Out-U-Go! Reviews | Glassdoor

Out-U-Go! Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
31%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Out-U-Go! CEO David Lipschultz
David Lipschultz
2 Ratings
  1. "I absolutely loved this job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Walker and Pet Sitter in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Out-U-Go! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working with dogs, cats and other house pets. Co-workers, boss and clients were amazing! I loved getting extra exercise, kisses and cuddles from pups. I also loved seeing this job from the inside. Not only did I love working for them they are the only ones I would trust with my home and pets. I liked that you're employee not a contractor like other companies.

    Cons

    Not being paid for milage.

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2020-01-09
  2. "Not the best job.... but the managers are amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Out-U-Go!

    Pros

    Work outside, dog walk discounts, love the pups

    Cons

    Barely paid, understaffed, no benefits

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2019-08-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Out-U-Go! full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seeing animals all day, discounted dog walks.

    Cons

    No benefits even for salaried employees, no room for growth, poor pay, no leadership or compassion from owner.

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2019-03-05
  4. "incredibly supportive and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Sitter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Out-U-Go! part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office team (Chicago location) is always available to help you while you are out in the field. They check-in on your well being and are really understanding of travel issues, dealing with different dog and cat personalities, time off needed, and general inquiries. Great communication.

    Cons

    Travel time is not compensated for and it can really add up! Sometimes it felt like I am always on call, hard to make enough money to take any days off, burnout was always immanent.

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2018-07-29
  5. "Loved the work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Out-U-Go! part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the animals and their owners

    Cons

    Not paid very much for how much the clients are charged. Can be asked to drive far.

    Out-U-Go!2018-07-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "IT'S A TRAP!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Sitter in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Out-U-Go! part-time

    Pros

    This is a wonderful place if you truly love dogs and cats and don't care at all about pay. You meet some truly wonderful animals and some wonderful pet owners as well; I have made some lasting friendships with a handful of clients that I met on the job. So, if you really love hanging out with dogs and cats all day, and have your own disposable source of income, this is ideal for you. This would be the ONLY scenario in which I would suggest working here, because this is NOT a job that will pay you a decent working wage by any stretch of the imagination.

    Cons

    Where do I start... 1. The PAY vs. what they charge clients. This is an absolute joke. You are paid on average $7 for a visit that the client is charged upwards of $20 for. You are not paid per hour, but rather per visit. You drive using your own vehicle to these visits and are not reimbursed for gas or distance traveled regardless of how far out of your way you go. 2. House-sitting/ Overnight Stays- a client is charged $90 on a per-night basis for a sitter to stay at their home and care for their pet. The sitter themselves, (you know, the ones who do ALL the work during this stay) are paid a measly $35 per night. Please explain to me how this is fair for the employee who is the one actually caring for the animals when the company pockets $55 per night for, essentially, SCHEDULING the visit. Pathetic. Every client who found out about that pay structure were horrified when I told them. Thankfully the clients are usually so thunderstruck by this highway robbery that they will leave you a good tip. You know, for actually working. 3. Taking employee safety into account- there is none of that. They will send you on visits with scared or improperly trained animals that will attempt to bite you without any warning of what you are walking into. They will brush off your requests not to be sent to visit certain animals and bend the the every whim of demanding pet owners, however damaging they may be to employee doing the visit. 4. Scheduling- you won't know your schedule more than a day in advance, leaving no opportunity for scheduling second jobs or plans outside of work. They demand perfect performance in attendance, meaning that you must begin and end every visit within a time window and if you stray outside of that for any reason (even if the animal required extra care or there was a problem) not only are you not paid for this extra time, but you get REAMED for going over. All this to make a whopping $7. What a joke. 5. AND FINALLY- the "report cards." These are mandatory slips that are left at the end of each visit updating the pet owner on how the visit went and generally what happened during the sitter's time there. It makes sense from every angle until they tell you that no matter what happens on a visit, be it good or bad, you must stay upbeat and positive and say only wonderful things. This includes if the animal was aggressive, or difficult to control, or had explosive diarrhea. You keep the pet owner completely in the dark and lie and say what a fantastic time you had. Supposedly the office staff will reach out to the owners with any real concerns that a sitter might have, but the proof of that was nonexistent, as most problems that I brought up were swept under the rug or never addressed at all.

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2018-01-18
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Cute Dogs, Awful Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Out-U-Go! full-time

    Pros

    Kind and helpful staff, Got trained and situated very quickly, Get to see cute dogs all day, Company truly cares about customers and their pets

    Cons

    You get paid per visit but not for travel time...so you end up working 9am to 5pm and you only get paid for half of that. You don't find out what dogs you're going to walk until an hour before you have to leave, making it impossible to plan your day. They are always asking me to pick up weekend walks or extra walks, so I feel obligated to be free all the time.

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2017-08-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Sitter in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Out-U-Go! part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there are no pros

    Cons

    Terrible pay, sleazy managers who sit at their desk all day watching videos on YouTube and watch you on webcams set up in houses. Turn over rate is terrible! $7 a visit when they charge over $20 to the consumer. Should be considered a scam. Out-U-Go more stands for how many sisters go out the door and leave the company...

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2017-09-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay... does not get treated well by owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Out-U-Go! full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with dogs every day!

    Cons

    Find out schedule 1 hour before you have to start your day. Pay is awful! No compensation for gas or travel

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2017-09-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It's a hobby not a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Out-U-Go! full-time

    Pros

    -Animal interaction -Walking outdoors in beautiful neighborhoods -Independent work

    Cons

    -No pay for transportation -Terrible pay to begin with -They lied to make it seem like I would make well over minimum wage -Sometimes it takes longer to do the job than the time they give, and they do not pay extra for that time -You have to use your own car, and sometimes travel between visits is a 30 minute drive. I repeat... you do not get paid for this.

    Continue reading
    Out-U-Go!2017-08-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews