Origami Owl Reviews | Glassdoor

Origami Owl Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Origami Owl is an enjoyable place to work most of the time(in 7 reviews)

  • "They are selling many cute charms(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long wait time when calling customer service (hours)(in 7 reviews)

  • "SO reading through the lines: things are failing at the nest(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Independent Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Designer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Origami Owl part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product, always improving product.

    Cons

    Benefits to designers have reduced.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going in the direction to make positive changes and make designers successful. Stop selling product from corporate and have all sales go to designer teams, making designers successful, will only make the company grow.

    Origami Owl2018-12-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Mean Girls IRL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Origami Owl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there are a few nice and honest people there but not many....

    Cons

    literally everything about this place is fake. Quite possibly the most toxic work environment in the valley.

    Advice to Management

    Doesn't matter they won't listen...

    Origami Owl2019-06-14
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends

    I worked at Origami Owl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company is filled with amazing employees

    Cons

    There needs to be more work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention

    Origami Owl2019-01-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "the culture makes it worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Origami Owl full-time

    Pros

    they will love on you like no other company you will ever work at

    Cons

    the workload is insane and the favoritism and nepotism are intense.

    Advice to Management

    don't play favorites.

    Origami Owl2018-10-11
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Origami Owl

    Pros

    I enjoyed working for origami owl. Fast paced and friendly environment.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say. I was a temp so I wasn't with the company ling enough to have any bad experiences with them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. I wish I still worked there.

    Origami Owl2018-09-04
  6. "Fun and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Origami Owl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice company to work for. Lot's of fun and lots of free jewelry!

    Cons

    product is a little too pricey for the average Joe

    Advice to Management

    Move all manufacturing to the USA!

    Origami Owl2018-08-10
  7. "Don't believe everything you read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Origami Owl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Positive, accepting and FUN environment filled with creativity and love. Extremely supportive of families and offers flexibility in many ways including bringing the kids into the office when it's needed (not every day, of course!). The work environment is by far the most supportive I've ever found--toxicity is not tolerated and the company sticks to its culture consistently.

    Cons

    Busy! If you're ready for a challenge and to learn, O2 will keep you on your toes. The company has weathered a number of transitions, but the foundation is stronger than ever--past employees who went through this but are no longer there have an axe to grind so take past reviewers' feedback with a grain of salt.

    Advice to Management

    Ignore the haters of the past and stay focused on the current path--you're doing great and the growth and new partnerships like Harry Potter and Warner Bros. proves it!

    Origami Owl2018-05-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture, Poor Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Origami Owl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture A fun company Great discount on the jewelry

    Cons

    No job security, they do random layoffs all the time Poor communication, you hardly ever know whats going on Severely understaffed and overworked

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better.

    Origami Owl2018-05-14
  9. "Absolute best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Origami Owl full-time

    Pros

    They truly are like a family and they treat you with the upmost respect. i have loved every minute of working here!

    Cons

    honestly i can't think if any cons.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing.

    Origami Owl2018-02-09
  10. "Going Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Origami Owl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun Environment Free Jewelry Some good people

    Cons

    Management and Founders have their favorites and ignore the rest. Many layoffs, can't keep a steady income Do not compensate properly for their employees time Unorganized and always changing their minds.

    Advice to Management

    Stop spending money on pointless things. Like the new nest that built. Too much space and nice things that they really couldn't afford and now they are having to rent out part of the building. Should put more money into your employees rather than making it look like your are successful.

    Origami Owl2018-02-01
Found 85 reviews