Oregon Department of Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

Oregon Department of Transportation Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Oregon Department of Transportation CEO Matthew Garrett
Matthew Garrett
1 Ratings
  1. "ODOT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Oregon Department of Transportation part-time

      Pros

      I had a blast during my summer-temp job.

      Cons

      I don't have any cons.

      Oregon Department of Transportation2017-02-20
    • "Disengagement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Policy Analyst in Salem, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Transportation full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great work serving citizens of Oregon

      Cons

      Once your hired in it’s hard to promote many times managers would rather hire from outside there needs to be a better method to promote from within

      Advice to Management

      Revamp the internal recruitment process

      Oregon Department of Transportation2019-04-12
    • "Meh."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Construction Inspector in Roseburg, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Oregon Department of Transportation full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Decent wages, good benefits, training.

      Cons

      Lots of night work, terrible supervisor.

      Advice to Management

      Layoff the "We're a Family" tagline. You are not a family, you are an employer.

      Oregon Department of Transportation2019-03-26
    • "Contract Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Contract Specialist in Salem, OR
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Oregon Department of Transportation for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great benefits and salary, helpful teammates, nice and modern building, I had a fair & reasonable manager, teleworking opportunities. Good mixture of engaging work assignment. Mid-management seemed open to change and attempted to improve the working environment.

      Cons

      The overall work environment was micromanaging, cliques made it difficult to become a part of a team or contribute to a team, many of the customers were hostile and unprofessional.

      Advice to Management

      Upper management: trust your staff, give them room to grow from mistakes and setbacks, back them with the customers, create collaborative and inclusive teams instead of impenetrable cliques, acknowledge top performers equally, give qualified employees opportunities to move and/or cross-train with other internal teams.

      Oregon Department of Transportation2018-12-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mediocre"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Program Analyst in Salem, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Transportation full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      There are some positions and some people that have the opportunity to really make a difference.

      Cons

      There is so much "bro" and seniority culture that it is hard to have any upward mobility. The bureaucracy makes it hard to get anything done. EVER.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and let the old employees retire. You need new blood and it is ready, you aren't listening.

      Oregon Department of Transportation2018-04-13
    • "Good place to work. Lots of career paths."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Professional Land Surveyor I in Salem, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Transportation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Huge agency with lots of career paths and work locations Good benefits The Pay is competitive in all areas but the Portland/Metro area

      Cons

      It is a union job so there can be some dead weight that just cant be fired Can be dangerous on the the road/construction projects!

      Advice to Management

      Keep workers motivated Pressure the dead weight to move along Hold people accountable and expect results!

      Oregon Department of Transportation2018-02-06
    • "Purpose driven!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Transportation full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Purposeful, knowing your serving the people of Oregon. Seeing things change, and knowing what goes on behind the scenes majors for a rewarding feeling.

      Cons

      Really difficult to climb the ladder in some fields, especially when competing against those who have grown up in the agency.

      Advice to Management

      Sometimes a fresh set of eyes is just what a position needs to take it to the level.

      Oregon Department of Transportation2017-04-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Data Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Oregon Department of Transportation

      Pros

      I enjoyed the team I worked with. I felt our team was above average compared to other parts of the agency.

      Cons

      There was no room for growth on my team.

      Oregon Department of Transportation2017-04-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "No accoutabilty or leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - TMSp2 in Salem, OR
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Transportation full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Stable work, good benefits and more time off than you know what to do with.

      Cons

      Top scale pay for a TMSp2 is low considering the cost of living in the metro and the hazards of the motoring public and road way. Poor leadership program. People being promoted to leadership roles that have no business being a boss.

      Advice to Management

      Leadership is lackluster

      Oregon Department of Transportation2016-10-26
    • "Classic government environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salem, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Oregon Department of Transportation full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Job stability. Good benefits, fair salary. Work/life balance. Variety of projects. Excellent location. Decent tools.

      Cons

      Outdated systems and processes. Lack of long-range vision. Decision averse. Stifling; creativity averse.

      Advice to Management

      You can't change everything, but you can promote and support incremental improvement. Value creativity and innovative thinking. Have measurable, meaningful goals. Promote managers who have vision, people skills, and process acumen; leaders who can (and will) make meaningful, intelligent decisions.

      Oregon Department of Transportation2016-10-23
    Found 27 reviews