Organovo Reviews | Glassdoor

Organovo Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
60%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Organovo CEO Taylor Crouch (no image)
Taylor Crouch
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Organovo is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Organovo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get the tools you need to do your job. It is a very team oriented company. They make an effort to keep people happy. They have free: Dove chocolates, yogurt, oatmeal, string cheese, bananas, apples, oranges, donuts. They keep all full time employees informed about how the company is doing. They make an effort to hire temps after a short time. 3 months vs 5 years at some other places. They respect... ideas from everyone, not just the PHDs.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a start up company, growing fast and there will be issues. They make an effort to have an open door policy. They use anonymous surveys to hear what employees are concerned about. They are trying to balance rapid growth while keeping employees happy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I want to retire from here!

    Organovo2017-02-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R&D in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Organovo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small company with a lot of brilliant minds and people who want to do fun science.

    Cons

    Disconnected communication between upper management and the people who work in the trenches down below. There exists a my team vs. your team atmosphere that creates devision within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Please don’t cover or protect managers when they are clearly creating devision within the company. They too must be held accountable for their actions which ultimately lead to loss of quality personnel and low moral.

    Organovo2018-10-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult outlook, but hopeful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Organovo full-time

    Pros

    Good compensation, small company, interesting technology, top notch facilities.

    Cons

    The current business model is likely unsustainable. There have been three rounds of layoffs to date, and there is no telling if there may be more.

    Organovo2018-09-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Organovo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    they have free coffee, located in a good area

    Cons

    -the way science and research that is conducted is not legitimate, small sample size. -studies not completed in good faith -management is terrible and is not involved in the most important aspects. They are NOT forthcoming. -people do not follow SOPs for critical experiments. This happens ALL THE TIME -they just laid off a ton of great people. -valuble and smart people in R&D are leaving left and right,... should really tell you something

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change it all back

    Organovo2018-05-13
  5. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in San Diego, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Organovo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people are friendly, boss was nice, good health care.

    Cons

    For a small company they really need to improve their communication skills. The manufacturing department was a mess.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better with employees.

    Organovo2018-01-08
  6. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern 

    I worked at Organovo for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small work environment, helpful coworkers, nice lab, hands off, no micro-managing, cool projects, very very very very very nice place to work

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth opp, lack of diversity, unclear direction of the company

    Organovo2017-06-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Shady Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Organovo

    Pros

    Decent Workday, some benefits offered

    Cons

    I left a negative review of this workplace, no response for several weeks. Then I see that someone tried to login to my account and reset my password, then Organovo responds to my negative review. This is incredibly shady.

    Organovo2017-04-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "SR Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Organovo part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NIce Fun Intersting fun nice

    Cons

    Hard long hours hard challenging Hard

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Organovo2017-01-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Organovo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everybody at the company is generally easy-going and friendly; great atmosphere to work in. There are a lot of new graduates, contributes to a good balance of ages. Usually very good in promoting work-life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes teams are not completely transparent with one another in sharing information, causing friction and tensions to rise when troubleshooting is needed. Mixed results when dealing with management in regards to internal growth/promotion and recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to the work being done in the entry-level positions. A lot of great things are being done there without recognition.

    Organovo2016-12-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Organovo

    Pros

    The culture is great, a lot of great fun people who work here. The technology is definitely very interesting and has a lot of potential.

    Cons

    Not too many downsides to working at Organovo. A lot of people put in a lot of hours and weekend work is involved, but it is just the nature of the work that happens here.

    Organovo2016-12-08
Found 14 reviews