Orbitz Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor

Orbitz Worldwide Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Orbitz Worldwide Vice President and General Manager - Orbitz and CheapTickets Hari Nair
Hari Nair
17 Ratings
  1. "Awesome workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orbitz Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, freedom to take innovative projects. Be curious and learn all you can.

    Cons

    Nothing really, great place to work.

    Orbitz Worldwide2019-06-13
  2. "OK - but it's changed a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide

    Pros

    I worked in operations, and it was an incredibly target-rich environment with lots of problems to solve.

    Cons

    Lack of good leadership resulted in strategic priorities getting ignored in favor of tactical fire-fighting. Luckily, lots has changed since they were bought by Expedia, so it's possible things are a lot better... they are at least different.

    Orbitz Worldwide2019-01-11
  3. "Great Culture, formerly bad structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture, smart coworkers, nice perks.

    Cons

    Prior to Expedia acquisition the company's ownership structure was a challenge.

    Orbitz Worldwide2018-11-03
  4. "Its Was amazing to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice staff and Agents, they care about their employees

    Cons

    Be prepared for new and sudden changes

    Advice to Management

    i am nobody to advice

    Orbitz Worldwide2018-06-01
  5. "IT Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Somewhat positive environment, excellent perks/benefits.

    Cons

    Lacking with bonuses and raises. Sometimes promotions are given to those that do not have the proper skill set or experience for their current position. Promotions are sometimes given with no pay raise, just a different title and additional responsibilities.

    Orbitz Worldwide2018-04-03
  6. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong Technical people working on cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Advice to Management

    None

    Orbitz Worldwide2017-11-10
  7. "Mess of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    dot-com atmosphere with good location

    Cons

    no clear direction for growth, sleazy practices with fees

    Orbitz Worldwide2017-11-09
  8. "Great company, Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Always working on the leading edge in tech, analytics, marketing, etc.

    Cons

    Chicago went from being the heart of the company to a satellite office as part of Expedia. Expedia is a good company, but the pulse of the office changed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating at the brand level

    Orbitz Worldwide2017-08-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great in the beginning, drastic changes post acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OWW before the acquisition was a fantastic place to work in Chicago Fun, excellent work life balance, good work, intellectually smart co-workers and co-operative team members Post acquisition by Expedia, pros were new challenging opportunities, great perks,

    Cons

    Some issues prior to acquisition owing to information silos and lack of complete organization/consistency in the data and IT systems .. access to applications was limited and difficult to get Lot of upheaval post the acquisition...increased politics, micro management and Orbitz office sort of degraded to "remote" office of Expedia in Chicago Certain director level execs and project managers extremely mean to work with ...did not have any accountability to senior leadership for the way they managed their teams....lot of micro management by team leaders who lack technical knowledge and business acumen... not at all a friendly work environment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the middle managers and directors more accountable so that they don't get away with being unprofessional /less competent and get promoted despite creating a harsh work environment

    Orbitz Worldwide2017-07-21
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orbitz Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Boss was great, tons of flexiblity and travel disounts.

    Cons

    Too bad the sold off to expedia, because i got laid off.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Orbitz Worldwide2017-05-04
Found 544 reviews