Orbis Education Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Orbis Education Chief Executive Officer Steve Hodownes
Steve Hodownes
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is a growing company, and there are several opportunities for growth(in 8 reviews)

  • "I am a recent hire with Orbis Education and currently finishing my first month with the company(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "It’s and okay place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, free snacks, good leaderships

    Cons

    Low pay, sitting at a desk all day

    Continue reading
    Orbis Education2019-08-02
  2. "BEWARE"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Free snacks were available the first month at my site... but never restocked. -Working with students is the best part of the position.

    Cons

    poor management no communication little pay for long, long, long hours. This is a SALES position! NOT your typical admissions advisor role. You deserve to work somewhere that respects its employees and values you. Beware!

    Continue reading
    Orbis Education2020-06-03
  3. "Where do I start?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    snacks, tuition reimbursement, that’s about it

    Cons

    Constant process change with no direction. Sketchy management with little to no direction given and high quotas to meet. Expect to work days nights and weekends and expect little to no pay or acknowledgement. Or do yourself a favor and save yourself the headache and find a real company.

    Continue reading
    Orbis Education2020-05-21
  4. "Decent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Success Coach in Carmel, IN

    I have been working at Orbis Education full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful office space, decent pay

    Cons

    Limited chances to progress, not particularly LGBTQ friendly

    Orbis Education2020-02-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Culture/Environment is Awful"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbis Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provide free snacks Make great friends (not in leadership)

    Cons

    Orbis Education has been taken over by GCE - which has made A LOT of changes. These changes have caused leadership to check your numbers/quota on a daily basis and micro-manage everything you do weekly. You will be required to make a certain percentage of dials and talk-time everyday. You will also have goals to meet each quarter or each 'start' and at first they are realistic, then they become a little harder to reach. There are good partners and bad ones, really just depends on the luck of the draw on which one you get put in. Leadership only cares about themselves while promoting a great culture/environment. Product and Marketing at Orbis are actually good areas to work in if you can on board with them! I would stay far away from Admissions. They have the highest rate of turnover I have seen in a long time and I was there for almost 3 years.

    Continue reading
    Orbis Education2020-02-05
  6. "Decent company overall, wonderful individual supervisors"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Specialist in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the Denver office with one of the partnerships there. The work environment was very solid, great people and the manager who oversees the office is great. My specific team was amazing and my supervisor would do anything for me or my teammates. Very rewarding to see a student succeed that I worked with.

    Cons

    The work itself was very repetitive and annoying to have to constantly ask people the same questions over and over again. Very corporate in terms of policies, how to speak to people over the phone, etc. Quality assurance team would nit-pick all of our conversations and give unnecessary advice just to please their managers. Rather boring job overall

    Continue reading
    Orbis Education2019-08-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ridiculous"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with students, lunch break and going home

    Cons

    Management expects way too much and sets unrealistic expectations to meet deadlines, very unprofessional work environment. As as an Admissions Coordinator you will be expected to go above and beyond to meet your duties which includes cleaning up after people. You will also be interrupted which allows you not to finish your work in a timely manner. You will not get the days you want off especially at the front desk as you have to work around other people's schedule. Overall don't waste your time here.

    Continue reading
    Orbis Education2019-08-24
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, flexible hours

    Cons

    Unsure of the changes that might occur after being bought by gce

    Orbis Education2019-07-17
  9. "Meh!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New tuition benefit for full-time employees

    Cons

    Management is hit or miss

    Orbis Education2019-07-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Keep looking. This is not the place you want to work."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orbis Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, clear expectations, casual attire is allowed

    Cons

    Micromanaging environment that offers no actual support. Clear but unrealistic expectations. Demeaning managers who also have no support. Everything about Orbis is the numbers. The people who actually cared all left or want to.

    Continue reading
    Orbis Education2019-07-20
Found 59 reviews