keep team members actively involved in processes.

    Opus Bank2016-06-29
  2. "Mismanaged from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smaller environment, greater ability to make an impact

    Cons

    Complete and total incompetence at the top puts the entire bank at risk. Many examples abound unfortunately. The former CFO might as well not have shown up to work; she simply got the title for knowing the people (or person, rather). This was a C-suite executive. Lenders/underwriting experts weren't up to snuff; massive credit losses in 2016. High turnover, at least among those who are smart and have options...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No advice for management, my advice is for the Board: you have a responsibility. Good work on replacing CEO and CFO. There is more to do.

    Opus Bank2019-06-22

    Opus Bank Response

    June 26, 2019EVP, CHRO

    Dear former SVP, Thank you for your service to Opus Bank. Opus has been through a lot of change over the past 18 months, especially at the executive level. During that time, we have on-boarded a new CFO, CHRO, and CEO, and our new General Counsel started this week. It’s ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bank with solutions based approach."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opus is a relative new bank that is niched itself with great mid market products and strategies for its clients. It has had phenomenal growth and been also to withstand market headwinds. The people that reinforce the bank stand shoulder to shoulder in working collaboratively, to take initiative, and focus on results/mission accomplishment

    Cons

    The bank is scaling and moving away from start up to stabilization, so change leadership and management is a constant. It's nimble/flat organizations shift with market, so it can feel turbulent at times.

    Advice to Management

    A continued focus on taking advantages of market dislocations and keep implementing strategies that emerge from think tanks, town halls, and idea incubators.

    Opus Bank2019-04-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "total joke of a bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEO SEEMS to know what he's doing, but does not treat people like people.

    Cons

    100 sales calls a day?? really? no support whatsoever.

    Opus Bank2017-01-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Retail Banking Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus Bank

    Pros

    Freedom to think for yourself, ability to grow based on performance, encouraged to be creative, direct line to upper management. Opus Bank is growing so there will be much more opportunities for advancement in the future. The back office departments which support the branch are responsive and you do not have to go through a script with someone on the phone to solve a problem with you. Very excited for the future growth...

    Show More

    Cons

    Finding the right staff and retaining them has been a challenge. Very little name brand recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reward and grow your sales force. Keep creating and improving on our products and processes.

    Opus Bank2016-05-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Opus Bank full-time

    Pros

    This is a fast paced environment with considerable opportunity for advancement. The leadership team is open to new ideas and better ways of doing business. I would highly recommend looking at Opus bank if you are in the market.

    Cons

    Opus is only in 4 states currently and I would like to see them grow to a lager footprint. I think the pay is competitive, but would like to see a more robust retirement plan.

    Opus Bank2016-04-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Retail Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in La Habra Heights, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus Bank for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wide service area. Good products.

    Cons

    Good old boys club. Name is too awkward.

    Advice to Management

    Diversify your teams.

    Opus Bank2016-04-01
Found 7 reviews