OrderAhead Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
OrderAhead CEO and Co-founder Jeff Byun (no image)
Jeff Byun
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, good pay, fast paced environment(in 4 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of opportunities to learn and a lot of chance to take responsibility for work(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, hard to manage work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Dispatch can sometimes be stupid/mean for no reason(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      it was great

      Apr 23, 2021 - Driver in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Usually got good tips- the dispatch team was good too.

      Cons

      Sometimes I had to drive at night.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      shady leadership

      Apr 24, 2021 - Customer Service in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a job with.

      Cons

      The CEO (Jeff Byun) was incredibly shady and untrustworthy with people and business dealings.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great first or second career opportunity

      Jan 14, 2016 - Operations/Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great organization for your first or second opportunity out of college. You'll find that OrderAhead provides you with opportunities that you wouldn't necessarily get at a much larger company. If you work hard and commit the time, you'll find yourself able to work further into what you're specifically interested in, and within a (relatively) short amount of time. You are guaranteed an opportunity to work directly with your team manager on a regular basis, which is a very positive aspect of initial work experience. OrderAhead is a place where you "earn" what you put in. The ups and downs of the company are a fantastic learning experience that will benefit you in your 3rd or 4th career, and that's important to keep that in mind as you build your resume. The best teammates at OrderAhead are those who are able to focus on their own long-term career goals, and not get too absorbed in team movements, adjustments, etc.

      Cons

      In exchange for the pros, you'll have to accept the longer hours and lower pay relative to larger startups in the area, especially in your first year. Also, smaller companies are by nature often less organized. Expect to work under a fluctuating environment where areas, like team goals/priorities, change on a semi-frequent (quarterly) basis. You'll go through stretches where you won't be particularly enamored by the work you're doing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Driver

      Apr 22, 2016 -  in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      idk what to say, when I started working with order ahead early in 2015 I thought it was descant. The hours were flexible and I could schedule my shifts and work on my own pace. Started working more hours little by little it started benefiting me on my pay check as well. It's a good way to make solid income if you are a student or even looking for a job and want to work with orderahead mean time. Foundation is quite solid, dispatchers were friendly, plus lots of bonuses and they reimburse gas money as well if you finish 35 deliveries, that was great.

      Cons

      Sometimes if you had emergencies and if you canceled your shift you would get charged $15 from your check for the week. And it would effect your schedule for next coming weeks. I would sometimes have issues with scheduling. They would give me 40 hours for 3 weeks and recuse my hours for next one week, I would have call them and figure out why it has happend. And grab open shifts that were far from home.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Design

      Oct 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned a lot while was there. Good people and culture.

      Cons

      Company had to downsize, hours could get long

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Was OK

      Mar 8, 2019 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First job out of college

      Cons

      Not the best place to work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Delivery Driver (there is much better out there)

      Feb 24, 2015 - Delivery Driver in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Flexible Hours (meaning two shifts LUNCH 10:00am- 1:30pm or DINNER 4:45pm- 9:30pm)

      Cons

      -Total lies about how much money can be made......average about $15-$18/ hour at best -Must reach 35+ deliveries to qualify for gas reimbursement which isn't even up to the recommended national minimum of $0.55/ mile (company tries to spin this by saying the $0.42/ mile they offer is a perk because you can write off the difference of $0.13/ mile on your taxes) -Company says they track your miles, however they only use the GPS distance estimate while on a delivery meaning if you have to drive around for 2 miles to find parking or because food isn't ready, this is not tracked or applied to mileage - Tips from customers in the application are split 50/50 by default with the driver and the restaurant, this is never made abundantly clear to customers and results in lower tips **(Who tips the restaurant on a delivery?!?!)** -Driver support often sends delivery information late........ resulting in late food delivery and lower tips with unhappy customers (often they give fake reasons for late delivery to customer which reflects poorly on drivers but they don't care because they don't work on tips) -Rarely does the driver support team have any knowledge of the areas they are over seeing which leads to poor coordination and late deliveries (ex: sending vehicles into downtown SF for a lunch delivery, anyone who knows the city should realize this is a near impossible task due to parking and traffic)

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      OrderAhead Response

      Content Manager

      Hi there! I'm so sorry that you had such a poor experience working with us. I'm going to pass along your feedback to our delivery team so we can do better in the future. I do want to say though: all tips on delivery orders go to you guys, the drivers! No split there. :) --Heidi

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Place to Work!

      Jan 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic Management Team Dedicated company throughout Will not stop until they succeed...which they are Funnest place I have ever worked. I have not laughed as hard as when I am working with OrderAhead peeps!

      Cons

      You know what you are getting into when you join a start-up. OrderAhead is on the path to success because it focuses on excellence in everything. Don't plan to work there and expect to coast by. The company is a family but they also make sure to hold everyone accountable. You will grow and learn but will be pushed. This is a Con for people that shouldn't be in start-ups, but a Pro for those wanting to join a company that is making waves because of the people they hire.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Driver

      Jun 27, 2016 - Delivery Driver in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's really great if you need some extra income while having a full time job. It's great to pick up from different restaurants and I really like delivering to people who are grateful for food being delivered to them if they really can't leave the house. I meet a lot of nice people.there are a couple of dispatchers who are really nice and always there for you when u need it

      Cons

      When an emergency comes up and I need to end my shift early, SOME of the dispatchers completely ignore you and continue to give you calls and then get mad at you when you do not accept the job. SOME of the dispatchers really don't help you when u really need it. It's so frustrating. There was a time where I had to pick up my child and I told dispatch I needed to end my shift early. He completely ignored me, gave me a call and when I didn't accept the job he texted me saying "are you going to take the call?" I responded with "I told u I have an emergency" and again ignored me and texted me back 10 min later saying "nvm someone else got the job"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Driver

      Apr 24, 2016 - I C Driver in South Bay, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exelent working hours. Top dispatching team. Grate app over all,. proud to drive for orderahead.

      Cons

      The way I see it and with out getting into to much details order ahead needs promotion and this is beyond there drivers shirts and card flayers We will wrap our cars full wrap orderahead logo with all the areas covered. Orderhead you're food delivery people.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

    Work at OrderAhead? Share Your Experiences

    OrderAhead logo
    or