Orman Guidance Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
Orman Guidance President and Owner Rosemary Sundin  (no image)
Rosemary Sundin
0 Rating
  1. "Annual Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orman Guidance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The business model continues to shift toward full-service, "Research & Guidance" which is a super fun and interesting way to connect to the highest levels of market research.

    Cons

    The company needs more focused training. It's getting better, but could get better still.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Anonymous"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orman Guidance for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Communication between leadership and staff is still lacking.

    Continue reading
  3. "Employee satisfaction"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orman Guidance

    Pros

    Leadership is extremely focused on employee satisfaction, especially as it pertains to providing sufficient training and guidance. The company also just revamped its employee benefits to include a generous PTO and health insurance package.

    Cons

    A lot of change is taking place as Orman aims to get bigger and better. The best employees will be able to adapt.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    June 1, 2016Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to see that the new training and guidance programs are improving the workplace environment. It's been a challenge and a pleasure working side-by-side in this journey!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Major Strides"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orman Guidance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Orman Guidance undertook a incredible effort to understand areas to improve and automate. The change in the company from a year ago is really amazing. The restructured employee benefits package is among the best I've ever seen. 10 paid days off in the first 90 days? Yep. That's here.

    Cons

    It's not really a "con" -- just acknowledging the need for ongoing training on the many new systems in the company.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    October 19, 2015Chief Executive Officer

    You are correct - the transformation really is "amazing". We continue to grow as people and as a company to better serve each other, our clients, and society. Thank you for your kind words and support throughout your first year at Orman Guidance. Rico Mace, CEO Orman Guidance

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Yearly Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orman Guidance full-time

    Pros

    At Orman Guidance, you are able to co-create and collaborate with all employees to ensure the best deliverable to the clients. The best part of working here is to work with a team to develop a strategic plan to execute any project big or small.

    Cons

    You wear many hats in this company. Your title may state that you are one thing, but you will be asked to stretch yourself. Be prepared to multi-task and work longer hours. If you want to grow fast, this is the right place for you. But you must be able to manage your time, work/life, and stress levels.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    August 28, 2015Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your response and hard work over the last year! Orman Guidance has grown because of you and the "multi-hat" skills that are brought to the table. We believe in challenging and stretching people to achieve concurrent development. Employee growth and engagement are paramount as we co-create positions, responsibilities, and new opportunities. You are correct. We, and all companies, must continue to refine the work environment to include strategic planning, workplace culture, and compensation plans. From day one, I have promised to make this a priority at Orman Guidance. We will not stop supporting you in life and in work. Rico Mace, CEO

  6. Helpful (3)

    "All in"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Manager in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orman Guidance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like going to work because I'm good at what I do and I know the people I work with are also exceptionally talented individuals. The work we do is always interesting. And there is always an opportunity to show your skills and creative problem solve in a supportive, collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work is stressful. But when we know that we have followed all the best practices and have done everything we possibly can, that's where we have to let it go when we leave the office.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    August 28, 2015Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for your feedback and support! Orman Guidance strives to challenge everything that we do - this means good stress and bad stress, interesting work and grind work, problem solving and developing solutions, and constructive criticism to bring everything together. I promise to keep challenging our team! Rico Mace, CEO

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Experience/Awful Management. I would advise to look elsewhere for employment. You deserve better than Ormann."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orman Guidance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The nature of the work could be fun if you were able to focus on the work. We had some enjoyable projects during my time.

    Cons

    Management- During my time at Ormann the employee turnover was unlike any I have ever seen. It seemed like I was working with an entirely new group each week. Rosemary's response to this will be something down the line of "We are looking for a certain type of person and not everyone fits our mold" or we have two employees on the "fast track to management or partnership"; however, to be blunt the issue is very few can put up with the Roller coaster ride that is Rosemary. Consider this how many C-level Executive spend time or have to respond to criticism on sites like glass door.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    April 2, 2015CEO & President

    ...as always, wishing this former employee all the best... Plain and simple: the success stories at Orman continue to represent co-created solutions and career paths -- with an ongoing vision for the future. We're optimistic, we're excited, and we continue to grow. Without exception, when employees do exit Orman, it is with expressed thanks and gratitude for the experience. And you know that. You experienced that. You reflected that gratitude in your resignation. And while you may joke about or poke at the battle-ax from the past, a professional does not make his success or failure at a job about a single person. Our open door policy stands. Rosemary Sundin 952-857-0122 direct 612-309-9762

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Exciting Time to Grow with the Best"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orman Guidance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is in a vibrant, fast-paced and rapid growth phase. Leadership is available, supportive, experienced, and forward thinking - most of all passionate! The company is building on a strong reputation for being progressive in the industry of market research. It's very cool to be a part of a company that's on board with the cutting edge concept of co-creation of brands with a high level of service and committed to expanding capabilities. The sky's the limit for personal and professional growth here!

    Cons

    While rapid growth is great, change is never easy for employees or leadership for that matter.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    February 9, 2015CEO & President

    From Rosemary Sundin: We'll keep the focus on "managed" growth as much as we can; this is great feedback and we really appreciate it. Thank you!

  9. Helpful (5)

    "The Truth & the Real Truth"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orman Guidance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're just out of college and need to land that first job for your resume, this is a great company to start. This is the only reason I rated this company a 2. There is a multitude of aspects of market research to learn. Yes the work load is heavy at times but new business and clients is what makes market research fun and fascinating.

    Cons

    There are several recent reviews here addressing some major issues within the company. There is a lot of crying(on both sides of the hall), belittling and screaming that comes without notice or warning. Unfortunately, this creates an atmosphere of fear and low self esteem. There is also some misguided favoritism, only because management skills in judging character are based on whether employees agree to everything. I have always found "Yes" people have a hidden agenda. One in particular destroyed the integrity of the company by filling studies with manipulated data. Playing favorites only demoralizes the rest of the team.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    March 16, 2015CEO & President

    First off - Thank you, truly, for the 7 points under "advice." You are spot-on. "Show, don't tell" is actually an initiative around here in everything we do, whether we are presenting research results or training our staff. We even have our respondents in on "show, don't tell." Which gives us a more highly-engaged participant. And better research results. The things that have to do with mentor vs. boss, that's obviously great constructive feedback. We're restructuring the entire training program along with the project management systems at Orman. We do acknowledge that things can get tense around here especially when we're in fulfillment mode. The new and improved processes will take care of that, as we'll proactively identify the challenges and focus on the learning opportunity. There's so much good stuff in "advice to management" that I hope the writer one day looks at forming her own company. I do want to make sure I address the emotional health of the company. Here's what I know for absolute certain: as the new and improved processes are implemented and settled, we have wonderful productivity and happy staff and clients. I won't dispute that emotions ran high at times as we tore down and rebuilt those process, however, that situation is more and more and more in the rear view mirror. One final note: Orman Guidance just received its 14th consecutive World-class rating from Impulse Survey, which is the industry's rating system for companies like Orman. We achieved this distinction through an applied best practice. That's our ongoing story, and those of us interested in and passionate about the practice of marketing research are still here, and still doing the work. We wish you all the best as you go forward, and we thank you again for your review. Rosemary Sundin CEO & President 952-857-0122 direct 612-309-9762 mobile

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Create your own job at Orman"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Manager and Assistant Project Manager in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orman Guidance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When I graduated from college last year, I never imagined having the freedom and opportunity to create my own job while making a great living. That opportunity exists at Orman because of the company's success and flexibility. My input is valued, my needs as an employee are met, and I have a lot of autonomy. The relationships I have with my colleagues and supervisors are open, honest, and respectful. When I talk to management about issues or concerns I have with my job, I've received nothing but support.

    Cons

    As a relatively small company with many big name clients, there's never a shortage of work to be done at Orman. From the moment I walk into the office to the point when I leave for the day, there's always another task to be completed. I am thankful that leadership recognizes the heavy workload and is looking to hire more full-time staff.

    Continue reading

    Orman Guidance Response

    February 9, 2015CEO & President

    Thanks for the feedback, and yes, we're looking for more talent to help even out the busy pace of the company. Business is coming in at a great pace and we will continue to foster the culture of feedback and opportunity. Thanks again!!

Found 22 reviews