KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Orchard Supply Hardware

Is this your company?

Orchard Supply Hardware

Add a Review

Orchard Supply Hardware Department Lead Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 407 reviews

3.4
69%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Orchard Supply Hardware President Lara Lee (no image)
Lara Lee
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Key Carrier/Dept. Lead

    Sep 5, 2018 - Department Supervisor With Keys in Antelope, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I believed in the company

    Cons

    I didn't really have any downsides

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    New company with a lot of potential

    May 17, 2021 - Department Lead in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent opportunity for growth within the company Respectful and friendly work environment Plentiful opportunities for career development

    Cons

    Management at each location seems to change fairly regularly Everyone is still learning because of the fact that Outdoor Supply Hardware is a fairly new company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Finally getting Better!!

    Jun 7, 2012 - Department Lead in Fresno, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I work with from Employees, Management, Vendors, and Customers Know the information that comes down from the corporate office, rather than being secretive The chance to move up in the Company New things happening to Orchard. The Shirt uniform Love it!! Early closing days on major holidays!! Employee discount with Orchard Coupons!! Meeting the Top Corporate Guys in person!! Town Hall meetings to get a better overview with what works at store level!!

    Cons

    Not so much with corporate guidelines, mostly store level...schedualing is awful, not knowing what you work in two days, (ie posting it friday for the week starting on sunday). Me as a woman working in a "man" store, the descrimination i get with customers, however, my guys always have my back!! The follow through with management when others are not cutting it! documentaion/paper trail is weak!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    As good as it gets for working in a big Corp.

    Dec 10, 2016 - Key Carrier/Department Lead in Chico, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They actually allow advancement from the bottom. OSH is one of the major outlets for Lowe's growth plan which means there will be a steady path for advancement for years to come.

    Cons

    Nepotism, and racist favoritism have been regular. You'll go further faster if your female and Hispanic. I've been passed up once by someone who was marginally less competent and once by someone who is almost completely incompetent. Both were Hispanic females. One white person has been promoted above the Department Lead level in the last four years out of four opportunities. So 25% of major promotions go to whites while 82% of the population is white.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    They want more but give less

    Jan 11, 2018 - Department Lead in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love retail and have had a great time at orchard learning new things

    Cons

    They pay terrible, raises are 20 cents or so for a year!! They just cut our sick pay to 3 days per year and you have to earn those three by working 30 hours for 1 hour of sick pay!!!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fine place to work but moving up is difficult

    Aug 5, 2012 - Department Lead in Modesto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growing company with wonderful associates. Full time is always 40 hours a week at our store.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up in company. Too few opportunities for growth unless willing to relocate. Must be "in good" with management in order to get promoted. Seniority and education are not considered reasons for promotions, brown-nosing is.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    i love this company

    Jul 29, 2012 - Department Manager/Key Carrier in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great salary, nice benefits, great people, fun and exciting place to work

    Cons

    nothing company is great, just give better pay increase

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Was a good job at the beginning but ended terribly

    May 31, 2019 - Garden Department Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vacation paid time off.coworkers for the most part we're pretty cool got along with a lot of them and some of the managers. Free food from time to time.

    Cons

    Some of the managers are terrible at there job they know less than regular floor associates the pay is not so great rate were abysmal

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Do it our way or else

    Feb 5, 2009 - Department Lead in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Close to home and entertaining work.

    Cons

    Lack of employee respect by senior management. This is a tops down directive company--do it my way--which does not tolerate negative feedback or even positive suggestions from hourly employees.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Sales lead

    Feb 16, 2016 - Department Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Difficult scheduling especially for part timers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Work at Orchard Supply Hardware? Share Your Experiences

Orchard Supply Hardware logo
or

Orchard Supply Hardware Photos

+ Add Photo
Orchard Supply Hardware photo of: Princeton Plaza store
Orchard Supply Hardware photo of: Opening Location
Orchard Supply Hardware photo of: before the face lift
Orchard Supply Hardware photo of: Orchard Supply Hardware at twilight.
Orchard Supply Hardware photo of: Pick up area

Have you worked here?

See All Photos