Orange County Water District Reviews | Glassdoor

Orange County Water District Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Orange County Water District

    Pros

    The best working environment one could ever ask for. Everyone is so friendly and willing to help you out!

    Cons

    There are no cons so far

    Orange County Water District2017-01-04
  2. "Finance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Orange County Water District

    Pros

    -Managers and employees are super friendly -Workload is moderate -Independent

    Cons

    -pay isn’t as high for the amount of work they have you do (lowest compared to other interns in other departments) -no ability to advance/secure a full time position

    Orange County Water District2018-08-06
  3. "Enjoyed a summer as an intern doing field work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Natural Resource in Anaheim, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Orange County Water District for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very friendly and my team was very collaborative and communicative in our weekly and daily goals.

    Cons

    Most of what I would list here is in Advice to Management.

    Advice to Management

    The institution as a whole could use a more progressive outlook on the future of commercial and residential water use in Orange County. People biking along the Santa Ana River Trail should have clear signage that this is one main source of their drinking water and knowledge such as this can really help reduce unnecessary water use on behalf of residents.

    Orange County Water District2017-09-18
  4. "GIS Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Orange County Water District

    Pros

    You will get a descent amount of GIS experience and exposure to working at a public agency and a typical office environment; hours are very flexible; staff are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Hours maxed out at 25 hours per week; position can only last up until 6 months after you graduate; little to no opportunity to stay on full-time; pay is kind of low compared to other agencies that offer similar work; some moderately strenuous field work was involved assisting hydrogeology interns in taking water level measurements

    Orange County Water District2017-05-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research and Development Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Orange County Water District

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere. I learned a lot about water treatment technologies and processes.

    Cons

    Not many available positions

    Orange County Water District2016-06-23
  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Orange County Water District

    Pros

    - Great pay and benefits - Challenging work - Welcoming corporate culture

    Cons

    - slow pace of work for early career

    Orange County Water District2016-02-24
  7. "GIS Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    GIS Intern in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orange County Water District

    Pros

    Working for a public agency that controls, monitors, and maintains OC's groundwater basin was one of the most amazing learning experiences I've had (I have four degrees, recently a MA in Geography). Typical working environment you find in a public agency.

    Cons

    Limited hours to max 25 hours per week.

    Orange County Water District2015-09-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Easy Job requirements, Supervisors are promoted based on tenure not expertise. This leads to Incompetent management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Fountain Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Orange County Water District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work schedule and low stress work.

    Cons

    Government bureaucracy leads to low morale and non work related stress.

    Orange County Water District2014-07-09
Found 8 reviews