Oscar Health "oscar" Reviews | Glassdoor

Oscar Health Employee Reviews about "oscar"

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
Pros
  • "They are committed to our members while creating a positive work environment for their employees(in 22 reviews)

  • "Top quality employee health insurance (obviously)(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "No significant cons about Oscar Health(in 37 reviews)

  • "Growing pains are always going to be apart of a fast-growing company like this(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "oscar"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar Health for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great work environment

    Cons

    No significant cons about Oscar Health

    Oscar Health2019-08-29
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Glass Half Empty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meaningful mission and a truly great CEO. Employees on average are incredibly smart and talented.

    Cons

    After the honeymoon period is over, people realize Oscar is 90% a normal health insurance company with 10% innovation. The more tenured employees have either quit or are burnt out. Management has a few especially toxic individuals. Finger pointing and throwing people under the bus is both common and encouraged.

    Oscar Health2019-04-26

    Oscar Health Response

    April 30, 2019Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. Oscar prides itself on being a mission-driven company that is powered by smart, and talented employees who are passionate about improving health care. Our CEO Mario Schlosser is an exceptional leader who continues to lead our growth into new markets and product lines so we can bring Oscar to more people. It is true that Oscar employees work hard and they are constantly challenged by the evolving health care system. As a result, our People and Employee Experience teams spend a lot of time and effort ensuring our employees feel supported by the right resources to succeed in their roles. However, we have a strict anti-bullying policy at all levels and will make sure our People Strategy partners hear this feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (38)

    "Nice place to work if you grew up rich"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Decent pay. Nice new office. If you come from an already privileged background and could afford to attend an Ivy League school, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Oscar is largely led and staffed (at least at the HQ) by people from highly privileged backgrounds. Not that surprising for a company run by one of the Kushner brothers, I guess. If you come from a humble background, or are female or non-white, avoid. You won't be taken seriously and your experience will not be valued or heard.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2019-05-22

    Oscar Health Response

    May 28, 2019Recruiter

    We appreciate your feedback and have shared your concerns with our leadership team. We pride ourselves on our diverse culture -- supported by our robust employee resource group (ERG) programs --- and have been instituting more stringent rules on our recruiting practices to ensure we're building an employee base with different backgrounds. We recognize that diversity at Oscar isn't just about building a great internal culture -- it's also about building a product that meets the diverse needs of our growing membership base. Feedback like this is one of the primary reasons we are in the process of hiring a senior leader to lead Diversity and Inclusion efforts across the company. So, thank you for sharing. In the immediate term, we would encourage you to connect with your people strategy partner to voice any specific concerns.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A love for it's people and it's purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Oscar's mission is truly unique and those working with our members every day truly breathe passion and bring life to Oscar's goal of changing the face of healthcare. * Growing quickly and this allows for great development opportunity in all Oscar offices. * Oscar has invested in its people, they even have a team dedicated solely to the employees experience.

    Cons

    * Oscar is growing quickly and that can translate to shifting initiatives at times from quarter to quarter. If this is your first start up, it may be an adjustment.

    Oscar Health2019-03-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Innovatively inclined to improve healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pop Health Outbound Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An optimistic and evolving company, that is open minded and thrives with positivity. Oscar is receptive and broad-minded, an excellent company to work for if you are open to change and continuously voice your ideas. If you are devoted to making a meaningful change and love to help others, Oscar will not disappoint.

    Cons

    Oscar would not qualify as a good fit for person that is not receptive to feedback, continuous improvement and open-minded.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2019-03-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "You have to have grit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been working at Oscar for almost two years and let me tell you they sold me into the Oscar culture the first day I walked into the training class. Every person I came across was intelligent, qualified, motivated and friendly - these were my people! As well, everyone is on the same page and working towards the same goal regardless of department - creating an exceptional product and delivering it in a seamless and note-worthy member experience. The pay is excellent for an entry level position, the benefits are better than any other company I’ve worked for and there is opportunity to grow. I started here with zero health care experience and was able to work my way up from a CSR to people management within that time. If you’re an individual that works hard, takes feedback well and isn’t deterred by set backs you’ll go far.

    Cons

    Things are not perfect, just like any other company, and Oscar has some issues with communication across departments and in particular across offices. New workflows, practices and issues may be apparent and known by one team but isn’t known to others. This can result in “fire” situations that could’ve otherwise been avoided.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2019-03-22
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Mission Driven Company Looking to Make a Difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Oscar is a mission driven organization committed to disrupting healthcare. The company has strong leadership and talent at all levels focused on pushing the company to constantly be better for the members we serve. The work is fast-paced and challenging, but rooted in a desire to create an exceptional experience for our members. If you are looking to join an organization where you can expand your skills, be supported in your development and come to work knowing each day you will make a difference then Oscar is the place for you.

    Cons

    The company is growing and maturing rapidly and therefore is prone to change and growing pains. If you are an individual adverse to change, this might not be the right fit for you. But, if you like a challenge and are willing to stretch yourself you will find the work at Oscar very rewarding.

    Oscar Health2019-02-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great team, wonderful culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Super smart engineers and leadership that encourages innovation and improvement - Very welcoming culture - Good work/life balance - Fully stocked snacks and coffee!

    Cons

    Oscar as a company has outgrown its own insurance, so as an employee you can't insure your own family with Oscar - only yourself. They provide other subsidized options for family plans, but it's a bummer to not be able to cover your family with the product you work on.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2019-02-18
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Take the leap! If there were a Most Wonderful Company list, this company might be at the top. I worked at Oscar for four years, so I think I can bring some insight/synthesis from my experiences. *As many have commented before, the team is built of brilliant and mission-driven people. My coworkers not only inspired me but often became lifelong friends over the course of building the company. *It's a fun, free-spirited environment that values intelligence, tenacity, and ability to foster partnerships with colleagues. It's easy to become a brand ambassador. *Senior leadership represent some of the best talent across their industries, and many of them will go out of their way to mentor and get to know you. Also, I don't know anyone who doesn't think that Mario is a truly exceptional, one-in-one-hundred-million kind of person. *Very iterative, feedback-oriented environment. Leaders display and value in others a quick adaptation to the needs of the team and business that keeps the company nimble.

    Cons

    From my point of view, there aren't really any "cons." However, I would say common pain points are: *Many have at some point, felt the impact of unclear career-pathing at least in the early days. In some instances, changing roles or achieving goals can involve a large component of networking. This is a con for some. *As many have commented, there are many junior people managers, as is the case with most young companies or start-ups. It's to-be-expected, but it can create some challenges in the Oscar experience, as well, considering the enormous amount of transition many employees experience.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2018-11-14
  10. Helpful (5)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Oscar Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative and exciting work in health care.

    Cons

    There are no negatives for Oscar.

    Continue reading
    Oscar Health2018-11-01
Found 37 reviews