Original Penguin Reviews | Glassdoor

Original Penguin Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Don Howard
8 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Elizabeth, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Original Penguin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Higher management, the staff at headquarters are great people always there for you.

    Cons

    At times being short handed (associates)

    Original Penguin2019-06-13
  2. "ALright Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Original Penguin part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Enjoyed management, and the workers that were

      Cons

      Set unreal goals and when accomplished some how no bonus was given

      Original Penguin2019-04-16
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Original Penguin part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Depending on who your manager is, you may or may not have a lot to do. The manager always had me fold, restock, or fill clothes. She always found something for me to do. However, the assistant manager only cared about selling. So, if there were no customers we would just talk or go on our phones. The Pay is great and the clothes are not bad.

      Cons

      Not too many people know about the brand so you may or may not get many customers. If you work in an outlet store it will be busy; however, the full price store will have a couple hours with only a couple of customers "looking around". There would be some days where I wouldn't make my sales goals. After the holidays there will be A LOT OF RETURNS!!!! (NEGATIVE SALES)

      Advice to Management

      Promote Student Discount to boost sales

      Original Penguin2018-07-30
    • "Boring Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Orange, CA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Original Penguin part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Paid higher than minimum wage

      Cons

      - only got 12 hours a week - manager showed clear favoritism to a woman who stole sales - there was no push to be better at your job

      Advice to Management

      If you are hiring people you trust, let them try to make your shop and company better.

      Original Penguin2018-08-09
    • "Nice place to work. Except for management."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Key Holder in Milpitas, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Original Penguin part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good discounts. Fun team to work with.

      Cons

      5 of my employees already quit cause they couldn't stand the manager. I'm only staying because I've already built a good relationship with other co-workers. The company itself is okay, but sadly this store location can't find a good enough store manager who knows how to talk to people properly.

      Original Penguin2018-03-26
    • "Assistant Manager Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Original Penguin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Staff and good hours. Great Discount

      Cons

      No room to grow and very quiet traffic.

      Original Penguin2017-10-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Shady Management & Shady Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Original Penguin part-time

      Pros

      Discount was decent i guess

      Cons

      Sexual harassment from managers, dishonest HR representatives & managers, no opportunity for growth, too slow of a store & too overpriced

      Advice to Management

      Shut down smaller locations so inappropriate stuff doesn't happen to employees. Stop being shady towards employees. Stop just hiring anyone off the street

      Original Penguin2017-10-05
    • "Are you looking to have a used car salesman as a boss?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Designer in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Original Penguin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      As the title suggests, this is a great place to work for a family (Feldenkreis) that couldn't care less about their employees, product quality, or corporate atmosphere. Everyone from the directors to the interns feel the dread when working here so at least you can commiserate with absolutely everyone. But do you want to work in a place like that?

      Cons

      Distrust of employees from the start (they must have been screwed over before because the level of distrust is extreme), extremely underqualified friends and family (Feldenkreis) members are put in high level positions which makes working here look like a day at the DMV, stingy benefits (I have many stories of how they have tried to get out of paying health benefits from their amazing FLORIDA based health insurance, …

      Advice to Management

      You're sinking Original Penguin and doing a disservice to Perry Ellis' name. Sell those two companies and stick to selling Cubavera shirts. Building a brand is not your forte.

      Original Penguin2017-03-27
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager in Miami, FL

      I worked at Original Penguin full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great discount! Corporate listens to your needs. Amazing partnership with upper level management.

      Cons

      Not everyone is on the same page. Communication is the worst. No one really knows what's going on.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate with each other before letting g info trickle down to the store level.

      Original Penguin2016-08-08
    • "Original Penguin"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Original Penguin

      Pros

      Great company Opportunities to grow within the company Staff is great Great discount Nice cloth

      Cons

      Poor management No sales, no hours No benefits

      Original Penguin2016-05-13
    Found 26 reviews