Oscar Health "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Oscar Health Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Oct 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
Pros
  • "They are committed to our members while creating a positive work environment for their employees(in 22 reviews)

  • "Top quality employee health insurance (obviously)(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "No significant cons about Oscar Health(in 37 reviews)

  • "Growing pains are always going to be apart of a fast-growing company like this(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Oscar is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Start up culture Great benefits Innovative

    Cons

    Company is well in to its adolescence and there are some mild growing pains

    Oscar Health2019-10-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Culture at a Fast-Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fast-paced, good work environment, benefits, catered meals occasionally, and making a difference in the world.

    Cons

    Growing pains are always going to be apart of a fast-growing company like this.

    Oscar Health2019-06-11
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Mission Driven Company Looking to Make a Difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Oscar is a mission driven organization committed to disrupting healthcare. The company has strong leadership and talent at all levels focused on pushing the company to constantly be better for the members we serve. The work is fast-paced and challenging, but rooted in a desire to create an exceptional experience for our members. If you are looking to join an organization where you can expand your skills, be supported in your development and come to work knowing each day you will make a difference then Oscar is the place for you.

    Cons

    The company is growing and maturing rapidly and therefore is prone to change and growing pains. If you are an individual adverse to change, this might not be the right fit for you. But, if you like a challenge and are willing to stretch yourself you will find the work at Oscar very rewarding.

    Oscar Health2019-02-08
  4. "A Compelling Mission..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge Operations Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Oscar's aspirations to simplify the complex healthcare industry and empower members to understand and then drive the care they receive is incredible. Everyone that works for the organization fundamentally believes in our cause, and our commitment to enriching lives is palpable. If you are driven to leave the world better than you found it and help others when they need it most, this is the company for you!

    Cons

    As a startup in a highly regulated industry, there are some growing pains. Fortunately, we are surrounded by brilliant, engaged, and compassionate team members that effectively problem solve so that challenges are mitigated quickly.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2019-03-15
  5. "Fast growing company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time

    Pros

    Mission driven company where people are passionate about what we're building and doing. Great culture with a bunch of events that goes on all the time whether that be our monthly Oscar Exclusive Events or employee resource groups Free lunch offered 3x a week and endless cold brew on tap + snacks Great work/life balance and surrounded by down to earth, smart people Weekly all hands for updates across the company Formalized performance review which is great!

    Cons

    With any rapid growth company, there are growing pains like having formalized processes

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2019-01-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar Health full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, nice people.

    Cons

    Growing pains- having to deal with angry customers over many mistakes. Not a ton of communication between the different departments.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2018-12-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Changing Healthcare...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Guide in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere! Corporation with the feel of a small mom and pops business Treats employees like Gold Upper management values and keeps in touch with file and rank employees Bagel Thursday! You can actually feel and see the Core Values at work and being used here at Oscar.

    Cons

    With every new start up company you have growing pains. Its natural and healthy. And with Oscar it's expanding its market presence and member faster than expected. Oscar has quickly recognized this and is doing what it needs to do bring on the right number of employees.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2018-04-29

    Oscar Health Response

    June 5, 2018HR Admin Coordinator

    Thank you so much for your response! We’re excited to continue growing and building with you. Welcome to the Oscar family :)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Intense but worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar Health full-time

    Pros

    Breakneck pace but I learned a lot. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Typical startup growing pains.

    Oscar Health2018-04-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "3 years in and going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unique mix of a mission driven team that maintains the gritty mindset of a startup while continuously pushing for better solutions and products. Working at Oscar has pushed me harder and been more fulfilling over the past few years than the prior 10+ years of my career combined.

    Cons

    External market instability. Aggressive deadlines and growth strategy. Complex problems that don't always have clear or logical answers. Growing pains that come with any fast growing and changing organization.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2018-03-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoying the Complex Mission and the Long Game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Being part of a mission that is shaping an industry and having a tangible, positive impact on people's lives - Great startup perks & benefits - Smart, transparent, highly seasoned leadership team (I mean Joel Klein is shaping our policy efforts and big leaders from top disruptive companies)! -

    Cons

    Still growing pains with internal communication and breaking down silos between functions. Sometimes hard to map resources to ever changing priorities which can make it more difficult to execute at times.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2017-07-10
Found 26 reviews