Orion Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor

Orion Worldwide Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Orion Worldwide CEO Brian McMahon
Brian McMahon
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Launched my career here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great team and work environment. Truly felt like an extended family. I still have very close friends I made while working at Orion. The work and entire concept is very interesting. The pay was good and the ability to advance based on your effort and performance was always there. Under-performers didn’t stick around long, leaving a really strong group of high-achieving performers. Even as a young employee I was... treated like an adult and given the ability to solve problems and own my client relationships. I loved my boss and senior leadership for the vast majority of my time at Orion.

    Show More

    Cons

    Different divisions in the company could sometimes feel siloed and protective. Change in leadership structure as we grew wasn’t for me so I decided to leave.

    Orion Worldwide2018-03-28

    Orion Worldwide Response

    August 29, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for recognizing the many great aspects of Orion. Leadership very much instills a pay for performance culture and promotes internal growth both vertically and laterally. We appreciate your candor in what didn't quite work for you during your time here. Best of luck in your next adventure.

    Show Less
  2. "Work hard, be nice.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    amazing leadership support, flexible work life balance, continued D&I initiatives, female empowerment, dynamic client offerings, client centric solutions, fun office culture, access to professional growth tools (trainings, conferences, BRG’s)

    Cons

    multiple restructures, retention, salary (vs industry standard)

    Orion Worldwide2018-03-21
  3. "Highly Recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Strategy Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company culture at Orion is the best I have been involved with since my advertising career began, which spans across other media agencies and advertising sales companies. Besides the people, the ability to be involved and take on as much responsibility as you would like is what separates Orion from the others. You are able to have the professional growth, while still maintaining a healthy work/life balance,... which is what most professionals struggle with in the advertising world. If you are looking to start your career, or are a veteran looking to be rejuvenated, Orion is for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    While being able to take on more responsibility is great, there are times in which certain departments are understaffed. Once Orion is able to keep tabs on the size of departments and monitor when additional help needs to be added, there won't be much that hold Orion back.

    Orion Worldwide2018-03-21
  4. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Market Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company - very close and also very small while being within the IPG Family

    Cons

    Small agency problems can feel more intense then they actually are.

    Orion Worldwide2015-10-19
  5. "A Truly "Great Place to Work"!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool, kind and hard working. A genuine nice group of people to work for. They are generous and reward and recognize their staff more than other agenices I have worked for. They are growing very quickly which is positive. Recently several staff in my group have been promoted which was really motivating.

    Cons

    The systems can be very manual.

    Advice to Management

    As the business grows, preserve the culture as its unique and important to the staff. Greater focus on automation and systems as the business scales.

    Orion Worldwide2015-03-31
  6. "Kind people, work/life balance and stable profitable company - good if you love media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CEO is so warm, kind and inspiring! ORION has a great reputation with our clients. Work/life balance is great. Kind staff, stable company, interesting business model, great time off policy, strong HR presence and collegiate feel. ORION gives back to the community and always does things to bring the staff together. ORION is part of IPG Mediabrands so there are a lot of shared perks, giveaways, raffles etc.... Great... if you love media, but don't like the long hours of a media agency.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not as sexy as a digital or media agency, more formal as it's the investment side of media (barter & trading) but the people & culture make up for it. The office is a bit dated but I have worked at agencies that overspent on making their offices cool, so they had to lay off staff and bonuses were cut. Stable works for me even if there are no ping pong tables here.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps some mentoring programs? Office culture - some more fun things around the office? Gets a little quiet here.

    Orion Worldwide2014-11-24
  7. "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Leadership, great culture, won best place to work

    Cons

    not much to say, I had a good experience

    Orion Worldwide2014-05-21
  8. "Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and work life balance

    Cons

    low pay and hard to move

    Orion Worldwide2019-09-12
  9. "Great work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Negotiator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment. Knowledgeable and friendly people. Great first job.

    Cons

    Low starting salary even by industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Pay higher to retain talent.

    Orion Worldwide2019-09-10
  10. "Great Culture and Collaboration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Negotiator in New York, NY

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All departments are willing to collaborate together on projects

    Cons

    Communication could be better regarding new policies and company changes

    Orion Worldwide2019-06-06
Found 43 reviews