Orion Health "new zealand" Reviews | Glassdoor

Orion Health Employee Reviews about "new zealand"

Updated May 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Orion Health CEO Ian McCrae
Ian McCrae
209 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have some great perks, including free breakfast and there is car parking on a first in, first served basis(in 18 reviews)

  • "Get to work with some very smart people and learn a lot from them(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Time difference in communicating with the NZ office(s)(in 31 reviews)

  • "New Zealand owned/based company with poor leadership(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "new zealand"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Leadership, Meaningful and Challenging Job, Rich Culture and Fun Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working for a global company that has such a rich diversified culture. My trip to the corporate office in Auckland in May was fantastic, I met great teams and enjoyed the environment and culture of the New Zealand main office. We are all working on meaningful projects to tackle the global healthcare crisis. Our teams are creating and sustaining advanced technologies that are making communities healthier across the world. It is a great feeling to work on projects that make a difference in people's lives. Dave Bennett, our Scottsdale leader, is bringing great expertise to the company and has proven record of successes in the industry. You can count on him to support initiatives. We are also very well cared for with one of the best benefit package I have seen so far at no cost for me. I have a good base salary with bonus potential linked to company and personal performance. I saw internal promotion of talented people and our rapid growth generate a lot of opportunities to climb up. And to top it, the fridge is always full of good snacks and drinks, and we have the best coffee in the block.

    Show More

    Cons

    We are experiencing the usual growth pains of a successful company going through a 30% annual growth rate for the past 5 years. We are recruiting heavily to fulfill our teams' need. We could use better tools to facilitate collaboration and communication internally across all our locations around the globe.

    Advice to Management

    The new leadership team you have put in place recently is excellent. Keep giving them support and resource and make sure all the Orion Health sites across the world reflect the great culture we have on the US west coast.

    Orion Health2014-08-06
  2. Helpful (11)

    "They are not in a good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health full-time

    Pros

    Very few of the remaining people there are good. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    New Zealand owned/based company with poor leadership. Most of Product Development is based in NZ as is Product Management. They struggle to understand the US market and and this is directly related to recent performance. NZ resources seem to have a superiority complex against US resources. Thus, US resources have no trust in this leadership, nor do they have the confidence that NZ will successfully turn this place around. No faith in the CEO. No faith in the US leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None. They've had so many opportunities and have consistently dropped the ball.

    Orion Health2018-05-15
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Layoffs, Layoffs, Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very nice people to work with. Decent severance package.

    Cons

    Layoffs every few months now. Missed projections then layoffs. Told no more layoffs - then layoffs. Used to stock drinks and snacks. Now nothing. Work with offsite people but management wants everyone in the office. The office is open workplace where everyone has a section of table. Given laptop and cell phone but told need to be at office. Do more with less and less and less. Employee surveys for internal issues. Management ignores results. Multiple internal software where you have to do everything twice or more. Too much micromanagement from New Zealand. Do not understand US market.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to management as they do not listen and these issues have been happening for years.

    Orion Health2018-05-12
  4. Helpful (26)

    "Typical IT Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Orion Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Orion Health provides full health benefits. The company seems to be successful in most of the countries they are in except for the United States.

    Cons

    Orion Health tends to switch directions on expensive tools, never getting far enough to put one significantly into production. There is minimal encouragement to be a team; most people are not willing to share. It seems the corporate headquarters, in New Zealand, is interfering in management in the United States in ways that hurt, not help. The company is stuck somewhere in the deep past, requiring everyone to always work in a company office. The office desks, designed for no privacy or noise control, have low dividers, and for a place that doesn't share, it is nearly impossible to concentrate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to pretend Orion Health is just like one of the innovative companies all while demanding people work in an office like an old, stodgy company. Pick an automation tool and do what it takes to make it successful. Give the COO more authority to fix security problems.

    Orion Health2016-07-06
  5. Helpful (33)

    "Potential, Lots to do, poor direction and decisions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer III in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work on a lot of technology, both newer stuff and established standards. Most of my direct coworkers were a joy to work with while I was there. Pay is good Benefits also good. Room for advancement. Respected my personal life boundaries.

    Cons

    I was working on what was the largest project the company had for the year and right when it started a key member of the team took a 3 week vacation (Holiday), meanwhile there was massive issues discovered. Major deliverable were not even close to being solved, yet the only person who had the authority to direct the change, and redesign was away for 3 weeks. I and other members of my team, didnt even know about the project until the 1st phase was already 3 days over due when I started working on it. New Zealand arrogance. This is where all of the decisions are made and direction is set in the organization. With compliance, security, and daily manageability of systems coming second to seemingly arbitrary choices made by NZ management. Even costs are ignored, and as a result, there was recently a fairly sizable US employee layoff. (I am fairly certain some very poor design and implementation strategies were significant cost factors that lead to this) Due to some of these decisions for 3-4 months i was putting in anywhere from 55-70hour work weeks. To get a good feel of it read the comments on the article about the recent US layoffs. (since i cant post the link directly) Google search "orion health stuff nz wields knife" First link should take you where you need to go. One Comments reads as follows... "There needs to be greater cuts to US workforce to give Kiwis jobs. In general Kiwis are much more skilled than their American counterparts - year for year, and profession for profession although Kiwi firms are too easily fooled by their over-hyped CVs and fancy titles given in the US for a lower level job by NZ standards."

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect those hired to do the Job. If you hired someone for the experience and expertise, trust it. Constantly doing Re-orgs to the US Operations Group because you go through management like some people change their underwear, is not good. Most of this happens because you hire people that want to affect change in a positive way. But if they clash with NZ Management they get fired.

    Orion Health2016-04-04
  6. Helpful (20)

    "might be some future opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Orion Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On the forefront of preventative healthcare. Industry is full of exciting news.

    Cons

    Disarray, lack of direction, company went public thinking that being a New Zealand company would somehow help them on the NZ stock exchange and are now the worst performing stock. Tons of talk about flattening the organization (as announcements go out for new VPs of this and that) Currently going through a reorganization that has dragged on and on and on to the point that employees are no longer engaged or care.

    Advice to Management

    What happened to the company tenets of Open, Trusted, Courageous....all poppycock as witnessed through management. Take care of your employees and don't let your mistakes become their problem.

    Orion Health2016-03-16
  7. Helpful (26)

    "No future without a Kiwi accent. Run while you can, and run fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product Line with huge future upside potential.

    Cons

    Not the foggiest idea how to do business in the USA. NZ leadership is arrogant, disconnected, Despicable attitude towards the US employees, towards the US market in general. I left the company of my own volition, understanding that the US division are nothing more than whipping boys, to be used, abused and left out to dry with every shift in the New Zealand leadership wind (and it is more hot air than real capability).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. and if you won't, then spin off Orion US into an independent entity, be a committed services provider to it, and lose the smarky NZ arrogance (no, you most certainly DO NOT understand the US market well enough to succeed here, and NO, you MOST CERTAINLY do not have any advantage, operational, qualitative or other, over US employees).

    Orion Health2016-04-03
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Setting the record straight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Health full-time

    Pros

    You can learn all kinds of technologies starting on day 1. The most novice and inexperienced new hires get immediate access to production environments and often are charged with making production changes without fully understanding the implications of those changes. Amazing experience for those that like to live dangerously and excel in trial by fire. Come here and learn all you can before you get burned out, or laid off so the company can save face or your reporting line changes.... again. Learn from the seasoned people that are still left and have things to teach before everyone's spirits are broken completely.

    Show More

    Cons

    There has been an increase in weak attempts at positive reviews (likely from New Zealand HR staff) and I think the record needs to be set straight. There were recently 36 individuals in North America that were laid off that the CEO told reporters were "redundancies". Those that were laid off were heavily intimidated to not write a Glassdoor review, so need to get this out ASAP because you never know when your time will come and all of the offices are super tense. The departments they were laid off from were already understaffed, undertrained, and overwhelmed with the incredible burden of trying to keep the application stack running. The CEO also stated that "software that used to take four months to install, now might take four hours." The problem with that statement is the tool that was developed to automate the installation is a LONG way off from being ready, and requires a load of proprietary knowledge to set up and use (even after considerable R&D). You can read this as being a disgruntled employee (which is a convenient thing to say about any negative review) but I assure you I loved this company once. And I loved my job once as well. The culture issue the CEO references is at root a superiority complex by majority (not all, but majority) of the Kiwis (New Zealanders) and their belittlement and scapegoating of the American workers. This manifests in lack of support (try getting development support on NZ weekend when it's still operating hours in North America). The culture in New Zealand is to take a holiday in the middle of an important project, while whipping the Americans into longer and longer hours to maintain broken software and trying to hit ungodly deadlines. All but one of the executive team appear to be out of their league trying to run a global company. The heart of Orion Health is dead, primarily caused by the aforementioned Kiwi superiority complex and saying anything to close a deal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at what we've promised clients we're providing them, and make sure we're living up to the entirety of our contracts before we have to issue refunds. Consider slimming down the ever-growing product offerings so R&D and support can focus instead of being spread so thin. Stop releasing vaporware and promising the moon and then hoping the implementation consultants can stitch a solution together by arbitrary deadlines. Abandon the awful continuous deployment project and fix the core applications instead. Stop with the constant reporting line changes, and double-down on rekindling the fire that's died in the hearts of those that used to care for the company vision. Or make North America completely independent and stop interfering/micromanaging the region.

    Show More
    Orion Health2016-04-02
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Very "old school" company in mostly negative ways."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Health for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked with a couple of incredibly smart and driven individuals over the years. Health insurance coverage was exceptional.

    Cons

    Let me preface this by saying I left Orion Health of my own accord and this is to serve as a warning for potential employees, not an attack. Company is very much a "good ol boys" club. A new cycle of older-white-male VPs rotates in every 6-18 months and dissolve any progress that was previously made. Major management decisions seemingly made on a whim and rarely sourced for feedback. Often times there is no rhyme or reason to job titles and promotions outside of one of the higher ups liking you. Management submitted employee reviews are often downgraded in closed committee to avoid paying out salary increases or bonuses. The stance on remote workers flip-flops yearly, causing many to fear for their job security. This does not apply to senior staff however. Many of whom work remote daily and some of whom don't even live in cities with Orion Health offices. As many have stated the company is ran out of New Zealand and this leads to a whole host of issues. Disillusionment runs rampant amongst most North American staff. Having been overworked, overlooked, or given a new boss yet again, many folks just show up and keep their head down to collect a paycheck. Finally, as a byproduct of above the company has a tremendous turnover rate in North America. Company-wide e-mails regarding staff leaving are commonplace.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's time to grow up. Invest in your people and internal infrastructure like it's 2015. Create a strong, experienced, and diverse leadership team and structure and stick to it. The company is no longer a start-up and the off-the-cuff decision making affects the lives of over a thousand people.

    Orion Health2015-10-18
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Honest Review from current long term employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Intelligent and inspiring collegues Travel opportunities Promotion and role change options Shares of you get a CEO award Food, drinks, never ending supply of soda! Yes- even the negative reviews note- breakfast/food provided- Social hour drinks (ps: person who said Friday clearly does not work here, cos it is on Thursdays!) A friendly 'you can do it' New Zealand culture (not arrogance as one clearly upset review notes) Yes, someone mentioned putting reviews in Glassdoor- but seriously do you think people would bother if they didnt like the place!

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing pains Feeling of division between NZ and other sites Global company with many offices and things get miss-represented across the miles

    Advice to Management

    Don't worry about reviews on Glassdoor, clearly the negative ones are passionate and misguided. The honest and straightforward people will see these negative reviews for what they are! And for those negative reviewers who say they still work here- I think you should do yourself and Orion and favor and leave!

    Orion Health2015-05-30
Found 28 reviews