Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated 19 Dec 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) CEO K. Scott Wester (no image)
K. Scott Wester
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "My work environment is not high stressful everyday(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great place to care for patients and practice my faith(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay for RNs & not much opportunity for growth(in 9 reviews)

  • "The hospital is extremely short staffed and under paid(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Low Pay, Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Medical Scribe in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)

    Pros

    Work closely with doctors, great connections, professional treatment.

    Cons

    Low pay, somewhat low expectations

    Advice to Management

    Allow for pay raises based on experience/training

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2015-05-15
  2. "Nutrition Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule, good benefits, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    no advancement oppertunities, low pay, high turnover rate

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2017-12-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The largest hospital system in Louisiana should value its employees, especially RNs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, Critical Care in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teaching hospital Magnet status Team oriented in the units Self-scheduling depending on unit Able to pay for meals from the cafeteria & snacks from the gift shop with your badge

    Cons

    Very low pay for RNs & not much opportunity for growth! Management is unorganized & political Racist undertones throughout the hospital but especially the ICUs. Very low Christmas “bonus” Understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Value your workers & your turnover won’t be so high Increase RN pay to a wage that they are able to live on

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2017-10-31
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) full-time

    Pros

    Large organization with opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Cut throat, low pay, closed network, culture misalignment

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2017-03-14
  5. "Nutritional and Dining Services Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sous Chef in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were lots of employee programs to participate in like insurances (health, dental, vision, life), discounted dining, gym membership, "healthy worker" incentives, and many more. Also, the entire kitchen closed at 7PM so there were no late nights.

    Cons

    Lack of training into the position. Detached management/administration. Lots of cliques. Coping with dying children. Very low pay for the ampunt of work and quality of performance expected. Being 'forced' to participate in company religious practices.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the office, stop having meetings to plan more meetings, and actually get among the staff in the department to look and listen to what's really going on.

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2017-02-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good employees Friendly management That's all That's all That's all That's all That's all That's all That's all

    Cons

    Low pay Raises are not good! Favoritism Low paying hospital for to say they are rebuilding and complain of not having money

    Advice to Management

    Do better with valuing employees although it does depend on the department you work in. I had a not so good experience and moved on to BETTER. Raise pay!

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2016-04-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "It's was very BUSY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)

    Pros

    It is a catholic run hospital

    Cons

    Crazy busy. Can wear you out quickly. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Give nurses raises. They the work horses.

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2014-11-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "poor working conditions for RNs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff for the most part are very friendly and easy going.

    Cons

    Completely understaffed and heavy patient ratios especially considering the acuity of the patients. Low pay, not great benefits. Lazy ancillary staff that don't want to help, everything falls on the RN to do. Empty promises of hiring more staff. High turn over, I don't know how this place is considered magnet status. Constantly out of supplies and nutrition for the patients. The meal service is a nightmare the... trays take a long time to come and patients get really agitated and some have had their blood sugar drop from waiting too long.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more RNs staff your units better, pay them better, hire better employees (ie. CNA and CSRs that are more capable with good work ethic)

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2014-06-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Low Pay; Always Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana) full-time

    Pros

    The paycheck does get deposited to account. A good learning experience for a new RN. You get a lot of responsibility fast.

    Cons

    LOW LOW pay for an RN. Not a nurse friendly hospital

    Advice to Management

    Pay people what they deserve and they will stay around longer.

    Our Lady of the Lake (Louisiana)2013-10-28
Found 9 reviews