KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Orangetheory Fitness

Engaged Employer

Orangetheory Fitness

Add a Review

Orangetheory Fitness Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,166 of over 2,200 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Orangetheory Fitness CEO Dave Long  (no image)
Dave Long
729 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great community, flexible hours, and free workouts(in 198 reviews)

  • "The free membership is cool and staff is nice(in 191 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They offer no benefits even full time(in 78 reviews)

  • "limited growth opportunity, low pay, bad hours, grind(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Orangetheory Fitness and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Amazing job and amazing people to work with!

      Aug 30, 2021 - Sales Associate in Gainesville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, understanding of time off requests, amazing workout(get free workouts when you work there), and super awesome clients

      Cons

      hours can be a little random at times, but only when we have people take time off so we have to work a little extra those weeks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      High Energy/Fun

      Oct 18, 2021 - Studio Manager in Saint Charles, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, high energy, fun team.

      Cons

      Slow business during pandemic, otherwise great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great brand and a fun place to work.

      Aug 27, 2021 - Fitness Coach in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to connect with a lot of great people. The pay per session is decent, especially since you’re not responsible for program design. Coaching is fun. You have the opportunity to impact the lives of others.

      Cons

      Not a lot of room for growth. Some of this depends on the franchise ownership group. The group I worked for only pays for the people that SHOW, not those who signed up. This can be very frustrating as it’s out of your control and can really take a good chunk of change out of your check. Tenure isn’t rewarded. I coached over 3k classes and a brand new coach can come in and make the same amount. Again- this will vary with different ownership groups.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      How well your taken care of depends on franchise owner..

      Sep 23, 2021 - Coach in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free workouts -Members are usually amazing -Can be fulfilling to see people hit new goals

      Cons

      I worked for a studio under Austin Fitness Group in Austin, Texas. It was truly awful. The members and community are great, but the region itself operates like a high school cafeteria. I felt bullied on numerous occasions, upper management is super unprofessional, my boss had no care in the world for a consistent schedule, and I left feeling drained and disdain for OTF. I was sad to end up in a studio/region that burns their employees out instead of focusing on employee wellness because the workout is truly amazing and I've met some amazing members along the way. I wish things had panned out different, but please beware of working for AFG..

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great first sales job, underpaid.

      Oct 15, 2021 - Sales Associate in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      OTF is a franchise, so they give every studio everything that they need to effectively train sales associates. Even if you have no sales experience, you will be able to get comfortable in this role.

      Cons

      I didn't get paid enough for the amount of work you're expected to do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Job that Doesn't Feel Like a Job

      Sep 1, 2021 - Coach in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for Orangetheory (specifically, studios in Colorado) has been an absolute joy. I have been a Sales Associate, a Coach, a Studio Manager, and a Head Coach for Orangetheory and have loved getting to experience all of the different facets of the studio. I know that employee experience is highly dependent on the franchise owners, but the owners at the CO Highlands, Sloan's Lake, and Union Station studios in Denver have taken great care of me and the other employees. I feel appreciated, my employers respect me and compensate me well for the work that I do, and generally speaking, it feels like I get to throw a (workout) party for our members every single day!

      Cons

      401K/Health Insurance isn't a guarantee at each franchise. I had it with previous owners, but don't with current owners, so that has been a little bit tricky. As a fitness trainer, working full time as a Coach can also be exhausting, which would be the case anywhere where you coach 10-20 classes/hours per week.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Found Passion and then lost it

      Oct 11, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I believe in the workout I believe in the company I love who I work with & for

      Cons

      I just lost passion for the job and do not feel excited/happy to come to work anymore

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Grind

      Oct 14, 2021 - Coach 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get paid well as a trainer, with a sliding scale.

      Cons

      It is a grind. I would often loose my voice and developed nodules.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best gym

      Oct 14, 2021 - Coach in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heart rate based, amazing group energy and community!

      Cons

      Not much to say here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      I worked there

      Oct 14, 2021 - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free to attend classes during work hours

      Cons

      hostility between sales and trainers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,166 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Orangetheory Fitness Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Orangetheory Fitness? Share Your Experiences

    or