Orscheln Farm and Home Reviews | Glassdoor

Orscheln Farm and Home Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Barry Orscheln
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "good part time job while attending school(in 4 reviews)

  • "flexible work hours, casual environment(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Suggestions to upper management are frowned upon unless solicited(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Job Ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Smith Center, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Orscheln Farm and Home part-time

    Pros

    Friendly work environment! The atmosphere is welcoming at most stores!

    Cons

    Some coworkers complain about past employees and unknowingly insult others for silly mistakes made (A few done by myself)

    Orscheln Farm and Home2018-02-02
  2. "no order, consistency or chance to familiarize yourself with merchandise. no consistency in training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at Orscheln Farm and Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Boss very understanding of personal problems in employees lives and works very well with employees to make their job work.

    Cons

    no consistency, nearly every skew had to be looked up in an old binder with outdated prices and no index or a catalog probably 5 years old. CONSTANT GOSSIP AND FAVORITISM.

    Advice to Management

    train current employees to be consistent with new hires. Have a training manual if needed and make sure there is a set place or list of skews not available in the store to ring up customers and where in the store or outside the merchandise is to be retrieved.

    Orscheln Farm and Home2019-06-13
  3. "A stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager/Department Head in Linton, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Orscheln Farm and Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers and customers are awesome people to work with, get to go outside to load up merchandise, flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Upper management micromanages which ultimately destroys any sense of confidence in the store manager and store associates, trying to compete with Rural King and Walmart when they have zero chance, 30 minute off the clock breaks.

    Advice to Management

    Quit micromanaging and start being positive, hardworking role models for store associates

    Orscheln Farm and Home2019-05-26
  4. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orscheln Farm and Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, growth, annual reviews, new products and challenges

    Cons

    Large workload with not much payroll

    Orscheln Farm and Home2019-04-28
  5. "Expect more than what they want to pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Head in Lawrenceburg, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Orscheln Farm and Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible hours

    Cons

    They were working me as a manager but not paying me as one or giving me the title. it was unfair to me to be doing manager duties and not getting the pay for it

    Advice to Management

    Dont push employees away

    Orscheln Farm and Home2019-04-27
  6. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Orscheln Farm and Home part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Simple job stocking and helping customers so good job for younger people.

    Cons

    Pay not so great and not much room for advancement being a smaller company.

    Orscheln Farm and Home2019-04-05
  7. "Great working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Orscheln Farm and Home

      Pros

      I like helping people and being apart of a great team.

      Cons

      I did not like how other employees kept milking the clock and nothing happened to them. Or how they can make deals with the Store Manager, then post it on the internet.

      Advice to Management

      Hire better store managers that are not afraid to do work and get on their employees that keep milking the clock.

      Orscheln Farm and Home2019-03-12
    • "Not the best"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Support Manager in Iowa City, IA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Orscheln Farm and Home full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Customers are great, dont mind repetition

      Cons

      Lazy workers, dont follow, their own policys, have to make sure things other employees dont do they fall on you and you cant get own stuff, manager doesnt let you have flexible schedule but others can, huge over turn at locations

      Advice to Management

      Communicate better and hold others accountable

      Orscheln Farm and Home2019-02-26
    • "Department Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Orscheln Farm and Home part-time

      Pros

      good part time job while attending school

      Cons

      Upper level management could get more lower level employee input.

      Orscheln Farm and Home2018-11-19
    • "Didn't like"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Cashier in Madison, IN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Orscheln Farm and Home part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I don't know any pros.

        Cons

        Bad management and stressful work environment.

        Orscheln Farm and Home2018-11-16
      Found 70 reviews