Oregon Department of Human Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Oregon Department of Human Services Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Oregon Department of Human Services CEO Fariborz Pakseresht
Fariborz Pakseresht
5 Ratings
  1. "Overworked-underpaid... Do more with less, is the motto..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement and Contracts Analyst III in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, all in same boat. Done are on their own little island, but most are friendly.

    Cons

    Stiff management. Workload is heaped, and a job well done is rewarded with a lot more work.

    Advice to Management

    Add humanity to the business side.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2017-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fulfilling job, great team work and the management team at the Medford branch is great. Sad I had to leave.

    Cons

    Some people abuse the fact that we are backed by a union and don't really do much work ..

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do!

    Oregon Department of Human Services2017-03-01
  3. "Mhtt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Behavior Technician in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Liked management and fellow employees, good pay

    Cons

    Not safe clients need more help, don't get paid enough for what we did

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people for temp on call emergency and have more benefit for growth and development.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2017-01-19
  4. "Glass half full"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSS3 in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, Friendly Management, New Office Building

    Cons

    Non-negotiable wages Far distance from city-center

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Oregon Department of Human Services2017-01-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good. The pay is good if you are right out of college.

    Cons

    The environment is toxic. You regularly work unpaid overtime. Many caseworkers actively dislike their "customers." This is not social work.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. Constant crisis mode is not sustainable. We are failing our clients and the taxpayers that fund our operations.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-12-02
  6. "DHS Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services

    Pros

    Large organization with a variety of programs; many career paths; opportunities across the state and to work way up in the organization.

    Cons

    Organization can be very siloed; skills and abilities of management level staff can be uneven; can be difficult to gain positions beyond entry level when coming from outside state government

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-11-15
  7. "my employer name is the company DHS I receive clients from them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Care Provider in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Just nice to help the disabled

    Cons

    Not everyone that needs the help is easy to work for

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-10-06
  8. "Caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elder Caregiver in Central Point, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for the state as a caregiver was very consistent work. You got to chooses if you wanted the client or not. Interview them.

    Cons

    A little lower wage then a private company. Traveling to different areas possibly a long drive for work or between clients.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-09-25
  9. "Volunteer Clerical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Volunteer Clerical Assistant in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work related experience and free training.

    Cons

    Hard to get hired on, even when working as a volunteer for several months.

    Advice to Management

    Please consider easier hiring options for long term volunteers.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-09-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Human Services Specialist 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time

    Pros

    Great experience gained in communicating with diverse populations within the community. Person in this position will learn to be effective in a fast paced office environment. Very good place to gain experience in beginning of professional career.

    Cons

    Management disconnected from the realities of the day to day operations. Drama usually exists between employees on work floor.

    Advice to Management

    Be well informed on the flow of work and have weekly meetings with the lead workers to check in on potential problems before they arise.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-08-23
Found 74 reviews