Origin Energy "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Origin Energy Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Origin Energy Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Frank Calabria  (no image)
Frank Calabria
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Flexibility, can work from home, take care of work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Good flexible working environment and atmosphere in most teams(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Regular company restructures and cost-saving drives(in 11 reviews)

  • "not helpful team leader or manager(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Origin Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Good culture, nice people + Work life balance

    Cons

    - Probably expanded too fast, forced to go through retrenchment exercise in down time

    Continue reading
    Origin Energy2014-01-15
  2. "8 year Origin Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Change Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    + Great place to work, everyone is welcoming and friendly + Work Flexibility, can work from home, take care of work life balance + Support growth internal and external to the company (can balance study)

    Cons

    - No cons, I've been here 8 years and counting.

    Continue reading
    Origin Energy2020-02-06
  3. "OK company, depends on which division you are in. Highly hierarchical and slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Origin Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Work life balance -Flexible working -Pay very well

    Cons

    -Slow -Heirarchical -Not diverse- lots of middle-aged white men in management positions -Not values driven -Political in-fighting

    Origin Energy2019-10-15
  4. "Great Company with Energetic Peopel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Consultant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Origin Energy for more than a year

    Pros

    Locations, work life balance, Salary, Opportunities

    Cons

    Changing priorities on a sliding scale

    Origin Energy2019-07-20
  5. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRM Analyst in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Origin Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance!

    Cons

    Hard to progress in career Way too many people

    Origin Energy2019-06-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great remuneration, while culture depending on the team you belong to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Origin Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great remuneration package, extra benefits, including bonuses, life and income insurance. Good work - life balance.

    Cons

    Development, professional training and advancement opportunities were limited

    Continue reading
    Origin Energy2019-04-10
  7. "Lack of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance and salary is higher than industry standard

    Cons

    There's a very distinct lack of management across the business, and you find a lot of managers give in to request which doesn't always benefit the business. The high volume of workload is also not ideal. The business itself is too relaxed and not enough structure or processes in place.

    Continue reading
    Origin Energy2019-03-06
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Origin Energy full-time

    Pros

    Structured and work life balance, great working environment

    Cons

    Too many changes and direction keeps changing

    Origin Energy2018-12-19
  9. "Senior Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, supportive culture, all roles flexible, paid volunteering, matched giving, Reconciliation Action Plan.

    Cons

    Downsizing, cost pressure, roles not being replaced so some people have awful workloads

    Origin Energy2018-11-04
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Complete confusion, no consistency or stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Origin Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits. Company believes in having a safe and responsible work place for all. Flexible work - life balance for office staff.

    Cons

    Management is completely out of touch. Lots of attention paid up the chain of command, but little attention given to direct reports. Don't know why, maybe that the organization is too "top down". Managers don't know their own employees. First org I've worked for where my supervisor(s) doesn't know my wife's name (and don't care). In 4 years, no one has even asked if I was married. I realize that it isn't necessary, just proves the statement. Managers spend time delegating chores to underlings. Constant philosophical changes occur. New acronyms and catch phrases monthly. Management uses underlings to develop ideas that they can take credit for and feed up the "ladder". The only path to career progression is political. Value to business is measured an individuals propensity for vanity and braggadocio. Only visible, approachable layer of management is your direct line manager, who spends more time with his supervisor than with his team. Political maneuvering must be planned early and political opponents discredited if one expects promotion.

    Continue reading
    Origin Energy2018-02-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews