Oryx Reviews | Glassdoor

Oryx Reviews

Updated October 23, 2017
45 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Michael Cosper
34 Ratings

45 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oryx full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are many pros about being part of the Oryx Nashville team. The culture/team-oriented environment is one of the best because it makes going to work so enjoyable and something I always look forward to. We all share similar goals in life, so getting to work toward those goals with your friends differentiates Oryx from other companies. Everyone is so encouraging, always willing to help however possible, and pushing you to continuously grow and reach your goals.

    Cons

    I have no cons about working here.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are two of the best, most influential leaders I've ever worked with, keep doing what you're doing!

    Oryx Response

    Oct 24, 2017 – President

    Thank you so much for your review and the kind words! Leadership and team development is what we're all about!


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Oryx Nashville"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Associate in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Associate in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oryx full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Company growth, personal growth, great work ethics, and awesome support system

    Cons

    There are no cons that stand out to me.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Oryx Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – President

    Thank you for the feedback. We love the opportunity and support system here, too!

  3. "It's kind of a scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oryx full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with are nice

    Cons

    Quite contrary to what they argue it is a pyramid scheme. They don't do a great job of explaining the job and hid the pitfalls regarding the retention rate after you sign a customer up

    Oryx Response

    Oct 24, 2017 – President

    We appreciate you taking the time to review our company. We think our team members are nice, too! To address your Cons section, a "pyramid scheme" is illegal. We have been in business since... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oryx (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very professional company, with great work ethics. Great work environment as well as growth opportunity.

    Cons

    None, very pleased with this organization.

    Oryx Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – President

    We are thrilled that you are so pleased with our company! Keep up the great work! 👍


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oryx full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The biggest of all i would say is the laid back environment and the relationships you build with everyone there.

    Cons

    there are none if you want what they are offering then you have the ability to earn it. set standards to reach your goals.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you guys do i appreciate everything you guys taught me!

    Oryx Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – President

    Thank you for the kind words! I am glad you enjoyed the environment and your coworkers at Oryx!


  6. "Long hours, little growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Oryx full-time

    Pros

    Not sure i would have anything great to say

    Cons

    Long hours, lot of driving. When hired I was told I would be doing one thing and then upon starting the job was significantly different.

    Oryx Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – President

    I am sorry to read about your bad experience! I agree that in a sales environment, it is very difficult to fully paint the picture of what the day to day looks like. That is why we show candidates... More


  7. "Hit or Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oryx full-time

    Pros

    People are fantastic, great relationships
    Sales Training (if you have a good trainer)
    Opportunity.....

    Cons

    Long hours for no result a lot of times
    Very unprofessional environment
    Pay Structure is ridiculous compared to their explanation
    Have to be a rockstar to make good money
    Sugar coating Interview, sells you a dream
    "System works 100% of the time" except for when you account for Law of Averages
    Ethically Challenged

    Advice to Management

    Be more straightforward with new hires. Keep up the positive energy though!

    Oryx Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – President

    Thank you for your review! Good or bad, there are always opportunities for us to improve. If you truly work for our company as it says, I would love to discuss your issues in person so we can learn... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oryx full-time

    Pros

    Just an overall terrible experience for me. Accepted this position and relocated here to find out that I would be fired or demoted for a lack of sales. I determined that it was not the place for me and luckily landed a real job that actually has a salary, awesome benefits, and I can actually have a work life balance.

    Cons

    It took me a while to write this review, because working here was honestly the worst experience of my life. I only worked here for a very short amount of time, but I felt like it was necessary to leave a review to warn others of what this company is all about.

    This is claimed to be a training position, but it is strictly sales. Yes, they have employees teaching and training others, but it is solely sales focused, which was never mentioned at any interview. I felt like they tried to cover up the sales part so much, which wasn't fair to me, because although I have worked in sales/retail in the past. It wasn't something I wanted to pursue further, which is something I brought up in the interview. I wanted to increase my management skills and work towards a career in management.

    If you accept this position you will also be driving a lot. You are usually in a Walmart an hour away, which means you won't get home till after 9 most nights. I accepted this position, because it was only 15 mins away from where I'd be living. I wouldn't be upset about this if it was mentioned upon hire or during interviews, but again I think it's something they want to hide. You will also not be reimbursed for gas, which to me is just wrong considering how much driving there is.

    Ultimately this was not the right position for me. I luckily found a manage my position elsewhere, but be warned of this company. It is a whole lot of lies and is quite honestly not worth the time and pay. Just a warning for all future applicants.

    Advice to Management

    I would change the way you advertise your employment ads. They are very misleading.

    Oryx Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – President

    I am shocked reading this review! Please, email me so we can discuss further. There is absolutely nothing to gain from us trying to sugar coat or hide things because all that happens is the company... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Working at Oryx Nashville"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oryx full-time

    Pros

    -Full training
    -Friendly team
    -Powerhouse Boss team
    -Open door policy
    -Communicative
    -Invested in my development
    -Networking with international opportunity
    -Personal and professional development
    -Fun upbeat workplace

    Cons

    Not receiving discounts with campaign we were working on, but we were always in the loop for any price drops and promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks everyone at Oryx Nashville for investing in everyone around you.

    Oryx Response

    Aug 25, 2017 – President

    Thank you for the review and sharing your experience working with us. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oryx full-time

    Pros

    One could network here, I believe anyone can take experience out of a bad situation

    Cons

    SCAM! This is sales, non-salary, benefits, sale. If that's for you, that's great, but this company doesn't sell it that way. Pyramid scheme.

    Advice to Management

    Do not false advertise! This is a sales position and not a marketing, PR, etc. role. Be honest, yes fewer people will be interested but fewer people will leave unhappy.

    Oryx Response

    Oct 24, 2017 – President

    Hello! I think you may have either written a review of the wrong company or never actually completed the interview process. Let me explain why...

    1) We absolutely do sales. We use that language... More


Showing 45 of 48 reviews
Reset Filters