Orion Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor

Orion Worldwide Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Orion Worldwide CEO Brian McMahon
Brian McMahon
27 Ratings
  1. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Extremely nice people at the company

    Cons

    Not great room for increasing salaries

    Orion Worldwide2019-10-15
  2. "Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and work life balance

    Cons

    low pay and hard to move

    Orion Worldwide2019-09-12
  3. "Great work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Negotiator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment. Knowledgeable and friendly people. Great first job.

    Cons

    Low starting salary even by industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Pay higher to retain talent.

    Orion Worldwide2019-09-10
  4. "Great Culture and Collaboration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Negotiator in New York, NY

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All departments are willing to collaborate together on projects

    Cons

    Communication could be better regarding new policies and company changes

    Orion Worldwide2019-06-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Management needs some work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Negotiator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people at the assistant and buyer level, many people hang out together after work. Free breakfast every day and there are opportunities to go on rep lunches and happy hours

    Cons

    Management is not trained, some people on the manager and VP levels are very petty and let their personal feelings about you affect your upward mobility. People here tend to get promoted based purely on how long they've been at the company, not merit or managerial skills. So you end up with a lot of incompetent managers that breathe down your neck. Also, don't be fooled by the unlimited DTO policy. If you have the... right manager, you could potentially take enough vacation for it to be worth it but of the two managers I've worked under, I was not able to take more than 9 days last year, including sick days, and vacation. There are also numerous issues with managers not trusting their employees and/or questioning everything they do. I could give hundreds of examples of times I was made feel incompetent or like I was bad at my job. Above all, the biggest con is salary. The turnover rate for assistants is absurdly high because they barely get paid above NYC minimum wage and are treated horribly. I've had several managers expect me to the work of a buyer without additional compensation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers better, delineate assistant/buyer responsibilities more clearly, and PAY YOUR EMPLOYEES A LIVING WAGE.

    Orion Worldwide2019-04-18
  6. "Underpaid but company culture might almost be worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    The benefits Company culture Open office CEO is amazing

    Cons

    The pay Can’t always trust upper management

    Orion Worldwide2019-01-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Negotiator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, great people, perks with the job

    Cons

    Salary is low, a lot of unmotivated people

    Orion Worldwide2019-01-30
  8. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Super nice teams and a great culture!

    Cons

    Salary for entry level roles is quite low- this seems to be industry standard though

    Orion Worldwide2018-12-27
  9. "Still Conflicting Opinions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Buyer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orion Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In many respects, I truly enjoyed my time at Orion. As a young professional, I quickly felt at home amongst the community at Orion. The office atmosphere was young and fun yet still professional and hard working. I made great friends within the company, and felt that the environment was inclusive and welcomed diversity. I also learned a LOT during my time here and often felt (positively) challenged by my workload.

    Cons

    In other respected, I felt a bit tricked by the "Work Hard, Play Nice" motto. During my time at Orion, I often felt overworked for little recognition. There was often a lot of competition yet very little reward. I also felt as though the company lacked transparency. Over time, I began to feel confused because I was surrounded by people I genuinely really liked and appreciated, yet when push came to shove, I didn't... feel like I could trust them to help me succeed. In Orion's defense, this (in my opinion) is common among many agencies in the industry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think Orion is a place filled with hard-working, talented people. I learned a great deal while there, I just simply didn't feel like I was compensated enough for the work and time I ultimately put in to the company, nor did I feel like I could genuinely trust those around me. I think Orion could really succeed if they found a way to remind their many strong employees of their value to the agency. The company does... offer perks (ie: free breakfast, unlimited PTO, flexible WFH days, etc) but these are more or less industry standard these days. If Orion became a more transparent company AND found creative, genuine ways to compensate their employees for their time, knowledge and effort, they would create an environment filled with trust, and would retain great talent.

    Show More
    Orion Worldwide2018-10-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lazy and unmotivated management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Orion Worldwide

    Pros

    Friendly group, opportunity to learn, 6 month maternity policy

    Cons

    Terrible senior leadership came aboard over the past few years. The culture has shifted significantly. No room for growth or continued learning.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in a consultant to actually see what your employees are doing and if they are doing anything to grow the business. The business has been heading downhill for years, employees are begging for change... old school mentality is holding this place from new possibility.

    Orion Worldwide2018-08-20
Found 43 reviews