Orion Health "free breakfast" Reviews | Glassdoor

Orion Health Employee Reviews about "free breakfast"

Updated Apr 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Orion Health CEO Ian McCrae
Ian McCrae
209 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have some great perks, including free breakfast and there is car parking on a first in, first served basis(in 18 reviews)

  • "Get to work with some very smart people and learn a lot from them(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Time difference in communicating with the NZ office(s)(in 31 reviews)

  • "New Zealand owned/based company with poor leadership(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free breakfast"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (17)

    "Dismal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people, free breakfast, great benefits

    Cons

    Dying company, Sense of impending doom

    Advice to Management

    Probably one of the better companies I've actually worked for in terms of people, talent, and work life balance but the technology is so far behind that anyone coming from a true SaaS environment will feel it's lacking in a lot of ways. On top of that, transitions and decisions that were supposed to better the company were wishwashy at best. Even now after months of this transition there are too many I don't knows which leads to a feeling of inefficiency and lack of confidence in the management making those decisions. Be more confident in your approach and have an actual plan before making big changes.

    Show More
    Orion Health2017-08-03
  2. "Past star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Internship in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Health for less than a year

    Pros

    pleasant working environment, free breakfast

    Cons

    many talented people leave every week

    Orion Health2019-04-09
  3. "Graduate Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Orion Health full-time

    Pros

    Free Breakfast! Friendly work environment Employee parking is nice

    Cons

    Old technology No sense of direction in the company Poor scheduling of tasks by manager

    Orion Health2018-09-05
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Orion Health

    Pros

    Free Breakfast and friday drinks

    Cons

    Siloed company, needs better communication

    Orion Health2018-08-12
  5. "Good experience, reasonably laid back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health

    Pros

    Great team lead Great kitchen, free breakfast Excellent HR Learned a lot over my internship

    Cons

    Macs only for developers (of course I shouldn't expect choice as an intern, but this applies to full-time devs too and many other companies lets devs choose what they want to use. It's quite fustrating to force everyone to use Windows VMs) My team was somewhat at least a few developers short, and it showed

    Orion Health2018-03-05
  6. "Has it's challenges, but all in all a really enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I came to Orion Health because I needed to have more challenge in my day to day work. I come to work every day and learn something new - every day is different - which I love. I have a great team, who are really supportive and who want to be the best they can be. We also enjoy spending time together and regularly sit down for a team lunch - this makes me want to come to work every day. We have some great perks, including free breakfast and there is car parking on a first in, first served basis. Orion Health is the most flexible place I have ever worked (and I've been working for over 20 years). There is trust that you will do the work that you need to do - clock watching doesn't happen.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes it feels like it's difficult to get traction and invest your time into projects because it is likely that the plan is going to change sooner rather than later. Often you hear 'yes' and then find out it's a 'no' - people generally like a bit of certainty.

    Advice to Management

    a little less of the knee-jerk reactions please.

    Orion Health2018-02-21
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Auckland, Auckland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast, social club and good offices with cafe. Has 1 good product Rhapsody.

    Cons

    Free stuff doesn't make a good culture, sadly this was one of the worst places I had ever worked at. You can't be a good products company and also expect to be a great services company. The problem here is that Orion tried to do too much and should have focussed on their software products and partnering with IT /implementation partners who have more of a clue about project delivery. Poor management of employees including lack of industry training in certain teams who are supposed to be highly skilled employees. Senior Management is very poor and strategy and managing multiple projects across the globe. Expectations of role and actual role were completely different. Poor set of products including some that have not been redeveloped for several years. Lots of legacy approaches to doing projects and designing products. A lot of dodgy tactics and communication happened pre-IPO which meant an over inflated stock price and then subsequent drop in share price months later. Part of this was due to the fact that there were at least 2 major clients who pulled out of multi-million dollar contracts leading to more contracts lost which resulted in $60m+ loss.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't BS your customers and stock market. Don't over promise staff something and then go and give them a poor experience causing them to look for roles elsewhere. Get rid of middle to senior management who are more focussed on numbers than people. Don't talk about changing the culture and not implement it properly. Focus on building products and partnering with services companies that actually know how to handle project delivery.

    Show More
    Orion Health2018-02-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome development opps and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Health full-time

    Pros

    - Development opportunities and career pathways - Innovative people and products which means you have space to come up with and share your own innovative ideas - Really smart people. Some of the conversations you hear while you walk around the offices are incredible - The opportunity to work on something cutting-edge that is really revolutionizing and personalizing healthcare - Great culture. They organize heaps of really cool things to do with everyone involved, e.g. Diwali celebrations, Halloween, social club, parties, gardening club, Xmas etc. - Values-driven and leadership who live the values - Free breakfast, espresso machines, fresh fruit, car parking and an on-site cafe - Really flexible with hours/working from home etc. Leadership and the People team are understanding and encourage great work/life balance

    Show More

    Cons

    - It's hard inside a global company to get everyone on the same page all of the time - A recent tightening of purse strings and budget cuts

    Advice to Management

    Advice to everyone at OH would be to think global all of the time. Try to consider whether what you are saying and how you are saying it is going to land how you intend it cross-culturally.

    Orion Health2017-11-03
  9. "What a team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was part of an awesome team that helped me to be at my best every day. Real chances for career progression if you stay for awhile. Awesome perks - free breakfast food, daily fruit drops, and a table tennis table. A global work environment - you interact with teams from all over the world. Workplace conversations were epic - healthcare, futurism and more. Great work/life balance - work from home when you need, flexible travel.

    Show More

    Cons

    I saw many good people leave. And even though their replacements were great, its hard to stay when so many people you established great relationships with depart.

    Advice to Management

    Great values and vision - its time to uphold these while you drive to profitability. Keep hold of your best people and find that balance of making your workers in all regions happy while keeping shareholders and customers happy. This company has made a real difference to the healthcare software industry and it has the chance to continue to do this if you make the right calls in the next 12 months.

    Orion Health2017-08-15
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Turbulence ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, free breakfast, fruit, coffee. Smart people to work with. Competitive salary.

    Cons

    Since the 'right-sizing' the morale has fallen considerably and now the remaining talent has begun to trickle out as an inevitable fall out of layoffs. Given the lack of prudential senior management I would have probably done layoffs in order to meet investor expectations about company growth back to profitability but given the fact that layoffs do not guarantee an increase in profit even after 2 years and we are cash strapped and may not survive another 12-18 months if last FYs cash burn rate continues, it is quite clear why the talent are leaving. Statistically having a layoff means there's more chance there will be more as the company figures out how to make money again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We need to decide whether we are a precision medicine company (as the CEO would have us believe) or one that focuses on HIE and interoperability (our bread and butter). After IPO OH has tried to move in all directions leading to a sense of going around in circles and every Line of Business Owner competing with each other in order to be the most successful Line of Business. We have to get rid of this silo-ed approach and align ourselves behind one goal and a leader who can consistently deliver believe in and deliver this message. R & D cannot just try to fill every market gap quickly and sales selling products which are cheaper than established players because we made it in such haste. We need to pick and choose our battles and focus on those products that are superior or break even with the competition and drive this forward. A let's do everything approach is too expensive and without vision or direction.

    Show More
    Orion Health2017-07-27
Found 18 reviews