Oregon Department of Human Services "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Oregon Department of Human Services Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Oregon Department of Human Services CEO Fariborz Pakseresht
Fariborz Pakseresht
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay , union job so good benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great benefits including medical, dental and vision, sick and vacation time(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The union SEIU will protect you if you are a crappy worker but if you work hard and do the right thing you are on your own(in 3 reviews)

  • "Lack of Integrity, Respect, and Professionalism (which supposedly are core values of DHS)(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay , union job so good benefits. Work my own hours, satisfaction of helping someone.

    Cons

    I have A lot of responsibility . My client is disabled and requires a lot of help. I do mostly everything for my client. I am very busy all the time.

    Advice to Management

    I had to pass background check, including my fingerprints.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2018-10-15
  2. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good and there is the opportunity to help others.

    Cons

    Some of the politics can get in the way of serving the community the way they should be served. Sometimes workers can misuse their power and use a top-down approach which is very frustrating to work with when you're in the job to serve others.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2018-05-28
  3. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fairly comparable pay and good benefits

    Cons

    There is an indescribable corruption among upper management and within HR. If you complain about harassment or discrimination, chances are you will find yourself being investigated; particularly if you're a woman. There are countless stories of conveniently timed investigations following a complaint of unlawful activity, and that person who complained finds themselves fired, or forced to quit. HR needs to be replaced...

    Show More
    Oregon Department of Human Services2018-04-28
  4. "Business overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Homecare Worker in Albany, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, hours of work

    Cons

    Having to bargain with the state for everything

    Advice to Management

    Give in, you know the money is there

    Oregon Department of Human Services2017-06-27
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Glad I had medical because job made me sick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, stable employment, FMLA and the like, sometimes you might actually help someone.

    Cons

    Jaded employee who hate their own clients, watching yourself get ft and your health decline while sitting in a tiny cubicle surrounded by miserable people.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing fantasy football

    Oregon Department of Human Services2015-11-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Oregon Department of Human Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time

    Pros

    good benefits, pay is ok.

    Cons

    poor management, management not listen to staff ideas. co-workers become lazy and complain.

    Advice to Management

    start listening to employees

    Oregon Department of Human Services2015-11-22
  7. Helpful (6)

    "The DHS is stifling, stressful and does not care about its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HSS1/HSS3 in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Oregon Department of Human Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good. Some of the other employees are friendly, though many don't hold up their end of the work. It feels good to help many of the clients who come through the doors, though some are crazy and even dangerous. There are positions within the state that are better than others--I was only an HSS1 and then an HSS3 and both those positions were difficult and felt relentless.

    Cons

    The management is completely top down--they don't respect the employees and treat them poorly. The computer systems are outdated and difficult. The culture is old-school--they pretend to be doing all this cutting edge updating, but basically, the job is a grind and wears people down.

    Advice to Management

    The only thing I can say is that people shouldn't work there as long as they do--including the managers. The stress gets to everyone and the whole place feels unhealthy. The State brings in people to discuss healthy work-life balance, staying fit, etc. but most of the employees are morbidly obese and many still smoke, drink diet sodas and sit at their desks all day. Really.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2015-03-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Management incompetence and bad training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oregon Department of Human Services

    Pros

    Descent salary, good benefits, great working hours, holidays and day off.

    Cons

    The evaluation of employee in trial services is no fair. An HSS3 they evaluate by accuracy, that means the HSS4, an other union coworker evaluate a supervise your job. Hello SEiU a union member can't supervise other Union Member. HSS4 is looking for management interests no for an Union Member. If you are HSS1 you will be evaluate by your capacity of be a great brown nose. You don't have preoccupation about accuracy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The problem with the government services are not the employees. Is management, they are not good leaders you have to take action about management like the NBA or NFL they don't fired the player, they change the coach when the team is loosing.

    Oregon Department of Human Services2014-09-14
Found 74 reviews