Orange County Sheriff - Florida Reviews | Glassdoor

Orange County Sheriff - Florida Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Orange County Sheriff - Florida CEO Jerry L Demings
Jerry L Demings
2 Ratings
  1. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fiscal Payroll Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love my job and helping others. Good supervisors and staff

    Cons

    Most benefits are good

    Orange County Sheriff - Florida2019-06-02
  2. "911 Dispatcher & Call Taker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 911 Dispatcher in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, PTO & Vacation accrual, medical

    Cons

    I have so many negative things to say about this agency in the communications center. The supervisors have absolutely no idea what they’re doing, like no idea whatsoever. Getting a day off is literally something you can dream of and even on your regular days off they mandate overtime to you even when you have plans or family you have to take care of. They claim to care so much about their employees but they don’t. In...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people, treat them better than you do and maybe they’ll stay and create a career at the agency, investigate your supervisors, work on a better system than bullying your employees into picking up overtime or mandating it when they’ve already told you they have prior plans or have something going on on their DAY OFF. Burnt out is a medical diagnosis now and I can say without a doubt this agency WILL burn you out.

    Orange County Sheriff - Florida2019-06-03
  3. "Shouldnt be like this."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time

    Pros

    Pay - Good pay to live on but see below in cons. Off Duty / Special Detail

    Cons

    Pay - Not enough for what we do. Politics

    Advice to Management

    Lots of politics going on. Lots of favoritism and nepotism. Can be a very uncomfortable enviornment if you don't get along with the right people..

    Orange County Sheriff - Florida2018-12-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible. Run and don’t look back."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are no pros that I can think of. I would suggest looking somewhere else. There is no potential to advance.

    Cons

    The management is horrible. Troop morale is low. Troops are treated as a number and are not appreciated or evaluated based on their job skills. The agency implements quotas and then turns around and calls the quotas job performance requirements. The agency will not back you and will leave you hanging. Deputies are written up for everything. The pay is one of lowest in the nation.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop promoting young Deputies to Corporal an Sergeant positions when they have no life experience, no job skills and no experience as a leader. Just because you pass a test does not make you a leader. I horrifying to watch.

    Orange County Sheriff - Florida2018-03-18
  5. "Deputy Sheriff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time

    Pros

    Florida Retirement System. Many resources and ability to transfer and promote.

    Cons

    Assignments to air wing not based on education, experience or training. We have several pilots including myself with airline, military, ERAU grads, etc working in patrol while others with no aviation background, are minimally trained to VFR standards flying for the unit. Selection to unit is referral and relationship based.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Orange County Sheriff - Florida2017-12-14
  6. "If you ain's sworn, you ain't born mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security, decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    I'm my particular area.....if your office has a window in it, I don't believe much of what you say. Civilians are treated differently than the Sworn... Not much faith in the big Cheese to have your back.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what your employees say. If asked a question answer it honestly or just say I'm not a liberty to say. Don't lie. Give your employees a pat on the back once in a while.

    Orange County Sheriff - Florida2017-12-13
  7. "Detective Corporal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Detective Corporal in Orlando, FL

      I have been working at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great place to work with a lot of ability to mover around within various units and divisions...

      Cons

      It can be a little too political at times...

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees like your equals..

      Orange County Sheriff - Florida2017-11-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good place....good money"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time

      Pros

      Good salary, unlimited potential to transfer to other opportunities

      Cons

      Shift work, holiday work, dangerous work

      Advice to Management

      More communication with the troops - it doesn't flow down very well

      Orange County Sheriff - Florida2017-10-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "GREAT AGENCY"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - 911 Operator in Orlando, FL
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      There are great benefits, good overtime hrs available, and a 2000 sign on bonus.

      Cons

      Keep to yourself and you will succeed. This is a tip I am providing, follow that and there will be no cons

      Orange County Sheriff - Florida2017-09-27
    • "Civilian"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Orange County Sheriff - Florida full-time

      Pros

      Great family environment. Good benefits.

      Cons

      Low morale due to being under market value for ALL positions.

      Advice to Management

      Work on employee retention and not just recruitment.

      Orange County Sheriff - Florida2017-09-04
    Found 25 reviews