Opus CMC Reviews | Glassdoor

Opus CMC Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Jennifer LaBud
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Capability to work from home so you can job hunt while the company servers are down, again(in 8 reviews)

  • "Friendly working environment, flexible work schedule, you have the potential to work from home(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of work during slow times, layoffs, no benefits(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Flower Mound, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opus CMC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work, good learning environment, very adaptable company.

    Cons

    Very prone to business cycles.

    Opus CMC2016-03-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Escape the normal routine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Opus CMC full-time

    Pros

    I have been at Opus for a few years and what I appreciate most are the flexible work hours, the ability to work from home, and comparatively low stress in relation to other mortgage operations jobs. I feel that management and peers alike are supportive and helpful.

    Cons

    Opus is not without challenges like most companies. There are strides to be made with technology, outsourcing, and increasing overall growth opportunities. I do feel, however, that management is making every effort to improve what they can.

    Opus CMC2019-03-20
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Run like a foreign outsource company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Underwriter in Lincolnshire, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus CMC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company will hire anyone that can spell "mortgage." No one gets fired for being incompetent. Capability to work from home so you can job hunt while the company servers are down, again.

    Cons

    Very expensive health insurance, No merit raises for 3 years running. Frequent work stoppages. Management that treats employees like disposable utensils. Rock-bottom morale. Laughably impossible production expectations. Bad company reputation sticks to employees making it hard to work elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    My 7 years of loyalty were tossed away like old socks. The closure of 2 offices and the down-sizing of a 3rd in the last 3 years sent a message that you missed. The foreign outsourcing company that bought Opus CMC 4 years ago must be wondering what they paid for? Staff cheered the departure of the original owners, but the lack of respect for the underwriters that made you rich speaks volumes. You ask for employee...

    Show More
    Opus CMC2019-03-10
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not the best place I ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opus CMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule and work from home

    Cons

    terrible management - most were genuine jerks.

    Opus CMC2018-10-06
  5. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus CMC for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with the people there.

    Cons

    The benefits could be better and more advanced notice on layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employee's needs.

    Opus CMC2018-08-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Remote, OR
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Opus CMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, casual atmosphere. If you know what you are doing you are able to work without many interruptions.

    Cons

    The company is very cyclical with business, with frequent temporary layoffs. Communication from management is poor especially during layoffs.

    Opus CMC2018-04-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Stay as far away as possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Underwriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opus CMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I could honestly say there’s absolutely no pros Working for this company. They never have work, and they put their employees on call every other month. Management never gets back to you. And the pay isn’t that good compared to other underwriting jobs.

    Cons

    The pay sucks, there’s hardly any work. Always on call. No communication from upper management. When they put you on call they don’t offer you any type of assistance, and if they let you go from being on call for over 30 days there is no severance package. They use and abuse their employees. When they have work they want you to work all this extra overtime however the other amount of time spent at home not working

    Advice to Management

    Stop messing with peoples livelihood. Stop having favorites. Maybe an entire overhaul of the upper management staff is necessary. This company is run by the most incompetent people ever!

    Opus CMC2018-02-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brookfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opus CMC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, flexible hours, location is great lots of places for lunch.

    Cons

    Poor pay, no benefits, no advancement,

    Advice to Management

    Close up shop

    Opus CMC2017-10-08
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Wouldn't do it again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Analyst in Brookfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Opus CMC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, good work atmosphere,

    Cons

    Lack of work during slow times, layoffs, no benefits

    Advice to Management

    Treat your top end employees better

    Opus CMC2017-06-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "My opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Opus CMC full-time

    Pros

    Laid back company, employee friendly

    Cons

    Should listen to seasoned employees more about major changes

    Opus CMC2017-02-13
Found 68 reviews