Orion Talent Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Orion Talent Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Orion Talent CEO Mike Starich (no image)
Mike Starich
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "For a former military service-member, there's no better work environment than working with other Veterans(in 8 reviews)

  • "Helping veterans land a rewarding career during their transition from the military has been a great experience(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No room for growth within the company(in 6 reviews)

  • "Zero room for growth unless a senior partner gets force retired for stealing from his employees(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Director in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Talent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Orion provided me with the leadership, training, flexibility, and challenge that led me through a 20 year career in the Corporate office. Corporate has a culture of its own at Orion. It is warm and welcoming, flexible and communicative. Corporate staff turnover is very low for a reason. The benefits at Orion are good, but it is not Orion's goal to win employees on the strength of their benefit plans. Compensation is good overall. If you are lucky enough to land a job with the Corporate staff at Orion, you are likely to have a long, healthy, and happy career. Orion's Corporate management staff is outstanding.

    Cons

    Orion is a staffing company, so its revenue follows the macro economy. When times are good, they are very generous. When times are lean, things are more difficult. There isn't a lot of room at Orion for career advancement. They are a pretty flat organization and coupled with low turnover, that doesn't leave a lot of room to move up within the organization. That said, they promote almost exclusively from within when an opening arises.

    Continue reading
    Orion Talent2019-10-03
  2. "Officer Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer Recruiter in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Talent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual, Help Vets, Flexible schedule

    Cons

    AC is too cold in the offices

    Orion Talent2019-10-02
  3. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Talent full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worked with great people and made very good money

    Cons

    Pressure, Pressure, Pressure! Good for money, bad for quality of life.

    Continue reading
    Orion Talent2019-06-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orion Talent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The idea of the company is good in theory.

    Cons

    Limited diversity. Good old boys mentality. Rigid practices and inflexibility for change and improvement. Not very open to new ideas or ways of thinking. Inefficient. Prone to favoritism. Very conservative.

    Orion Talent2019-06-26
  5. "Overall good company, great pay opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orion Talent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company IF you're outgoing, like to talk a LOT, and work in an office all day. Potential to make close to 100K a year if you're VERY motivated. Benefits such as 401k and paid vacation. No formal education or certifications required. Good lower-level managers, no micromanagement.

    Cons

    No growth/advancement opportunities. Training program is lacking. It's NOT about helping fellow veterans good jobs like management and recruiters tell the public, it's really about keeping their clients happy and raking in more and more FEES from them. Also, you better do a good job within 5 months or so, or you risk getting let go.

    Continue reading
    Orion Talent2019-02-06
  6. Helpful (3)

    "This Is Not Recruiting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at Orion Talent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - It's possible to do well financially. - Having other Veterans as coworkers

    Cons

    - This is not recruiting. It is a call center. You're making cold calls all day and leaving messages. That's PART of recruiting, but at Orion as an Account Executive it is ALL of recruiting. - Managers only care about their monthly numbers, and will do some shady things to inflate those numbers at the end of the month.

    Continue reading
    Orion Talent2019-02-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Go elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Talent

    Pros

    They got me an interview with a large company in two days.

    Cons

    They never told me the exact outcome of the interview, just told me we were waiting on them to decide “which team I would be on”. Got put with another recruiter while mine was out of town. He had me apply to a job and told me to prepare for an interview with them the next week. As of now 1/20/19 the last contact I had was 12/3/18 where I was told to prepare for an interview and that I was waiting to hear on the other one. I have not gotten any calls and my texts and emails get ignored. This company is highly unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    Orion Talent2019-01-22
  8. "Candidate Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Talent full-time

    Pros

    Great productive work environment, with senior Recruiters willing to ensure everyone gets trained efficiently.

    Cons

    I honestly don't know of any cons. In regards to the company as a whole. The 'formal' training I received wasn't very effective.

    Continue reading
    Orion Talent2018-10-30
  9. Helpful (8)

    "People like this were the reason the military can be terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orion Talent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Potential to make a lot of money is there. One of the few sales jobs where you can wear jeans and t-shirts 80% of the time. Great if you're a recently transitioned veteran, because most of the employees are vets also, so it'll feel like home. It is genuinely a great feeling when you help a vet find a job.

    Cons

    These were some of the most egotistical, arrogant, brash, rude and, in some cases, downright stupid people I've ever met. Most of the managers I encountered couldn't even be bothered to introduce themselves before ripping into you about any perceived deficiencies, be it why you were wearing a particular shirt or why you put something on your resume. Reality check - you're not officers anymore, and despite what good ole USMA taught you, putting people down doesn't make you seem more authoritative; it just makes you a intolerable. So lay off the trash talking right off the bat. Speaking of trash talking, these people have no true loyalty to each other. They'll back-stab each other over any little perceived insult, no matter how minor, or to feed their own egos. There's also a ton of greed running through this place, most of it originating with the RSMs - they're perfectly content to funnel some vet into a job they probably won't enjoy, may not even be good at, at a company that will treat them like garbage, just so they can get a paycheck. It's an embarrassment, and a betrayal to the brotherhood of military service.

    Continue reading
    Orion Talent2018-09-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Veteran Friendly Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Talent full-time

    Pros

    You have the potential to earn quite a bit of money

    Cons

    Ideas and suggestions generally are not listened to

    Orion Talent2018-05-10
Found 79 reviews