Oshkosh Defense Reviews | Glassdoor

Oshkosh Defense Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Oshkosh Defense CEO Wilson Jones (no image)
Wilson Jones
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I wish I started at Oshkosh sooner than I did(in 8 reviews)

  • "The methodology of "People First" does not apply to everyone(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supplier Manager in Oshkosh, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oshkosh Defense full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work place flexibility, Generous vacation, good pay and advancement opportunities. Company culture has changed dramatically for the better over the past few years.

    Cons

    Fast-paced environment can be very stressful in some situations. Large amount of compliance and red tape to deal with.

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving change in the direction you are heading. The people first movement has been an extremely positive change.

    Oshkosh Defense2019-05-29
  2. "Doing Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oshkosh, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oshkosh Defense full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The "People First" culture seems to really be taking hold.

    Cons

    Driving all over town to all of the different facilities and not being compensated for gas.

    Oshkosh Defense2019-08-20
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Supplier Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oshkosh Defense full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, hard work, and great opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of communication from leadership level. Leveraged stretch roles to company's benefit.

    Oshkosh Defense2019-09-04
  5. "Great Place to continue your Engineering Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Systems Designer in Oshkosh, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oshkosh Defense full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working here and being prior US Army gives me a lot of motivation to come into work everyday and give 110%! I love designing mechanical components that I've seen developed and manufactured and assembled to the current JLTV!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Oshkosh Defense2019-05-17
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supplier Manager in Oshkosh, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oshkosh Defense full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits, lot of resources, fantastic employee support, promote advancement

    Cons

    Fluctuation in overall work load and contracts

    Oshkosh Defense2019-05-11
  7. "Great Product, Cool Industry, Improving Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Oshkosh Defense full-time

    Pros

    Great Product, Cool Industry, Improving Culture

    Cons

    Facilities spread throughout town (lack of a centralized campus) can be a nuisance

    Oshkosh Defense2019-04-07
  8. "I feel honored to work for this Corporation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oshkosh Defense

    Pros

    The culture, the people, the product.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Oshkosh Defense2019-04-05
  9. "Oshkosh Defense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provisioning Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oshkosh Defense full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Work/Life Balance 40-45 hours a week Flex time available when needed

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities for advancement A lot of management changes

    Oshkosh Defense2019-03-29
  10. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Coordinator II in Oshkosh, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oshkosh Defense full-time

    Pros

    Great pear leadership team, People first mentality among senior leadership and driven throughout. Great mentorship program and fantastic hourly teams that contribute to daily miracles

    Cons

    Middle management can get more involved with the people first initiative.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hold so much to the chest, let your first level managers shine and give them the tools to advance.

    Oshkosh Defense2019-03-19
  11. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Co-Op in Oshkosh, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oshkosh Defense full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gave independant and important projects to work on Moving Stipend for living more than 50 miles away Established Intern summer program

    Cons

    No focus on operational systems technology

    Oshkosh Defense2019-02-28
Found 84 reviews