Oregon Department of Human Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Oregon Department of Human Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Oregon Department of Human Services CEO Fariborz Pakseresht
Fariborz Pakseresht
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay , union job so good benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great benefits including medical, dental and vision, sick and vacation time(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The union SEIU will protect you if you are a crappy worker but if you work hard and do the right thing you are on your own(in 3 reviews)

  • "Lack of Integrity, Respect, and Professionalism (which supposedly are core values of DHS)(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Provides rewarding opportunitys to make a difference in the lives of those we serve."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Development Specialist in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Most positions are union represented and provide not only contractual benefits like health insurance and retirement benefits, but with voluntary union membership, employees have access to benefits like free college, pet, life and legal insurance as well.

    Cons

    We serve vulnerable Oregonians and the need for our services can be daunting. Budget constraints, staffing levels and an antiquated computer system can negatively impact working conditions.

    Advice to Management

    It is not possible to provide for staff that which you do not yourself have. Please hold your peers accountable for unprofessional behavior and be intentional about creating an environment of psychological safety for yourselves and your employees.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2019-02-14
  2. "A great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Worker in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Some wonderful people who truly care about children and families

    Cons

    Horrible culture. Management needs an overhaul.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with the same dignity and respect you would treat children and families.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2019-05-15
  3. "Need to be precise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Background Specialist 

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Clients and helping them overcome barriers

      Cons

      Not being able to help client with immediate need

      Advice to Management

      Better support and training

      Oregon Department of Human Services2019-05-09
    • "No responsibility"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - OFFICE SPECIALIST in Eugene, OR
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Easy work, decent benefits. Lack of responsibility

      Cons

      Doesn't prepare you well for moving upward and in some offices you deal with petty cubicle tyrants.

      Oregon Department of Human Services2019-04-17
    • "They do not care about their employees we were treated badly. People would get hurt constantly from clients."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services

        Pros

        Paid days off, vacation time

        Cons

        No accountability, mentally grinding, people try to hurt you and accuse you all the time.

        Advice to Management

        Put a lawyer on retainer for your union

        Oregon Department of Human Services2019-04-18
      • "Not Good, worked there for a short time."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Human Services Specialist in Bend, OR
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some if the co-workers were nice but there were trouble-makers who couldn't mind their own business.

        Cons

        Working with a mean, disrespectful, unprofessional co-worker.

        Advice to Management

        Hold your employees accountable for their behavior. Just because someone does their job well is not a go sign to abuse other employees. If an emoloyee has a concern, it is your job to listen and take corrective action.

        Oregon Department of Human Services2019-01-30
      • "Caregiver"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Salem, OR
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Good pay , union job so good benefits. Work my own hours, satisfaction of helping someone.

        Cons

        I have A lot of responsibility . My client is disabled and requires a lot of help. I do mostly everything for my client. I am very busy all the time.

        Advice to Management

        I had to pass background check, including my fingerprints.

        Oregon Department of Human Services2018-10-15
      • "Haven't started yet"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time

          Pros

          Good communication from the supervisor

          Cons

          Background check taking too long. Got hired a month ago and can't start until background check approval.

          Oregon Department of Human Services2018-10-03
        • "HSS3"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services

          Pros

          Benefits, long term, pay, union protected

          Cons

          Rigid schedule, not flexible, outdated systems

          Oregon Department of Human Services2018-08-27
        • "Pros and cons"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          The benefits are good and there is the opportunity to help others.

          Cons

          Some of the politics can get in the way of serving the community the way they should be served. Sometimes workers can misuse their power and use a top-down approach which is very frustrating to work with when you're in the job to serve others.

          Oregon Department of Human Services2018-05-28
        Found 74 reviews