Orbit Media Studios Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Incredibly skilled humans who love what they do and do great work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Orbit Media Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Orbit as a company does feel like a family—they work hard and play hard too. Folks at Orbit desire to do really good work that lives up to the reputation of the Orbit name and it shows. Strategists, project managers, developers and designers all work together in pursuing creative and intuitive solutions that are aimed at increasing conversion and engagement. Andy Crestodina and Amanda Gant are true marketers at the top of their game and show no signs of stopping—their insight into conversion-centric web design is second to none. The culture is inviting, yet professional. It is also very accommodating to families, reasonably flexible with scheduling, just as long as the work gets done. Management is very transparent, providing a bi-annual "State of the Orbit", sharing how the company is doing financially, gains, areas of improvement,, welcoming new hires, and team-building. They also take time to celebrate selected work, talking about process and sharing the ups and downs of any given project. Make no mistake—these folks work their tails off to provide deliverables that clients are satisfied with and proud to show off. They just have fun while doing it.

    Cons

    There are some cases where the load will be a little too full, which can lead to tight and stressful deadlines. There's also the occasional case of miscommunication. This can lead to some folks sweeping issues and hard conversations under the rug. At the end of the day though, Orbit is a fairly non-toxic work environment, which unfortunately, is a rare thing.

    Continue reading
    Orbit Media Studios2020-01-23
  2. "One of the best Web Design & Content Creation Agencies in the country, let alone Chicago."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Orbit Media Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great place to work. I have been around the block to a few agencies between Downtown and the West Loop. Nothing beats the location on the Northside, and not having to commute downtown everyday. It is located close to Brown Line Irving Park stop, Ravenswood Metra stop, and parking is available for employees that prefer to drive. Everyone that is hired at Orbit is well vetted, not just to make sure you're talented enough to work here, but also just ensuring you'd jive with the team, and most importantly just a good human in general. Lots of perks of working at Orbit, professional environment (but also casual as well), amazing coworkers, flexible time when needed, and a management that really cares. Plus there is a loaded beer fridge stocked with amazing local, national, international brews to enjoy! Th company also takes pride in doing little get togethers after work to bond with coworkers and make friends outside of the office which really helps build a great team. I personally am super happy I ended up at Orbit, I highly recommend applying if you're interested in an open position.

    Cons

    Not much to say here, other than it's still a job at the end of the day. This is a service industry job, so always having to deal with new/different clients can be frustrating at times, but also rewarding too. Projects and deadlines can get crazy at times, but management always tries to help do what they can to not overload any one individual. Overall, if you do your job like a true professional, there isn't any negatives.

    Continue reading
    Orbit Media Studios2020-01-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Web Design"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orbit Media Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Orbit is a great place to work! Management does a great job hiring intelligent, hard-working, and overall great humans. The company prides itself on work/life balance and building a supportive and fun culture. It's a very process-driven company which enables the team to handle the large number of web projects that come through the doors. Very easy to ask questions and learn from fellow teammates.

    Cons

    Smaller company so not as much room for growth... but the small company vibe could certainly be viewed as a good thing too.

    Continue reading
    Orbit Media Studios2018-09-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orbit Media Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The teams are awesome: Top notch devs; Designers push limits; Management is fair and understanding. It feels like a family. The work is challenging and stays at a manageable pace.

    Cons

    Primarily Wordpress sites. So you may not get to play with the latest JS framework

    Continue reading
    Orbit Media Studios2018-01-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to be and a great team to be here with!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Orbit Media Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can easily, and confidently say this is the best organization I've worked for and was certainly the best career choice I ever made for myself in joining this team. The atmosphere is electric, the people are great at what they each do, and the approach that we take to our work is ever-evolving! Pros: - Management of this company is top-notch. Two partners who are at the top of their games when it comes to what we do and the foresight to hire a CEO who knows how to make the right decisions for a company. - Great team assemblies for the various projects we take on. Great to be able to work with so many different designers and devs. - Great processes in place to help write the path to project success for each phase and team member of the project. - I'm able to speak freely to any and all management here about anything, from project concerns to personal needs and requests. No barriers! - They respect the line between work and family. Get the work done at work, no need to bring it home to take away time from the fam! - We create a great energy for visiting clients so that our presentations and conversations are positive and progressive. Creates a great vibe for our clients as well! - Orbit has a good number of tools here that, from a PM perspective, gives us what we need to run a project efficiently with the ability to keep a finger on the pulse of everything going on with it. - You don't need to know everything about everything here. You just need the ability to ask for help. Someone in this office knows what you need and the answers are always available. This team can knock down anything. - Orbit allows me to make the decisions I feel are right for the project, the team, and the clients. And in nearly all of these decisions, Orbit's there to back me with what I need. - The activities, both in the workplace and after work (if you so choose), are fun, genuine, and just bring us all a little closer. It just makes this place feel like a family, which is an important aspect for me.

    Cons

    - We are going through some various process enhancements/adjustments. So there are some growing pains with accommodating new processes while continuing to manage our projects, but we're changing as we learn more and adapting to the needs of our clients. So this would be typical. This should be expected as, internally, we're always trying to make our processes and deliverables better for our teams and clients. - Things here can move fast! This isn't necessarily a con, depending on who you are, but it should be an expectation you have when joining the team. - The beer fridge. It's really terrible having a beer fridge here. Having a cold one ready for you at 5pm after a hectic day...I tell you, it's the worst.

    Continue reading
    Orbit Media Studios2017-08-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead Web Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orbit Media Studios for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Challenging work with a lot of local Chicago companies. - Fun team environment. - Great collaboration. - People truly care about what they are making and results. - No big egos getting in the way of progress. - Creative freedom and leadership in my role. - Lots of social gatherings to hang with co-workers. - Respectful and encouraging management. - Excellent work life balance - coming from someone with kids! - Opportunities for training and conferences each year. - Growth is possible your role despite earlier reviews of it not being a long term solution. Its a small company, so teams are smaller, but you can still grow as an individual and take on new, exciting opportunities if you are willing to put forth the effort.

    Cons

    - You need to be a bit assertive, yet humble and confident to be a leader in this environment. No wimps allowed. - Some short deadlines, but doable. - Tedious time tracking, though it is helpful to the management of projects and future strategy. - Must be a good speaker and have the ability to discuss challenging topics with mid to large size groups (may be a con for some)

    Orbit Media Studios2017-04-11
  7. "Great Culture, Cool Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Orbit Media Studios full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, family focused, work life balance is a priority, work with well known Chicago brands, very transparent about company health and growth, smart people with a passion for digital work, your voice matters, overall just a great place to come in each day.

    Cons

    Can't think of any, had a great time working there, learned a lot about UX, Design and business strategies.

    Continue reading
    Orbit Media Studios2017-04-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to learn; not a long term solution"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orbit Media Studios full-time

    Pros

    - Friendly, family-oriented group of people - Comfortable, quiet office - Good place to get your feet wet - the work is just challenging enough. - Usually have a paid holiday shutdown between Christmas and New Years.

    Cons

    - It was hard to sometimes figure out who was in charge. Made it very confusing. - People were helpful, but did not always have the ability to support if you were struggling due to their own workload. - Found after the fact that the pay is below industry average for the position/area.

    Continue reading
    Orbit Media Studios2017-04-06
  9. "Like family"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orbit Media Studios full-time

    Pros

    Some of the most caring, compassionate, creative and wonderful people to work with!

    Cons

    It was hard to leave work at work, which was stressful.

    Orbit Media Studios2017-01-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews