Oscar Reviews | Glassdoor

Oscar Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Oscar Chief Executive Officer Andy Morrell
Andy Morrell
4 Ratings
  1. "Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Practice in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent input vs reward environment

    Cons

    still a smaller company, but that is not necessarily a bad thing

    Oscar2020-01-06
  2. "Great Culture & Exciting Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Partner in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Oscar in a number of positions (started as a Trainee / Resource Consultant), and it's been a pleasure to see the business learn, grow and become more recognized in the market for investing in its people. There is a common theme in the reviews which relates to the training and platform that Oscar provides for people to achieve their personal and professional goals - I couldn't agree more. My personal favorite Pros (US): - Fair base salaries and clear performance targets to hit promotions/rises (meritocratic) - No Threshold / Draw before earning Commission (up to 30% rate) - 100% contribution to healthcare starting with no waiting period (worth $490+ per month) - 20 days PTO + free vacation over Xmas - 12pm finishes every Friday - No KPIs The Leadership team have all been with the business for a long time, and it's easy to see that they all want to grow the business and create a success culture, but without sacrificing the wellness of employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    When I first started, I didn't feel that t the Vision was as clear as it is now, but I think some of that was down to communication between the UK HQ to the US offices. I still believe there is room for improvement on that front and with project collaboration opportunities. However, there has been lots of investment in new tools over the last few months and on the horizon. For career progression, the main path is to grow a team, which is excellent if that aligns with the individuals' personal development. Still, it would good if there were IC / SME, Account Management, or Delivery options offered and built out too. Other than that, the only other Cons are general as with most 360 Recruitment Agency positions. You have to work hard, continuously learn, and be self-motivated, and you will be rewarded accordingly.

    Show More
    Oscar2019-12-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Oscar is like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oscar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Family feel environment where everyone looks out for everyone -Great training programs for trainees -Flexibility when needed -Continued Manager Support

    Cons

    -More communication needed between US and UK offices

    Oscar2019-12-10
  4. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment to be in

    Cons

    Need some good planning of the schedule

    Advice to Management

    None

    Oscar2018-06-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Soccer coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oscar part-time

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn and get better.

    Cons

    No real cons, other than the parents might get irate.

    Oscar2018-05-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A company growing in all the right directions!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oscar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started working for Oscar right after I graduated from college. Although I only worked for the company for 6 months I learned more from them in that short amount of time then 4 years in college. I loved the men and women I worked with they made me feel accepted and cared about you as an individual and wanted to see you succeed. Oscar as of right now has an office in Houston, TX but they have plans to grow to other cities in Texas and the US in the next few years. I did really like the office size because you really get to know your fellow coworkers and are able to hear how they interact with candidates and clients.It was very helpful when you are a trainee because you can learn from the people around you and better yourself.

    Show More

    Cons

    We were going through some upper management changes but I believe in the long run they are for the better. One thing I did find most annoying about third party recruitment is how long it took to get feedback from clients.

    Oscar2017-06-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Overpromise under deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Oscar full-time

    Pros

    Classic start up. Free food. Underpay.

    Cons

    Over promise. Under deliver. Pretty much in every way. People Covering their backs constantly

    Oscar2016-11-18
  8. Helpful (9)

    "3 years, 2 locations, 1 company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Oscar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined Oscar Associates in 2011, shortly after graduating from University. Within 9 months, I had successfully completed the development programme (with great support & management) and was expatriated to Houston to help Oscar get off the ground in America. I cannot speak highly enough of the career progression and opportunities that Oscar Associates' offer motivated & driven individuals. This is testament to their structured training from the offset and the ability of their senior staff to implement it effectively. I have worked in both OAs Manchester and Houston offices - both have been equally enjoyable for different reasons. The Manchester office is very established but was also very welcoming when I first joined. There are a number of different personalities but the overriding feeling is that of a productive and successful environment. The Houston office, having only been established in 2012, has more of a start up feel. We are going where no-one previously with this company has gone before. It's a small group of individuals, a good blend of British & American employees and although facing our fair share of problems, we have continued to overcome them and the future looks very bright. What Oscar Associates essentially offer is a career, not just a job. I would highly recommended this company to anyone coming out of University who are keen to challenge themselves, work internationally, develop strong relationships and be financially rewarded. Recruitment is certainly a challenge.In my mind, it makes sense to join a company that can allow you to flourish, who can help support you and also guide you. For me, that company has been Oscar Associates.

    Show More

    Cons

    The challenges I have faced working for Oscar Associates have been products of their own success. After spending 7 years with one UK office, the last 2 years has seen Oscar branching out and setting up offices in Houston and Singapore. This has come with a number of issues - having to understand new markets, hiring new people that have not quite aligned with the business model, management changes, logistical issues of finding housing, office buildings etc... These however are all problems that we expected to face and we have managed, despite maybe taking a little longer than expected. This has undoubtedly made the business stronger and, as mentioned earlier, the international opportunities which have opened up for existing staff are invaluable. There are further plans to open up additional international offices (Brazil & Canada spring to mind) and hopefully we can learn from, and take heart from, the experience of establishing the first two international offices.

    Show More
    Oscar2014-05-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Recruitment consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Oscar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In the heart of the city centre - close to the pubs, bars and restaurants. A largely young demographic working there.

    Cons

    Management actively encourages you to decieve clients to secure business in the short term but in the long run this means that you never establish a client portfolio - no one will trust you after working with you once. Someone quits or gets fired every couple of weeks so there is an extremely high turn over of staff. There less than 10% of the consultants were women and there were no women in management.

    Oscar2014-03-01
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oscar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After working in both the Manchester and London offices, I could not recommend Oscar more! Everyone that works there is so supportive and the, management really understand each employees needs. The base salary and extra benefits are some of the best you will find and they run some really exciting incentives such as winter and summer holidays. Their culture and values really are second to none and everyone really supports and celebrates each success. The training and progression they provide consultants is fantastic and they are happy for people to go in their own direction. If I hadn't moved abroad, I would definitley still be working with Oscar!

    Show More

    Cons

    Recruitment is hard and some people just aren't cut out for it. There are no downsides of working at Oscar.

    Oscar2020-01-08
Found 46 reviews