Orica Reviews | Glassdoor

Orica Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Orica Managing Director and CEO  Alberto Calderon
Alberto Calderon
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone I've worked with at Orica has been very positive and encouraging, which makes for a great work environment(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good people, global company, good employee benefits(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I've worked with at Orica has been very positive and encouraging, which makes for a great work environment. Many teams are very flexible with working arrangements. The company has several health initiatives and is committed to employee well being. As a very global company, there are a lot of opportunities for someone who is eager to grow and willing to relocate. Regional leadership is very engaged.

    Cons

    Being that the highest levels of senior management are located in a different area of the world, they sometimes seem disconnected from the regional differences and realities.

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-07-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Heading towards Cataclysm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong Compensation, Good Benefits, Strong communication at field level operations

    Cons

    Massive divide between Corporate and Field Operations, Disrespect towards operators, Unqualified Managers with more vision than sense

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-11-20
  3. "Headed for a train wreck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Other in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Orica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are workout classes a couple times a week, Heath care coverage is good.

    Cons

    Sr Leaders are not leaders Too many initiatives all the time with no alignment, prioritization or strategy. No one seems like they actually enjoy working here. It’s like where career hope goes to die.

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-11-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "High potential, but own worst enemy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orica full-time

    Pros

    Compensation, Friendly Co-workers, Career growth, Exciting field of work

    Cons

    Extremely poor communication and accountability all around. It often seems like everyone is just winging it without heading in a known direction. Management needs to truly value customers and place the right people in the right locations to take care of the customers.

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-08-20
  5. "Great Company! Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Administrator in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Orica for more than 3 years. Its a great company with competitive salary and supportive staff and management. They really care about their employees! If you want to work for a great company that feels like family, this is the place to be!

    Cons

    There aren't any cons about working here!

    Orica2019-06-28
  6. "Great Collaborative Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Confidential in Watkins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's certainly a great company culture. No matter the level or department, I find the company be very collaborative. We work together for the greater good of Orica.

    Cons

    None at this time. It's a great company.

    Orica2019-06-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing potential with extreme micromanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above average salary and benefits. My location has a relaxed work environment, extremely caring and understanding management team. World class manufacture of mining explosives. Truly embrace safety. Global company with opportunities for those willing to relocate.

    Cons

    The company as a whole is highly micromanaged. In less than two years, I've had three site managers. Each was powerless to make meaningful decisions without first obtaining approval from their superiors, who needed approval from their superior. Growth and excellence withheld by a supply chain with too much red tape and inability to react in a timely manner. No empowerment of the employees to make decisions to better the company without multiple approvals.

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-06-06
  8. "This company was explosive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Explosive Manufacturer 

    I worked at Orica full-time

    Pros

    We had 9 paid months off after part of the plant burned down.

    Cons

    I almost died when part of the plant burned down.

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-06-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Worst company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Watkins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Orica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was a bit better than average That's about all I can come up with unfortunately

    Cons

    Where to start... I worked in the Colorado office where you are monitored daily on the hours you work, when you arrive, when you leave, how long is your lunch..for salaried workers. They claim it is for safety reasons but abuse this reason to monitor their salaried employees as if you are punching a clock in and out. How hard you work, what you actually do when you are there, and your achievements are second to how many hours you log. If you like to be baby sat as a grown adult this is the place for you. Rotating management. The manager who interviewed and hired me quit before I started. The new manager was let go after a couple of months. There were multiple consulting firms that the company was wasting money on to 'help' fix its problems that were organizational and structural but the actual problems were not being addressed or dealt with. The company did not pay its vendors for up to 6 months in order to improve its cash flow and position to trick investors and improve its cash-flow statement leading up to annual reports for Australian stock market. The employees in finance and supply chain had to keep materials coming in the door but selectively choosing and prioritizing which suppliers would get paid in order to avoid cutting off all material flows and shutting down production. Red Flag Alert! this should scream problems and very serious concerns to any potential employees, investors, and suppliers who consider working with this company in the future.

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-06-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Join if you’re hungry, leave when you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Something Lead in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Reasonable compensation, not industry best. You’ll make lots of new friends at Orica; people quit so often you can’t help but meet new people.

    Cons

    Too many to list. If you’re unemployed take the job offer and keep looking. The culture is terrible. Management is generally clueless, lacks industry experience and are advocates of favoritism. Executive management in Aus seems to spend the majority of their time trying to conceive ways to manipulate employees, suppliers and customers.

    Continue reading
    Orica2019-04-23
Found 169 reviews