Our Lady of the Lake College Reviews | Glassdoor

Our Lady of the Lake College Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
41%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Student worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Data Entry in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake College for less than a year

    Pros

    Because I could choose my own hours.

    Cons

    You had to be a student.

    Our Lady of the Lake College2016-01-06
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake College

    Pros

    Great people & students.

    Cons

    I found the environment to be very pleasing.

    Our Lady of the Lake College2017-03-08
  3. "Low pay, little support, heavy workload and no raises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Coordinator and Instructor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    small college allows for better interaction with students

    Cons

    abosolutely no support staff and no room for salary increase or advancement

    Advice to Management

    pay your employees what they are worth, dont expect one person to do the job of 3 people while simultaneously underpaying them

    Our Lady of the Lake College2017-01-18
  4. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake College

    Pros

    Very flexible, smaller work environment, passionate educators.

    Cons

    An overall lack of communication.

    Our Lady of the Lake College2016-02-23
  5. "Drowned in the Lake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Microbiology Laboratory Coordinator/Instructor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake College for more than a year

    Pros

    Feelings of Community and camaraderie

    Cons

    Gossip within the community environment

    Our Lady of the Lake College2015-11-02
  6. "Don't be fooled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor, Biology in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The student population is awesome!

    Cons

    Administration hides behind the cross to pretend that the money making machine if truly trying to help people. Wrong they are about the almighty dollar only!!! They are not for profit but their $$ goes into a for profit FMOL! Where millions are paid out to VPs and Chiefs

    Advice to Management

    Pay yourself less so you can do more for the population that is trusting you!

    Our Lady of the Lake College2015-08-11
  7. "Okay, decent place to work but not particularly special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to hold different positions, some advancement op. Can transfer to other entities within the health system Decent benefits The system offers perks like free movie tickets in the summer, recognizes exemplary employees through the Franciscan Service Award, nice to have recognition Good work life balance

    Cons

    Morale is low, turnover is high due to low salaries, total revolving door Disorganized, the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing Annual evaluations are frustrating, employees are pretty much told that they can never reach the highest rating, with accompanying increase, no matter how hard they work or what they accomplish. Management says only 10 per cent of employees can get highest rating, but they never tell employees what to do to get in top tier. Expensive parties and other events are hosted but pay raises are minimal, only two to three per cent if you are lucky. Pay increases and future growth are unlikely due to limited enrollment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop having expensive gatherings and business meetings. Employees notice the high cost and become resentful when offered minimal pay increases. Downsizing back down to only a small nursing school might be the best idea. I don't see much growth opportunity given the high costs of public higher education, let alone private college. Back to basics might be the best bet even though this would mean a lot of layoffs.

    Our Lady of the Lake College2015-06-12
  8. "It was good in the beginning but it turn horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worked In Adminstration in Baton Rouge, LA
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    To be completely honest there really aren't any pros besides you get discounts around the area for some stores, apts, restaurants. Etc.

    Cons

    The directors in administration and upper administration will try to tear their employees down. They lie constantly and will hold you down from improving and progressing at the college. They talk behind their own employees back but smile in there faces. The directors in administration is filled with clicks, yes even upper administration with high positions. If you're not in the click then good luck with pay increases. The students lie to get what they want. Basically, directors in administration will believe the students over their own employees any day. If you have credit hours they will admit you know matter if you have an 1.0 gpa. They don't honor their own policy and procedures for their own college!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop it with the clicks and treat all of your employees with respect. Also start following your own policy and procedures when it comes to students and stop being a puppy dog it the students. Big issues...stop trying to hold your own employees down!

    Our Lady of the Lake College2014-04-06
  9. "It's just okay here..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secretary II in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My coworkers, schedule, and the fact that I am off every holiday is a plus.

    Cons

    Favoritism is college wide, sad because of the type of organization it claims to be.

    Our Lady of the Lake College2013-08-20
  10. "Adjunct instructors not fully integrated into the college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can work fairly independently. Many students are highly motivated and pleasant to teach. Classes are small.

    Cons

    Excellence is not necessarily expected from instructors or students--there is a culture of complacency. Adjunct instructors are fairly isolated and not well supported.

    Our Lady of the Lake College2012-08-21
Found 10 reviews