Orrick Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Orrick Chairman  Mitchell Zuklie
Mitchell Zuklie
70 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and tight turnarounds on deadlines can be stressful, but are offered a lot of PTO(in 14 reviews)

  • "Your mileage may vary when it comes to the culture of a particular practice group or the personality of the partner(s) you work most closely with(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive in Wheeling, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orrick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment and co-workers!

    Cons

    There are none at this time...

    Orrick2020-03-22
  2. "Good for BigLaw but still BigLaw"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orrick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern offices, laid back environment (relatively, compared to other BigLaw firms), good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Experience really depends on your manager, can be negative if you don't work on the right team. Expectation to work long hours. Everything is geared toward rainmakers and superstar partners. Even if it's not always the best idea, they ultimately call the shots. Lots of brown-nosing and being fake.

    Orrick2020-04-16
  3. "-"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Agent Manager 

    I have been working at Orrick full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and remote working encouraged

    Cons

    Hours are biglaw hours oftentimes.

    Orrick2020-01-31
  4. "Great for some, not for most"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orrick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, high-profile cases; good benefits; some great staff and attorneys.

    Cons

    Long hours; no work life balance, lots of favoritism and elitism.

    Continue reading
    Orrick2020-02-18
  5. "Great exposure to modern legal issues and great work/life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orrick full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly people from the paralegals and support staff to the senior partners, many opportunities to get involved with legal matters of interest, small summer class so more attention to individual summer associates. I find that the work reflects the emerging economy of tech/innovation. This is a great place to get a preview of what legal questions will be affecting global commerce in the coming decades. Most of all, the work/life balance is fantastic. There were only a handful of times where I felt like I should work beyond 5pm, which is quite rare in the legal world. I could go on. Truly a great firm to spend a summer at.

    Cons

    Maybe they could offer more office perks like snacks, etc. given that that is the trend. Other than that, sometimes the workload was a lot—but not surprising for this line of work.

    Continue reading
    Orrick2019-11-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Just be prepared"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Wheeling, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orrick full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people Great benefits

    Cons

    Management in some departments is bad HR sugar coats everything and is not proactive for complaints

    Continue reading
    Orrick2019-09-01
  7. "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orrick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, family-oriented organization with top-notch talent.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Orrick2019-06-03
  8. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Of Counsel 

    I worked at Orrick full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice people - fun place to work

    Cons

    Can be long hours - it's still Biglaw

    Orrick2019-03-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    ""Great Place to Work" for some"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Orrick full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great location and good benefits. They have good community outreach and pro-bono programs, and great diversity and inclusion program.

    Cons

    Communication from the top management dwindled after the new CEO took over and the senior management seemed very exclusive with very little transparency. The communication used to be town hall style and very inclusive with video connection to all offices with the old CEO, but the new one only seemed to want to communicate via email.

    Orrick2019-03-10
  10. Helpful (6)

    "I liked my Job, but boss was a bully. HR disregarded my issues with bully"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wheeling, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Orrick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    most of people were nice to work with

    Cons

    harbored bully and denied problem

    Continue reading
    Orrick2019-03-27
Found 145 reviews