Oregon Department of Human Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Oregon Department of Human Services Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Oregon Department of Human Services CEO Fariborz Pakseresht
Fariborz Pakseresht
5 Ratings
  1. "Terrific Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Analyst in Woodburn, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for the Department of Human Services, you get to help people. You get to make a difference. There are always new opportunities to promote.

    Cons

    Although DHS has no problem hiring a diverse workforce, they struggle to ensure that promotions to management and beyond are equally as diverse.

    Advice to Management

    Other than addressing the "Con" I listed, I don't have any suggestions. I've always enjoyed working with and for DHS management.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-08-24
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Services Specialist III 

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services

    Pros

    Great employee benefits and health insurance options

    Cons

    Nothing to add as a con

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-08-17
  3. "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hermiston, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits, and working with the clients is awesome.

    Cons

    Depending on location and department-very discriminating, a lot of bias especially toward older workers and white workers. Poor training agenda, very bad management. Needs major over-haul of the way things are done with the idea of supporting new workers, less family/friend co-workers working in the same department, more mix among age, gender, race, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Power trips do not support workers, core values, and the people that are in need suffer the most. So enough!

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-08-26
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Working for DHS Oregon is not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Support in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    my boss has be flexible in the past.

    Cons

    For a "People Service" agency, they show zero interest in the well-being of their staff. They work you into the ground because their organization and the bureaucracy make it impossible to get anything achieved, and you are not compensated for the level of work you perform. I have been given consistent, daily work outside of my classification for 7 years and never been compensated for it.

    Advice to Management

    Allow support staff to flex their schedules regularly to allow for "life balance". Allow them to telecommute if their physical presence is not 100% essential. And allow support staff to set their own schedules and get paid for the work they do, not the hours they put in. If you give this type of freedom to your staff, they will be more productive and will also improve retention by not quitting first chance they get.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-07-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to help some of the most vulnerable members of your community.

    Cons

    Managers are generally small thinkers more interested in conformity than effectiveness.

    Advice to Management

    In order to improve you have to change something. Sorry less about looking bad and more about actually performing badly.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-04-18
  6. "Sss1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time

    Pros

    I really liked my job and the people I worked with

    Cons

    Policies are tough sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your workers more

    Oregon Department of Human Services2016-01-23
  7. "Oregon Department of Human Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in La Pine, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was a caregiver through the Oregon Department of Human Services. The pros were that I always received my checks on time, I was paid well, and the staff we nice and helpful.

    Cons

    The work was not always full-time or stable because it depended upon the need and health of the elderly or disabled client.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2015-12-15
  8. "Home Care Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Home Care Worker in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services

      Pros

      It's your business, get to know and care for seniors with disabilities and help them to continue living independently, full health benefits after two months working 40 hours, pay to increase.

      Cons

      Some clients can be inconsistent with your schedule, possible injury depending on physical demands like lifting, no sick pay if part time.

      Oregon Department of Human Services2015-11-05
    • Helpful (6)

      "Not even PERS makes it worth it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Services Specialist III in Ashland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The only pro was that I had a steady income. It wasn't much but it was every month.

      Cons

      Everything except the pay check. Angry customers, being "spied" on by management and bullied by the management team. Morale doesn't exist. No one appreciates you at this job even if you perform well. Being the lowest of he low in regards to a public servant, and you are a servant in every sense of the word

      Advice to Management

      Get college degrees and an actual education before you try to manage people who are educated. Your lack of experience and education is to much to cover up with a smile.

      Oregon Department of Human Services2015-12-01
    • Helpful (3)

      "Glad I had medical because job made me sick"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, stable employment, FMLA and the like, sometimes you might actually help someone.

      Cons

      Jaded employee who hate their own clients, watching yourself get ft and your health decline while sitting in a tiny cubicle surrounded by miserable people.

      Advice to Management

      Stop playing fantasy football

      Oregon Department of Human Services2015-11-05
    Found 74 reviews